Author Topic: MOTU 896 mk3  (Read 3199 times)

Offline Andre Solomko

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
MOTU 896 mk3
« on: May 26, 2021, 10:47:25 AM »
Hi everybody. Anyone tried this with OS9?

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2515
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1129
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2021, 11:45:31 AM »
I guess only mk 1 and maybe mk2, but mk3... Is MODERN/YOUNG.

Search on MOTU forums

Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2515
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1129
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2021, 11:58:16 AM »
https://motu.com/products/motuaudio/896mk3/exp-drivers.html

I guess is a good ADD-ON in standalone mode, but you will need another native OS9 interface to handshake ADAT, SPDIF or even Analog Inputs.

I would use it to talk to my DIGI 001 via ADAT.

Or to talk to my M-Box via SPDIF

Or better, use 2 ADAT cables and go beyond 48kHz!
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Andre Solomko

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2021, 12:48:51 PM »
Well yes. its no different from mk2. which has drivers indeed. I thought it might work. otherwise yes I do have 001

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2515
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1129
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2021, 02:42:51 PM »
I was thinking on using as a mixer or as a analog to ADAT, but it can be used also as DSP with the onboard Reverb+ Classic Compressor in real time...

001+ 896mk3 is a good setup talking each other via ADAT

Undoubtedly use the 896 as master clock.

Also the SPDIF out from the 001 and the second ADAT from the 896+ its SPDIF can act as a cheap extra "Wordclock" or sync clock.

Lots of ways to use that setup, but I would put a Mac Pro 2.1 on the 896 with Protools 10 HD on Snow Leopard or El Capitan. Find a workflow to do Sample Rate Conversion from 44.1/48 kHz to 88.2 or 96 kHz. Only use 001 to track drums.

Also MIDI cables to use 896 as a modern Kontakt server if you prefer keep working with Protools 5 LE, but nowadays I find LE too small for my needs. I can begin a project on OS9, but never finish on it.

A 002 could be a better partner to the 896 as it can work on 96k
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2515
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1129
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2021, 02:44:21 PM »
Well yes. its no different from mk2. which has drivers indeed. I thought it might work. otherwise yes I do have 001

Try the mk2 drivers via firewire and tell us what happens.

Perhaps it works with a few less specs.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Andre Solomko

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2021, 02:11:31 AM »
Confirmed, No luck

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2515
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1129
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2021, 07:37:58 AM »
You still can do the ADAT thing in standalone once you have set it up in a modern OS
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Andre Solomko

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 76
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: MOTU 896 mk3
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2021, 10:51:20 PM »
Sure. But it was not a question.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal