Author Topic: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?  (Read 1094 times)

Offline ArchAngelGabriel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • New Member
How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« on: November 25, 2023, 09:03:49 AM »
Hey there. I have a G4 Mac running 9.2. I recently found this old archive of Macintosh OS9 sound applications. It has tons and tons of software. Every version of Pro Tools for OS9 is included.

The only thing is, it doesn't explain how to install any of them. It has all the files, the DAE and the system folder stuff. But it doesn't say where they go

When I try to open Pro Tools, it gives me a DAE error.

I have no idea what DAE is. There isn't any information on how to do this online, which is surprising.

Can someone guide me through the process of setting this up?
« Last Edit: November 25, 2023, 09:40:52 AM by ArchAngelGabriel »

Online IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4444
  • just a number
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2023, 02:23:46 PM »
that is basically the custom digidesign audio IO driver from and for protools.

it is not only that you need a compatible interface to get some audio out of PT, the program is also a bit picky when it comes to DAE versions.
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline ArchAngelGabriel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • New Member
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2023, 08:35:01 PM »
Okay, I understand that part. The thing is, where does the DAE folder actually go? Does it just sit next to Pro Tools, and you just put that in your hard drive? And then you adjust the rates of the DAE until Pro Tools likes it?

Do you know where any of the other extensions that come with it go?

It did come with a serial (this torrent is 20 years old mind you) but I haven't gotten to the part to even enter that

Offline ssp3

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2023, 09:04:56 PM »
The only thing is, it doesn't explain how to install any of them.

Just double-click the installer. It's that simple.  ;)
If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.

Online IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4444
  • just a number
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2023, 03:20:24 AM »
the DAE folder goes into /system extensions.

TDM plug-ins also go somewhere there.

at digi they are very strict with these things. you may not even sort a digidesign coffe mug into the left cupboard, it belongs into the right one or it wont work.
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline ArchAngelGabriel

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • New Member
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2023, 11:51:05 AM »
The only thing is, it doesn't explain how to install any of them.

Just double-click the installer. It's that simple.  ;)

It didn't come with an installer. Do you really think I would have made an account on this obscure forum to discuss a 20 year old DAW if it did? Read between the lines, friend

I'll try your advice IIO.

Would be nice if there was some kind of official guide on the Mac OS9 site for this, considering a big majority of who come here are Pro Tools heads

Offline ssp3

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2023, 06:37:10 PM »

Ask not what this site can do for you – ask what you can do for this site.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2023, 08:05:45 PM by ssp3 »
If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.

Offline ohtakajacky2

  • Active Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • New Member
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2023, 08:56:04 AM »
When I try to install Pro Tools 4.0 on my OS 9.2.2, a "DAE error" message appears and I cannot install it. Do I need a Digidesign audio interface? I have a Digi 003 Rack, will it work with Pro Tools 4.0?

Online IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4444
  • just a number
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2023, 09:04:50 AM »
yep, protools needs digidesign converters, such as audiomedia or 882.
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline ssp3

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: How do you install Pro Tools on OS9?
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2023, 09:24:08 AM »
Advice to all noo newcomers to OS7-OS9 Pro Tools world who just discovered somebody else's warez archives.

Before you come here with all kind of questions, do your homework!

Take a trip to Digidesign archives and read all install, compatibility, readmes and other relevant documents. Its all there:
http://archive.digidesign.com/support/docs/
http://archive.digidesign.com/compato/
http://archive.digidesign.com/support/readme/rtfpt.html

Be warned - Digidesign stuff back in the day was finicky as hell. People spent days troubleshooting and getting this stuff to work reliably. Which DAE/DSI combo works with which version? Which machines or OSes are qualified with what version?  Which SCSI cards? Which cards go in what PCI slot? Different machine - different order ... and and and
« Last Edit: December 01, 2023, 09:37:26 AM by ssp3 »
If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.