Poll

What do you think about porting new games to classic Macs?

I'd play them
I'd play them and buy them elsewhere if I like them
I'd buy them regardless in order to support the porting effort
I'd play them but I probably wouldn't buy them
I'm not interested in playing games

Author Topic: Porting new games to MacOS 9 and X? Would you be interested?  (Read 2691 times)

Offline kspes

• Newcomer
    • Cateia Games
Porting new games to MacOS 9 and X? Would you be interested?
« on: October 31, 2023, 05:24:25 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I'm a game developer with 25 years of work behind me and my ultimate long term goal is to ensure that as much of my games get to live as long as possible. In today's world, if you don't update games or port to new platforms, they get left behind and forgotten within 5-10 years...
I'm mostly successful in this, and our games are present pretty much everywhere on today's hardware, but, a long wish of mine was to also go "back in time" and see if we can port our games to older systems such as Win9x, classic macs and PowerPC's.

In fact, back in the day, some of our games did work on PowerPC OSX 10.4-10.6, so I know it's technically possible to do so. Ultimately, I'd love to see our games work on my iMac G3 :)

However, doing so means a lot of time and work on our side and I can't justify it to our other team members if there wouldn't be enough intereset from players.
So my idea was this, publish our games for MacOS X (PPC and i386) and if possible, MacOS9 - as full versions, free of charge, and simply ask people on the main menu to buy the game on any other platform they choose if the like the game (Mac App Store, Steam, Nintendo etc). No verification and no judgement if you don't, it's kinda like donationware.