Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer  (Read 49678 times)

MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2116
  • keep it simple
Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« on: March 16, 2013, 08:01:35 AM »

To authorize Cubase VST/32 5.1. I have to run "Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer". But I have audio waveforms  redraw problems.

I have to run "Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer" several times. Sometimes up to 20 or 30 times to audio waveforms  redraw in Cubase work fine.
Sometimes I can't  even achieve.
It only happens to me? or is a usually problem? what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks.
Logged
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

DieHard

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2393
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 07:11:37 PM »

I have never heard of this issue (even on the original Steinberg Forum) so please give me a little more info.
A) What exact version are you loading (5.1r1, 5.2 pb, etc.)
B) System info (G3, G4 Digital Audio, G4 Quick Silver, G4 Mirrored Drive Door)

This is the way I load Cubase....maybe it will help
1) Get a Fresh 9.2.2 Install Going (see the Mac OS 9 Lives website if you need Help)
2) Run the Cubase 5.1r1 install via the last rev from the Steinberg website (do Not load the CD Version, you will need to have the CD in during the install and it will authorize.... no dongles, USB keys, or web authorization needed)... DO NOT Open Cubase yet after install
3) Turn of Appletalk (via the chooser)
4) Turn off virtual memory
5) Load all MIDI and sound card extensions
6) Install OMS 2.3.8 (if needed for MIDI interface) or FreeeMIDI with OMS Support
7) Set Cubase Memory to 300,000 or 400,000 via "Get Info" CMD-I and Memory (You should have at least 512MB to 1 GB in your G4)... do not load more than 1 GB or the system may act less stable... IMO Mac OS 9 runs the most stable on exactly 1 GB... not more
8) Launch Cubase and pick OMS In/Out
9) Load all Virtual instruments and Effects and Organized them... Under VSTPlugins you can make as many category folders as you want (EQs, Delays, Reverbs, Drum Machines, Synths, etc.) and drag all related plugins to the category... this makes it so easy when loading / looking for instruments and effects
Logged

MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2116
  • keep it simple
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 09:48:54 AM »

Thanks for the reply

Quote
I have never heard of this issue (even on the original Steinberg Forum)

Me too. But I always thought that's because "Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer" is an "unofficial authorizer"...

Quote
so please give me a little more info.
A) What exact version are you loading (5.1r1, 5.2 pb, etc.)

It happens in all 5.xrx versions of Cubase VST and Cubase VST/32 (I haven't tried Cubase VST Score)
Quote
B) System info (G3, G4 Digital Audio, G4 Quick Silver, G4 Mirrored Drive Door)

I happens in all Macs I Have: 8600(G3@500), G4 Sawtooth(G4@500), iMac Flat Panel (G4@700),MDD(G4@1500), MDD(dual G4@1666) G4 Sawtooth (7448@2000) to name the best :)
From Mac os 8.6 to 9.2.2 International English and other localized versions.

Quote
This is the way I load Cubase....maybe it will help
1) Get a Fresh 9.2.2 Install Going (see the Mac OS 9 Lives website if you need Help)
2) Run the Cubase 5.1r1 install via the last rev from the Steinberg website (do Not load the CD Version, you will need to have the CD in during the install and it will authorize....

I don't have this CD. This is the main cause of problems as I thought...
It's near to impossible to find it now a days.
...But when I have had found one, I didn't buy it because I had read that I also need a USB dongle and a license key that wasn't transferible.

Quote
no dongles, USB keys, or web authorization needed)...

Thanks for the info.
Logged
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 10:40:39 AM »

hey guys how are you;)

i am looking for some help. have either of you got a functioning version of cubase VST/32??
im having lots of problems..

cubase 5.0 vst/32 i can install and launch it appears to work fine and then as im playing the main timeline in arranage view the sound just stops working usually sometime during the first minute or after the first few plays..sometimes lasts a few minutes before stopping but always stops working

my question is for mactron.. do u have your copy working?

Logged

MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2116
  • keep it simple
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2013, 11:39:54 AM »

hey guys how are you;)

i am looking for some help. have either of you got a functioning version of cubase VST/32??
im having lots of problems..

cubase 5.0 vst/32 i can install and launch it appears to work fine and then as im playing the main timeline in arranage view the sound just stops working usually sometime during the first minute or after the first few plays..sometimes lasts a few minutes before stopping but always stops working

my question is for mactron.. do u have your copy working?

I had the same problem. Try the 5.1 r1 version. It's avaliable on the Steinberg FTP site: ftp.steinberg.net.
Anyway mi main problems with Cubase VST 5 ended when I achieved an instalation disc.
Logged
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

DieHard

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2393
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2013, 07:42:59 PM »

I can Provide a link to download a Working Original Cubase VST 5 /32 CD rom if you wish....

you will not install off the cd... you download the image, burn a CD in toast, and have it in the CD drive when you install the 5.1 version from the web...

no need to install the 5.0 version first, the 5.1 is a full install
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2013, 02:14:52 AM »

I had the same problem. Try the 5.1 r1 version. It's avaliable on the Steinberg FTP site: ftp.steinberg.net.
Anyway mi main problems with Cubase VST 5 ended when I achieved an instalation disc.

I have downloaded that! i have two copies...

1 x cubase VST
1 x cubase VST/32

i ignored the 3rd option of Cubase Score because im not too familiar with what cubase score is...

But yes when i tried to install, it asks for a cd.... and i didnt get any further than that!
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2013, 02:19:57 AM »

I can Provide a link to download a Working Original Cubase VST 5 /32 CD rom if you wish....

you will not install off the cd... you download the image, burn a CD in toast, and have it in the CD drive when you install the 5.1 version from the web...

no need to install the 5.0 version first, the 5.1 is a full install

That would be really amazing !! i am so close to actually having a working os9 daw now;) im really thrilled to have these old applications working on my g4!! i think alot more people would like to do this but are not up to the challenges involved in finding the right versions of software
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2013, 05:34:13 AM »

i am running nuendo v1.52 right now and it works amazing but im having this strange problem of the keyboard ceasing to function as im using the app.. if i unplug + replug it works again.. but its quite annoying and im trying to track down the reason for it because it doesnt seem to happen to me unless nuendo v1.52 is running.. nevertheless this n1.52 is working whereas the vst/32 app i have, i have no keyboard problems but like i said the audio just ceases to function, it just stops.. and then the only thing to fix it is to restart and then it just does it again -- rendering the app useless for my purposes obviously ;(
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2013, 06:17:24 AM »

thanks alot die hard..
i really appreciate what youve done here.. with the board + posts + this last bit of help goes above + beyond ;)

thanks so much!
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2013, 11:34:22 AM »

if you are visiting this thread as a guest , all u need do is sign up for our forums + be approved to have access to a download of a working cubase 5.x install cd.... authorizer not needed
Logged

stormo

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2013, 02:35:32 AM »

hi - I have the install cd but my mac is reading the .toast file as a pc file, and my copy of Toast doesnt see it at all. How do I burn the image to a cd? sorry to be such a noob. Thanks!
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2013, 03:32:46 AM »

hi - I have the install cd but my mac is reading the .toast file as a pc file, and my copy of Toast doesnt see it at all. How do I burn the image to a cd? sorry to be such a noob. Thanks!

i think u can rename the file to .iso and burn it its a cd image made by toast.. u should use toast to burn it! if u r using a current imac or mac with toast 8 9 10 11 u can just drag the file to window and it should burn it.. or u can mount it first and then burn it. theres many ways to do it
« Last Edit: December 05, 2013, 03:34:32 AM by chris9Lives »
Logged

stormo

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2013, 01:12:31 AM »

okay, all done and installed, thank you, but when I launch it, nothing happens. My copy of cubase 4 runs fine, and I've run 32/5.1 on this machine, although a long time ago. Is there somehting I'm missing? the soundcard drivers are in place... I dunno, there's still something odd going on. many thanks
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2013, 02:24:02 AM »

stormo why are u posting in this thread??

can u explain in detail what it is that u did
how u installed? etc

i guess we should post a link to the 5.1r1 rev on the steinberg site or even host it ourselves

i need to have diehard write a guide on this because he told me how to do it and i forget now :)
so mactron or diehard will have to answer you unless i get a chance to figure it out on my own
i do know that you arent supposed to use any "authorizer" i may just delete this thread to avoid confusion
please make a new thread next time;)

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?topic=45.msg149#msg149
ive updated the info on the download page i hope that diehard wil have time to go over it and edit
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 02:31:51 AM by chrisNova777 »
Logged

DieHard

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2393
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2013, 03:53:54 PM »


Whenever Installing different versions of Cubase on OS 9 and  you get the mysterious no launch...

Simply delete all Cubase preferences in the System folder and reboot and relaunch and it will work :)
 
Logged

stormo

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2013, 10:17:41 PM »

running a G4 I bought in 2000 and using OS9.2. Maybe it's the extra .2 at the end? I'll check it out and see. But as I said it used to run cubase 5.1 perfectly back in the day. It's installed fine now, but the audio cuts out the third time you press play without fail, and the wave forms don't draw. It's very frustrating. I have to say I'm a little disappointed in this site: I've only sourced a couple of functioning pieces of software from it - there's issues like, passwords are incorrect (Reson 2, Lounge Lizard), some software doesn't install correctly (Roland, I can't remember, sound canvas or something)..... anyway, sorry, that's a bit off topic. I'll try updating my version of OS9 and wiping the cubase preferences and see how it goes. You're all doing amazing work!!!  :)
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #17 on: December 08, 2013, 04:37:42 AM »

stormo

if you would communicate we could offer assistance
my cubase does not have any problems like you have described
you should start out by telling us your full system specs
how much ram
what video card
what type of hard drive etc

honestly the biggest source of problems with computers
in my experience, is bad hard drives. buying a new hard drive
or switching the os to a new different used drive
can totally make a system perform like new again
Logged

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #18 on: December 08, 2013, 04:38:20 AM »

please make a new thread tho instead of responding to an old one if you want to ask for help!
Logged

VCOsquarewave

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.1 Authorizer
« Reply #19 on: December 08, 2013, 12:27:00 PM »

I gotta say, I love my old Cubase VST. I run it on a G-4 450 dual processor, since it's written to take advantage of the dual processor system it runs great. Before that I used it on a Imac G-3 and it ran great on that too. I bought this program in 2000.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Recent Topics