Author Topic: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues  (Read 1680 times)

Offline Pushpull76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • new to the forums
ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« on: August 12, 2016, 04:58:31 AM »
Dear All,
I just bought a 24 Mix system with additional farm cards, but I can't resolve a problem.
The computer is a PowerMac G4 mirror doors, dual 1.42 cpu (multiprocessor disabled). It is running 9.2.2 (thanks for the download!).
If I load the cards directly in th G4, all the digitests are ok and Logic works like a charm; if I load the cards in the magma....it's a mess.
Digitest only recognize one core card, in a error state (ERR6, related to a wrong position of the card, which is untrue).
The magma is a P7R464 unit, with a PCA01-04610-00 Host card.
I tried to connect the magma in 32 bit and 64 bit mode with the cables, same result.
Digisystem INIT is 5.1.3cs5.
Any idea?

Thanks in advance,
Alex

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2016, 07:40:42 AM »
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/276203-REG/Magma_P7R464_7_Slot_PCI_Expansion_Rack.html

Quote
Magma's unique 7-slot 64-bit/33 MHz PCI to PCI Expansion System powerfully improves the functionality and I/O of your desktop. Use this 4U Rackmount 400W expansion system for intensive and complex applications such as video processing, medical imaging, multiple monitor workstations, and more.

Feel the rush of accomplishment as Magma's patented enclosure system functions with ease, as if it were inside the host computer. It features a unique 'universal' host interface that can be plugged into host computers using either 5 volt or 3.3 volt signaling--never worry about surging your system again. Magma has thought of everything, that is why its Expansion System also includes optional drive bays that accommodate up to eight internal 3.5" disk drives.

i may be wrong but i think u are using the wrong type of PCI expansion chassis for this computer? and/or its got an incompatibiliy with the cards themselves..


Offline Pushpull76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • new to the forums
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2016, 11:20:51 AM »
Thanks for your reply; I bought the system from a guy who was using the magma with a G4, with osX and os9, it was working flawlessly.

Plus, from Digidesign:




Aug 2002
   

5.1.3cs6
   

DigiTest

for Pro Tools|24 and MIX Systems on Mac OS 9
   

1.3 MB
   

DigiTest 5.1.3cs6 Update (for Pro Tools|24 and Pro Tools|24 MIX Systems on Mac OS 9)

What's Fixed in Pro Tools DigiTest 5.1.3cs6

DigiTest 5.1.3cs6 contains the following:

Fixed: Pro Tools MIX Cards Not Recognized in Late Model Digidesign 7-slot, SBS 7-slot, and SBS 13-slot Chassis

For the following chassis, shipped after January 2002, DigiTest did not recognize Pro Tools|24 MIX cards when installed. This problem has been fixed.

    Digidesign 7-slot chassis
    SBS 7-slot chassis
    SBS 13-slot chassis

DigiTest 5.1.3cs6 is still compatible with earlier chassis.

Newly Supported Hardware:

    ATTO EPCI-UL3D SCSI HBA
    Magma 7-Slot 64-bit expansion chassis model #P7R464

Apple PowerPC G4s:

    800 MHz Power Mac G4
    867 MHz G4
    Dual 867 MHz G4
    933 MHz G4
    Dual 1 GHz G4
    Dual 1.25 GHz G4

Who Should Use This Update?

This version of Digitest may be used with all Pro Tools TDM systems except Pro Tools|HD. In specific, it should be used by

    Anyone with a Digidesign or SBS 7-slot or SBS 13-slot chassis which may have been shipped after January 1, 2002 that is experiencing problems testing installed cards.

Anyone using the following hardware:

    ATTO EPCI-UL3D SCSI HBA
    Magma 7-Slot 64-bit expansion chassis model #P7R464

Apple PowerPC G4s:

    800 MHz Power Mac G4
    867 MHz G4
    Dual 867 MHz G4
    933 MHz G4
    Dual 1 GHz G4
    Dual 1.25 GHz G4

Download Includes:

    DigiTest 5.1.3cs6 application/utiility
    DigiTest 5.1.3cs6 Read Me.pdf




The funny thing is that the digitest is compatible with my magma, but you can't see it in the list of the chassis in the software (?!?!)
I just think I have something wrong in the setup, maybe I can't use that G4 or the DSI is faulty.

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2016, 06:17:34 PM »
yea ok if they have remarked that it was newly supported then its probably a small configuration error or patch/fix of some kind that needs to be applied?

good luck!!! finding the solution!

Offline Pushpull76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • new to the forums
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2016, 04:35:18 AM »
Thanks!

Offline Pushpull76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • new to the forums
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2016, 12:02:00 PM »
A little update....I tried to install macos X Panther on the G4 and....surprise, the interfaces are full working with the Magma. I'm so lucky that probably I just found one of the rare expansion chassis that the DSI doesn't recognize under macos 9.
I'll keep you updated, probably I'll buy another expansion chassis on the web.

Thanks!

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2016, 04:06:54 PM »
are u sure u patched the update properly?
DigiTest 5.1.3cs6

i know sometimes u need to apply updates in order.. sequentially. 1 2 3 cs4 cs5 cs6 etc
and some updates are combo updates..

maybe u missed a patch file in between?

Offline Pushpull76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • new to the forums
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2016, 11:33:01 AM »
In this case, it's impossible to go wrong. Once you decompress the archive, you find directly the application, not a patch.

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2016, 11:34:56 AM »
i see.. its a new executable binary to replace the old?

if its dated august 2002 then there should be a way to make it work..
because macos9 was still in use + supported by software/harware companies untill late 2004 or so at least.

Offline Pushpull76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • new to the forums
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2016, 11:50:31 AM »
Exactly. I think the main problem is the DSI, the Digitest not so much.
I'll try to search around more updates about that, crossing my fingers.

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2016, 11:55:13 AM »
are u sure that magma chassis isnt designed specifically for PT HD systems?
http://archive.digidesign.com/compato/osx/623/hd/expand.cfm

Offline Pushpull76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • new to the forums
Re: ProTools 24 (core+4 farms) and Magma chassis issues
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2016, 12:33:00 PM »
Probably not, the digitest note I posted above clearly talk about protools 24 and mix system on os9.
The chassis is made for 32/64 bit interfaces, but it can run as a simple 32 bit interface using one cable.