Author Topic: Installing os 9 retail disc on G3 Clamshell - won't boot to CD  (Read 1600 times)

Offline morrysillusion

• Newcomer
Hi, so i am very new to any kind of old mac related repair stuff (been a windows person mostly) but i got this lime green G3 Clamshell mac recently because i always loved the look. however what i didnt realize, was that it had 9.2.2 and its... in german. If someone wants to correct me now feel free, but as i know you can't just change the system language, and need to do a full reinstall of the OS. Which I kind of want to do anyways...

So I got a os 9 retail disc real cheap off ebay- the white one with the orange 9 on it. I started up the computer as normal to see if it was read, and it is. The folder comes up showing all the disc install contents. But when I restart and hold "c", nothing happens. I can hear the CD roaring as its trying to be read, but it starts as normal. But still, it is being read on the computer!

I held down "alt" to see if i could choose it, but the only thing showing is the existing HDD that has the os installed already.

Help is appreciated. Annoyingly all the threads I have found especially related to this computer, dont have any solutions/dont exactly apply to me.

Offline DrNo7

• Enthusiast Member
Re: Installing os 9 retail disc on G3 Clamshell - won't boot to CD
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2023, 10:23:57 PM »
Hi Morry,

Welcome to the happy world of almost :p

I did a quick search and except if you have the very first generation of clamshell, it will require a bit more than 9.0 (second gen: http://apple-history.com/ibookse). Usually, you have 2 types of disks: the hardware specific ones that will be bundled and are usually gray, and the retails like the one you have that are colorful.

The simplest would be to check exactly the model and cross reference with the like above what is the minimum version supported.