Digital Audio Workstation & MIDI > Digital Audio Workstations & MIDI Applications

Flux images of Authorization Floppies

(1/4) > >>

d97:
Hi all - I’m not really sure if this post will be of interest but, on the off-chance that it might be, I figure it couldn’t hurt to post.

I recently picked up a greaseweazle and started using it to archive authorization floppies for some of the software that I have kicking around.

I’m really new to this idea - although, from what I understand, it has been around a while - and  if I’m understanding things semi-properly, the greaseweazle reads a disk’s magnetic flux information and then writes it to an image file.  The resulting image file can then be written back to a floppy making - again, if I understand things - a perfect copy. 

I had a couple of unused authorization disks kicking around.  One was for Emagic’s ZAP (not the most useful of utilities these days) and the other was for Digidesign’s Masterlist v1.2.  (I actually cracked the shrinkwrap on this one).

The greaseweazle will write to .hfe, .img and .scp file types.  From what I’ve seen, the .scp file type takes a 1.4 meg disk and creates a whopping 70+ meg image of it.  As of now I haven’t experimented with anything other than the .scp format.

So, I made images of both disks and then wrote them to a generic floppy.  I authorized a computer using the floppy and then brought the same disk back to the greaseweazle and re-wrote the original image to the disk.  I was able to successfully use it to authorize another computer. 

I’m not sure if there are other tools that allow us to do this and, really, most of the stuff that we want to use is available anyway but, it was an interesting process to go through.