Mac OS 9 Lives! (Classic Mac OS Forum)

Classic Mac OS Software (Discussions on Applications) => DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) General Discussions => Topic started by: teroyk on March 18, 2021, 12:28:09 PM

Title: Syncing another DAWs
Post by: teroyk on March 18, 2021, 12:28:09 PM
Has somebody synced more than two DAWS together slaving them to Mac OS 9 Mac?
All ideas about Wordclock, ADAT Sync, SMPTE and Midi sync/transport control are welcome.

Title: Re: Syncing another DAWs
Post by: Gaz on March 19, 2021, 03:55:07 AM
Is something I would like to test someday! Maybe you can use SPDIF too as it includes his clock signal!
Title: Re: Syncing another DAWs
Post by: refinery on March 21, 2021, 01:19:44 PM
For many many years I used all different kinds of methods to get things synced, both to and from os9 machines. It "worked", mostly, but there were frequently problems, weird glitches, things like that.
Finally I got a good deal on an apogee big ben, I have been using that 3-4 years now and, to paraphrase, "it just works."
Flawlessly, every time. The only issue I run into is when I set buffers too low and the machines can't keep up. Otherwise zero issues.
Title: Re: Syncing another DAWs
Post by: mrhappy on November 30, 2021, 08:20:15 AM
Reviving teroyk's post...

Syncing DAWs SEEMS like such a great idea and would open up all kinds of options. A few years back I started down that path to synch a few DAWs together... I ran into a road block, got distracted by other things and never quite got it going ::). I'm planning on revisiting soon.

So who here is doing this type of thing and what exactly are you up to??

I've been doing all audio for the past decade or so but plan on incorporating midi once again.

Currently using ProTools but why not add a synched Cubase, Logic, VI's, Effects, or whatever other rig into the mess??? ;D

Also want to sync some reel to reel in there (which I haven't  done since my Mac Plus days! ;D)

Of coarse I'll have to order a BARREL of Excedrine from Amazon!!
Title: Re: Syncing another DAWs
Post by: IIO on December 01, 2021, 07:17:31 PM
what people were dooing in 1996 is running cubase 3.5 with audio turned off, along protools 3 TDM, because protools did not yet have any midi.

later, when rewire came, you could send audio e.g. from reason to a DAW or something.

i hate both, and i also hated to run 2 copies of cubase using that system link nonsense.
Title: Re: Syncing another DAWs
Post by: refinery on December 02, 2021, 06:23:53 AM
still using the big ben here to sync up all my machines's audio via wordclock. except now its all going into a dante interface with analog and adat IO, its bliss. Dante has a serious learning curve but once you figure out how it works it is absolutely amazing technology.

for midi I have two MOTU MTP AVs hooked up with a serial cable. when you use it in this manner, you get 16 physical ports, and a 17th "virtual" MIDI port which is the machine on the other end of the MOTU chain. This has worked great for years for sharing my midi setup between my OSX Mojave machine, and my OS9 machine with a Korg OASYS.
SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal