Author Topic: 2 Imac G3s bootup flashing folder but boots after HDD upgrade  (Read 958 times)

Offline my3awds

• Newcomer
2 Imac G3s bootup flashing folder but boots after HDD upgrade
« on: September 28, 2023, 10:05:37 AM »
Hi I'm new to macs, but started a collection of Imac G3s.  All seem to be running fine, except I noticed the following on 2 of my machines that I've swapped hard drives for after a fresh install of 9.2.2 lives extended.

Imac 1 600mhz: installed a sata 60gb with a master/slave selectable pata/sata adapter from amazon (partition 1 is 7gb).  After installing the OS it boots fine, but it shows the flashing folder initially for 10-15 seconds, and the system I'm guessing is trying to find the new location of the OS.  Eventually it boots fine.  I've tried PRAM reset several times but no go.  Also gone into Startup Disk to select the appropriate folder, but same results.

Imac 2 233mhz: installed the original 20gb ide from the above machine and did a fresh install of 9.2.2 lives.  I notice the same flashing folder but only for 3-5 seconds and then boots normally.  Also tried resetting PRAm but no change.  If I put the old HDD back in, it boots fine without a flashing folder.  Which tells me that maybe the boot rom (?) is still looking for this exact drive.

I saw someone go into openfirmware and do a setenv command and not sure if that would be appropriate here?  Again, new to macs so not sure how to find the correct path and run the command properly from Openfirmware.  Both have the latest firmware done to them (in trying to resolve the issue) but the issue still remains.  Any help is appreciated!

Offline my3awds

• Newcomer
Re: 2 Imac G3s bootup flashing folder but boots after HDD upgrade
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2023, 06:25:43 PM »