Author Topic: Formatting my FW/USB external HD  (Read 12435 times)

Offline Mat

• Platinum Member
Re: Formatting my FW/USB external HD
« Reply #20 on: July 14, 2016, 09:06:38 AM »
Yeah, Philgood, that Silverlining would be great! I already got a Silverlining 6.4.9 with the best resoults but still a lot of problems.

So your much newer version could help me a lot.

What I did in the meantime seems to become a crusade, ...

Short story: I installed all the hfs packages at the Ubuntu Linux machine. It can now use and partition hfs and hfs+ but as far as I read not OS 9 compatible, just X! It is still not working.

The next huge problem is again Apple: their paternalism goes as far that you cannot install the 9 drivers at hfs+ volumes easily. I am a X noob, and there was no checkbox for the 9 drivers in X. So I didnĀ“t think about them. And they are not there as the G5 with 10.4.11 cannot boot 9, so Apple lets the checkbox for 9 drives dissapeare. At the G4 which could boot 9, a 10.5.8 is installed at the one HD, and that has also no 9 drivers for hfs+ anymore, ... great!

The next things where many tests with HDST, and they create "strange" partitions. If you do two FAT 32 ones, and check the partition layout in gparted at Linux subsequently, it is a partition with empty space at the beginning, another "secondary partition", that contains 2 further FAT32 partitions and an empty partition at the end again (few MBs). If you partition both partitions with hfs+ in HDST the Linux machine can now read and write to/from them correctly, but gparted tells it is a unused empty space without partitions, ...

Silverlining 6.4.9 was the first program that was able to create one FAT 32 partition and one hfs+ correctly for Mac OS 9. But then the 10.4. only sees the first partition, no matter if it is FAT 32 or hfs+ - just the first one, ...

Stay tuned ;)
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 04:22:04 PM by Mat »

Offline Philgood

• Gold Member
« Reply #21 on: July 14, 2016, 02:13:54 PM »