Author Topic: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11  (Read 6374 times)

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« on: April 11, 2014, 02:26:17 PM »
Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11:

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?topic=986.0

Info, Tips & Trics here...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline dr bu

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 170
  • Max/Msp 4.1 lives!
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2014, 01:24:21 PM »
thanks for uploading! you need midi manager to configure this, right? i cant find out how to do that. also the Info, Tips & Trics, i dont see...
lookin for original M-audio audiophile 2496 drivers (ver 1.x)!!

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2014, 11:13:34 AM »
To install Apple MIDI Manager you simple drag the file "MIDI Manager" into your Extensions folder and restart your computer. This file is in "Midi Manager Folder" inside Ballade folder.

Additionally you can drag the file "Apple MIDI Driver" to your System folder if you plan to use an external MIDI device, AND/OR you can drag the file "OMS MIDI Manager Driver" file to your System folder if you plan to use OMS in paralell with Aple MIDI Manager and also let OMS to manage external MIDI devices.
"OMS MIDI Manager Driver" is on MacTron Xtras folder inside Ballade folder.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline dr bu

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 170
  • Max/Msp 4.1 lives!
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2014, 06:21:32 PM »
no. sorry, im familiar with adding extensions. also with using OMS. the question is how do i route midi from Ballade to e.g. FM7, like youve apparently done? in Ballade you can route midi thru port a or b (obviously Midi Manager ports), but the only way ive found patching Midi Manager is thru the PatchBay prg, and here Ballade itself is the only option!?..no Midi Manager icon, no sign of connection to OMS. :'( by the way, the "OMS MIDI Manager Driver" goes in the OMS folder right? i tried the system as well as the extensions folder just to be sure, but it did not make any difference.
lookin for original M-audio audiophile 2496 drivers (ver 1.x)!!

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2014, 07:41:40 AM »
... AND/OR you can drag the file "OMS MIDI Manager Driver" file to your System folder if you plan to use OMS in paralell with Aple MIDI Manager and also let OMS to manage external MIDI devices.
"OMS MIDI Manager Driver" is on MacTron Xtras folder inside Ballade folder.

...drag the file "OMS MIDI Manager Driver" file to your System folder if you plan to use OMS

You have to put "OMS MIDI Manager Driver" file in to your System folder (not Extensions folder).
Restart your computer and then configure your connections (with OMS apps also)  in PatchBay.
You can take a look in to the down-right part of the picture:

Click to Enlarge...

« Last Edit: May 23, 2014, 10:44:56 PM by MacOS9Lives.com »
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2014, 08:09:22 AM »
hey mactron.. i could use this old version of excel;) i dont think i have.. ;)
u know i love to make spreadsheets ;) LOL

Offline MacGuy

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2014, 10:24:59 AM »
MacTron,


I thought i understood midi connections but obviously i don't.

I am really struggling with "hearing the music".

In my OMS studio my keyboard is connected and i can hear it when i select "test".

Then when I launch Ballade no music.

I am running the midi and audio thru a Audiophile 2496 USB to capture both audio and midi using my iMac G3.

The Info, Tips & Trics here...is no where because it's not linked.

Could you give us a clue where all those components are hand filed.  I seem to recall that if you dropped a file on the System Folder it will place it were it should go.  No luck here.

LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2014, 12:41:14 PM »
Attach a picture of your Apple Patchbay connections, Please.
The problem may be there, I think.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacGuy

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2014, 06:03:08 AM »
MacTron ,

My mistake, Apple Midi Manager was parked in the wrong place in System folder.  I finally realized that  when I launched Ballade and it did not show signing into Apple Midi Manager. For some unknown reason I thought it should be in the Extension folder with Midi Manager. Another clue i missed was when I launched Apple Patch Bay there were no virtual midi cables between Ballade and Apple Midi Manager. Whereas if the Apple Midi Manager and Midi Manager are placed correctly Ballade will make the correct corrections.  Now we hear music. Thank you for your subtle clue.
LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2014, 08:26:24 AM »
I'm glad that you finally put this app in to work...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacGuy

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2014, 10:23:55 AM »
MacTron,

Indeed, it sure is great to "play" this app: I've forgotten how great it is especially in today's time of the DigitalPerformer, Cubase, Finale, Sibelius, or Apple's attempt at Emagic's Logic ( god, they can't even get the GarbageBand right ). OK, that's my rant for the day.

Sorry, MR MAGOO can only handle one question at any given time.

Are there hot keys to hit in the transport window to for example "play" ?  stop ?  rewind ?  Tried space bar: no go. Just hit the  buttons you say!.

LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacGuy

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2014, 06:25:53 AM »
At the moment I am using my Roland XP-80 keyboard as sound in/out source with Ballade.

I have Roland's Virtual Sound Canvas VSC-88 whereby an external MIDI sound module is not
necessary. VSC-88 is compatible with both the General MIDI System
and the GS format, and can play back music files created for them. I realize that the VSC-88 can only be used as a sound source to play back midi and Ballade generated files.

Once again I'm stuck ( thought i understood midi setups ) trying to have Ballade use Roland's Virtual Sound Canvas VSC-88 as the sound source. Can't figure out how to set the  VSC-88 ( or even VST plug-ins ) to use OMS.

Help please.

LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2014, 10:31:57 AM »
To connect Roland VSC to Ballade you have to forget about OMS. Just Apple Midi Manager. Open Apple Patchbay and connect Ballade output to VSC input. That's all :)
« Last Edit: May 17, 2014, 11:13:39 AM by MacTron »
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline Jakl

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2014, 02:28:42 PM »
So this discussion is using Ballade in macos9 is it not?

So Apple Midi Manager and Ballade still work in Macos9?


Offline MacGuy

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2014, 07:19:12 AM »
So this discussion is using Ballade in macos9 is it not?

So Apple Midi Manager and Ballade still work in Macos9?

It is.

They do.
LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2014, 09:33:00 AM »
So this discussion is using Ballade in macos9 is it not?

So Apple Midi Manager and Ballade still work in Macos9?

Yes it is, and in some high end G4 too :)
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline Jakl

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2014, 02:28:04 PM »
I shall give it a go then, thanks guys.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2014, 11:48:18 PM »
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/soundedit-16
is this the sound edit icon in your screen grab?

also,
soundJam
a music player?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SoundJam_MP
http://web.archive.org/web/20010531202246/http://www.casadyg.com/
this is what became itunes?
v2.5.3 is the last version?


Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2014, 08:07:24 AM »
http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/soundedit-16
is this the sound edit icon in your screen grab?
Yes it is.
I've used it from the beginning of times... :)
Now a days is just a basic destructive audio editor. It support 96Khz but no 24/32 bits audio. No ASIO, no VST, no much... LOL

Quote
also,
soundJam
a music player?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SoundJam_MP
http://web.archive.org/web/20010531202246/http://www.casadyg.com/
My favorite MP3 Player ever!. More powerful than newest versions (Itunes)
Quote
this is what became itunes?
Yes it is.

Furthermore, its interface was incorpored into QuickTime at first and in Mac Os X later!
And Apple Numbers app came from the acquisition of Casady & Greene too.
Quote
v2.5.3 is the last version?
Yes it is.



« Last Edit: July 31, 2014, 08:54:58 AM by MacTron »
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2014, 01:03:05 AM »

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #20 on: December 24, 2014, 02:50:23 PM »
I have Roland's Virtual Sound Canvas VSC-88 whereby an external MIDI sound module is not
necessary. VSC-88 is compatible with both the General MIDI System
and the GS format, and can play back music files created for them. I realize that the VSC-88 can only be used as a sound source to play back midi and Ballade generated files.

http://web.archive.org/web/19980703234232/http://www2.edirol.com/vsc88h.html

Offline MacGuy

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2015, 09:51:21 PM »
Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11:

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?topic=986.0

Info, Tips & Trics here...

I had to trash and  re-install OS 9 and all my programmes due to a catastrophic OS 9 hard drive crash. 

When i installed Ballade 1.11 obtained from the above noted download site and launched the app it requested a S/N.  I can't recall doing this the last time i installed Ballade.

What are the magic numbers please ?

LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2015, 10:14:38 PM »
2004100460 (v1.0)

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #23 on: August 25, 2016, 10:01:45 PM »

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #24 on: October 25, 2016, 06:42:28 AM »

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1912
  • keep it simple
Re: Roland/Dinaware Ballade 1.11
« Reply #25 on: October 25, 2016, 07:45:59 AM »
An  IBM/PC version existed, for MS/DOS only, and it was less capable than the Mac one.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.