Author Topic: We can't play it again Sam...  (Read 4832 times)

Offline MacGuy

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
We can't play it again Sam...
« on: April 10, 2014, 05:53:07 AM »
I have the install CD for MusicTime that i purchased away back when.

Trying to install this Passport Music programme to my dedicated OS 9 external hard drive however

double clicking the installer application gives me a message that i need the original install CD.  What ????

Then i copied the CD to the hard drive and tried launching the installer with the same nasty

unforgiving message.

How do i install this application ?

Is there an application similar to Pacifist that could trick the Finder to honour the installation ?

Sure need help and advise please to make music with this programme.



LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 06:08:00 AM »
why dont we start with what your trying to do?

are you trying to play music? from cd? or from mp3 files?

or

are you trying to install some music authoring software
"musictime" from passport music software?
http://www.passportmusic.com/products/musictime-deluxe/

Offline MacGuy

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2014, 06:46:29 AM »
Yes,  trying to install a music authoring software made by Passport. This is MusicTime version 2 that i  used in my music teaching business many years ago.  It is not only  educational but also simple and a fun to play and learn programme. At the moment MR MAGOO  ( and his friend SAM ) is rummaging thru old system back CD's trying to locate the installed components which we may have to cobble a running application since the "installer" is reluctant to work in OS 9.

So how do i get this installer to work because despite the message the CD being used is the original installer CD.
LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • keep it simple
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2014, 01:24:23 PM »
Yes,  trying to install a music authoring software made by Passport. This is MusicTime version 2 that i  used in my music teaching business many years ago.  It is not only  educational but also simple and a fun to play and learn programme. At the moment MR MAGOO  ( and his friend SAM ) is rummaging thru old system back CD's trying to locate the installed components which we may have to cobble a running application since the "installer" is reluctant to work in OS 9.

So how do i get this installer to work because despite the message the CD being used is the original installer CD.
Here you have the MusicTime big brother: Passport Encore:
http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?board=100.0

And many others. Soon  -if interested-  I'll upload some others Score editors like Sibelius, Ballade and the MusicTime itself.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacGuy

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2014, 02:48:34 PM »


Quote
  And many others. Soon  -if interested-  I'll upload some others Score editors like Sibelius, Ballade and the MusicTime itself. 

That would be just  awesome.

Looking forward to your upload of Ballade because that was one of very first computer music programmes. However it's on floppies which for me means running it thru my LC520 or Performa6360 to be able to install it to my PowerPC G4.
LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • keep it simple
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2014, 03:04:50 PM »
Looking forward to your upload of Ballade because that was one of very first computer music programmes. However it's on floppies which for me means running it thru my LC520 or Performa6360 to be able to install it to my PowerPC G4.

Ballade 1.1. I'm still using it now a days. Connected to NI Kompakt (with my 32Gb library) and NI FM7. Ballade and its chords palette... I've never found something even similar... not in Finale, nor Sibelius, nor Encore, nor Cubase Score, nor Logic, nor Performer, nor Studio Vision, or what ever...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacGuy

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2014, 07:21:32 PM »
Quote
     Ballade 1.1. I'm still using it now a days. Connected to NI Kompakt (with my 32Gb library) and NI FM7. Ballade and its chords palette... I've never found something even similar... not in Finale, nor Sibelius, nor Encore, nor Cubase Score, nor Logic, nor Performer, nor Studio Vision, or what ever...     

Ballade still running in what Mac OS ? 7.5 ?  8.5 ? I would like to make use of  Ballade again because you are correct there really is nothing as good even today.

I don't understand how this uploading of legacy music recording/editing software works here. For example, I have pace free Vision and Studio Vision from Opcode. Can i package those programmes and upload them for others interested/wanting to have and use. ? I also have Emagic Silver Logic that is non restricted by S/N or authorization CD. It would be great to share those and others that I have gathering dust.
LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline dr bu

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • inconsistent soul
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2014, 01:52:43 PM »
whats ballade? sounds interesting. where will you upload it mactron? :-*
djupsinnig

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • keep it simple
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2014, 02:30:47 PM »
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacGuy

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2014, 03:06:24 PM »
Here it is:

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?topic=986.0

Awesome. Sure brought back wonderful memories since this was my very first DAW that i ran on my LC520. In fact when I first installed Ballade the LC520 froze because somehow two copies of Midi Manager were installed in the Extensions Folder.

Curious how you translated/converted tine digital data from FLOPPY installer disks.  I have a number of floppy installer disks but the QuickSilver G4 Power Mac has no floppy drive so how can install those to my G4 ?
LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • keep it simple
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2014, 03:27:57 PM »
Curious how you translated/converted tine digital data from FLOPPY installer disks.  I have a number of floppy installer disks but the QuickSilver G4 Power Mac has no floppy drive so how can install those to my G4 ?
I'd copied all my floppies in to CD very long time ago, when I'd installed a CD burner into my Quadra 840av...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • keep it simple
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2014, 03:40:58 PM »
I don't understand how this uploading of legacy music recording/editing software works here. For example, I have pace free Vision and Studio Vision from Opcode. Can i package those programmes and upload them for others interested/wanting to have and use. ? I also have Emagic Silver Logic that is non restricted by S/N or authorization CD. It would be great to share those and others that I have gathering dust.

An admin would give you access to our "upload system". Once your files are uploaded, an admin take care of your files, and arrange the file download in the downloads area.

I can give you acces (via PM) if you like.
All the contributors users are specially welcome. And they have preference over the others members.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacGuy

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • Love MacOS9Lives
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2014, 04:04:39 PM »




Quote
   I can give you acces (via PM) if you like.

Yes, please!
LC520(my first iMac @ 25 MHz ), 8500/SonnetG4, Performa6360, QuickSilver PowerPC G4 ( 933MHz ), iMac PowerPC G3 500 MHz ,iMac @ 3.06 GHz, AND a plethora of midi/audio/recording gear and software and oh! let's not forget all those acoustical music instruments

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2257
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2014, 07:20:33 AM »

Here you have the MusicTime big brother: Passport Encore:
http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?board=100.0

And many others. Soon  -if interested-  I'll upload some others Score editors like Sibelius, Ballade and the MusicTime itself.

Is there a Sibelius OS9?
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • keep it simple
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2014, 07:47:24 AM »
Is there a Sibelius OS9?

Yes. It will be available in short :)
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • keep it simple
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #15 on: April 27, 2014, 09:04:58 AM »
Is there a Sibelius OS9?

1.4 version.
http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?topic=1038.0

There is also a 2.0 version on a user FTP folder, but I couldn't make it work.. by now...   :(

Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline paule

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • new to the forums
Re: We can't play it again Sam...
« Reply #16 on: December 31, 2018, 06:56:33 AM »
Hey all,
long ago but it would interest me: anyone was successful with Sibelius 2.1? I got it working (and it looks great) but the registering process doesn't work with the included keygen. No saving or printing... :-(
Mmh ... anyone an idea?

Best, paule.