Poll

 Would you buy it?

Yes, I would buy it.
3 (33.3%)
Yes, I will support a kickstarter G4 quad movement.
3 (33.3%)
Yes, but for casual OS X enhacement, OS9 would take no better than dual.
2 (22.2%)
Yes, my G4 Dual >1.42 is getting slow
0 (0%)
No, It would take no sense for my software/hardware equipment
0 (0%)
No, my G4 Dual >1.5 is enought
0 (0%)
No, I prefer spend my money on Dual 1.42 module for my MDD
0 (0%)
No, It has no sense with my G4 100MHz bus
0 (0%)
No, I prefer to buy ANOTHER G4 to have a "quad" G4
0 (0%)
No, It should be more expensive than 4 good G4 dual
1 (11.1%)

Total Members Voted: 7

Author Topic: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?  (Read 3289 times)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2182
After Aprils Fools Day  ;D  Let's especulate about Freescale making a "Quad" G4 using  2 7448 dual cores on a cpu module with 8 Mb L3 cache.
 -afro- ;D
Even if OS9 barely could use the second one.  8)

I allowed 2 votes per user and let the user to change the vote, but I encourage poll users to write why you vote at, and why you change your vote  >:(  ;D

Just for fun.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2182
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2014, 08:25:15 PM »
We have https://www.kickstarter.com/start 
We are now 330 members! All G4 users/fanboys are not here. Some are "Die Hard" OSX, probably most.  :-[

Do the math : 500 users supporting with 10 bucks everyone is 5000$. Enought to pay some technicians 3 weeks, a lawyer and Freescale especialist.

In a month we could be reserving our cpu module board for 150 $ or 180 . 

OWC should have it on catalog on Q4 2014.    ::)

Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2014, 09:16:56 PM »
april fools  :'(  -afro- -afro-

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2182
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2014, 07:37:52 AM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PowerPC_e600
http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/prod_summary.jsp?code=MPC7448
http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/prod_summary.jsp?code=MPC8641D
http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/prod_summary.jsp?code=MPC8640
http://media.freescale.com/phoenix.zhtml?c=196520&p=irol-newsArticle&ID=1054696

When the last cpu module for G4s was designed? I think were 7447 and 7448 cpus.

The MPC8641D is dual core L1: 32kB I/D L2: 1MB with ECC, Dual e600 Power Architecture core, up to 1.5GHz each, 2.3MIPS/MHz and can get Dual 64b DDR2, up to 600MHz with ECC.

This 8641D is dual core and noone has made a cpu module with it
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2182
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2014, 07:45:17 AM »
http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/taxonomy.jsp?code=MPC8XXX7XXX
Says that 7447 and 7448 has cpu socket FCBGA 360, and the "news" ones FCBGA 483, 783, 994 and 1023
All them have e600 and e500 core
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2182
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2014, 07:56:09 AM »
http://powerpcliberation.blogspot.com.es/2014/03/freescale-and-missing-plane-from.html

This cpu module can be a tribute to all that desapeared plane people
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
  • new to the forums
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2014, 03:55:33 PM »

you can have 4 G4 processors in a 933 but putting 3 powercore cards in it.
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2182
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2014, 04:19:45 PM »

you can have 4 G4 processors in a 933 but putting 3 powercore cards in it.

If  you put this freescale proc with 4 powercore would be an octa core...
 :) ;)
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2039
  • keep it simple
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2014, 05:15:05 PM »

you can have 4 G4 processors in a 933 but putting 3 powercore cards in it.
The PowerCore don't have a Power PC G4. It only have a MPC8245 (Integrated Host Processor with Integrated PCI) with a 603e processor core at 200-300 Mhz.
We can call it G2, more or less, LOL
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
  • new to the forums
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2014, 05:44:00 PM »
you could go back to a 9600 then you can add 6 powercore cards.

first komputah with hexa G2 PPC.
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2039
  • keep it simple
Re: Would you buy a new Freescale cpu module with Quad Core for your G4?
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2014, 06:05:39 PM »
you could go back to a 9600 then you can add 6 powercore cards.

first komputah with hexa G2 PPC.
... and 24 Motorola 56K DSPs! wow!  LOL
Please don't PM about things that are not private.