Author Topic: Help cloning a Waves 3.5 Protools Set Up  (Read 728 times)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1250
Help cloning a Waves 3.5 Protools Set Up
« on: May 29, 2023, 09:38:10 AM »
 User wbfj http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?action=profile;u=24219 that still hasnt introduced himself on http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/topic,1991.0.html asked me for help to clone
Quote
Trying to find someone that can clone a hd 9.2 with protools on it and wave 5.2 on it. Cant get waves software to open. wont copy password


I answered ...
Quote
Try ASR and alternatively monte method

Before Make sure to run Disk First Aid to check for errors. Also build desktop before.

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/topic,1839.0.html   ASR

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/topic,3007.0.html   Monte

Come back with results and a disk image!  No version of 5.2 runs on OS9 AFAIK

5.2 should be panther+tiger IIRC

He told me:
Quote
My bad. Waves 3.5

also said
Quote
This is what I get when trying to run disk utility app. The disk utility app. could not be opened, because it could not be used with this version of Mac os or there is a problem with it. If there is a problem with it try reinstalling the package.

I told him :
Quote
Disk First Aid  is what you wanna run

Disk utility is OSX only

Now he tells me:
Quote
Hey when I run Disk First Aid this comes up. Problem invalad B tree header, 0,0

Also ask if anyone can help him
Quote
If I sent you the drive do you think you could clone it?




Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1250
Re: Help cloning a Waves 3.5 Protools Set Up
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2023, 09:43:35 AM »
So summaryzing, he got the invalid B tree header 0.0 error, probably from booting tiger or leopard (AFAIK panther and jaguar are harmless)

What should be done to preserve his Waves 3.5 licenses?

Is it posible to clone that, having invalid B tree header errors?

Is there a Method to clean Btree errors other than copy all files from a drive to another (including hidden files/folders)?

Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1250
Re: Help cloning a Waves 3.5 Protools Set Up
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2023, 11:34:43 AM »
To start, check http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/topic,2830.0.html.

I think that is our longest conversation on BTree errors
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1250
Re: Help cloning a Waves 3.5 Protools Set Up
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2023, 11:43:16 AM »
It seems  Norton Disk Utility 6.0.3 can solve it sometimes...

DieHard non approved method.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline ssp3

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 48
Re: Help cloning a Waves 3.5 Protools Set Up
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2023, 02:12:07 PM »
I'd suggest doing block for block copy to image file (as a safety backup) before experimenting with Norton or anything else.
FWB HDT -> Device Copy
How big is his original drive, btw?
If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.

Offline ssp3

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 48
Re: Help cloning a Waves 3.5 Protools Set Up
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2023, 04:02:35 AM »
If the drive is too big for FWB HDT, it can be done in OSX, but that's quite complicated.
If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal