Author Topic: Motorola 56K on Audio boards  (Read 373 times)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2689
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1237
Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« on: March 25, 2023, 01:46:55 PM »
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorola_56000

https://www.nxp.com/docs/en/reference-manual/DSP_SIMULATERRM.pdf Simulator manual for 56000

https://www.nxp.com/docs/en/user-guide/56KCCUM.pdf Motorola DSP56000 Family

https://www.nxp.com/docs/en/user-guide/56KCCUM.pdfOptimizing C Compiler Userís Manual, Release 6.3

http://archive.digidesign.com/support/propix/DSPfarmPCIpp.html
Quote
Each card houses four 56002 Motorola DSP Processors

https://www.nxp.com/docs/en/data-sheet/DSP56002DS.pdf

http://www4.ujaen.es/~damian/spstr/Resumen%20DSP56002.pdf

https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/pro-tools-24-mixplus

Quote
The main advantage of the new system, as far as I can see, is that the MIX Core card now has six Motorola 56301‑series DSP chips, which will allow it to handle up to 64 tracks of audio with up to 16 channels of I/O, and will provide significantly more mixing and processing power than the previous d24/DSP Farm card combination.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2689
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1237
Re: Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2023, 01:51:49 PM »
IIO did you know of anyone crazy enough to upgrade the 56000 on their boards?

Apparently 563xx have "double" performance compared to 5600x

https://www.nxp.com/docs/en/product-brief/DSP56374PB.pdf

There should be a 56XYZ family (x>3) pin compatible and faster.

Probably Digidesign locked their cards but maybe someone hacked them. Just curious...
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4


Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4179
  • just a number
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 257
Re: Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2023, 02:24:47 PM »

can you replace different series of 65k with others? do they even have the same socket? no idea. i am already happy when i can properly solder a capacitor with 3 cm radius without damaging the device or my kitchen table.

i want poco X8 and duende for OS9^^. oh, and the big focusrite liquid. a kingdom for a firewire driver guru!

but more realistic is a nord G2 running on the new german emu end of the year.
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline rvense

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
  • Lombard & son
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
Re: Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2023, 03:02:32 PM »
I don't see this working without software support. The software's what sends jobs to the DSPs and if it doesn't know that they're now faster I don't think it's going to give them any more work. Hardwarewise, there's a lot going on on these boards (ASICs as well I think?) and just turning up the speed on the DSPs is unlikely to end well.

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2689
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1237
Re: Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2023, 03:25:11 PM »
There are some TDM plugs that ate a whole DSP, LexiVerb, MasterX5, Amp Farm...

I don't see this working without software support. The software's what sends jobs to the DSPs and if it doesn't know that they're now faster I don't think it's going to give them any more work. Hardwarewise, there's a lot going on on these boards (ASICs as well I think?) and just turning up the speed on the DSPs is unlikely to end well.

Maybe for these plugs a lightly upīed clock wont help, but where a plug eat little, like Metric Halo Channel Strip you could rum more of them per DSP.

I think of it in 2 ways:

1- Modernizing a DSP farm with MIX Core DSP. I mean, pull out the 56002 and solder faster 56301

2- Modernizing a MIX Core generation card with more modern, pin compatible DSP
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline rvense

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
  • Lombard & son
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
Re: Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2023, 04:48:41 PM »
I don't know the specific of the PT hardware. I do know the 56k series a little, though, I have a 56002 dev board and have read the manual.

The thing is, it's not like sticking in a faster CPU. A CPU controls what's around it. These DSPs are not independent at all, the host CPU loads code onto them and tells them what and when to run. Even if the '301 is in fact a drop-in replacement it doesn't matter much if the supervising software doesn't schedule more work on each DSP.

But like, good luck with it.

Offline smilesdavis

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 17
Re: Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2023, 01:26:37 AM »

can you replace different series of 65k with others? do they even have the same socket? no idea. i am already happy when i can properly solder a capacitor with 3 cm radius without damaging the device or my kitchen table.

i want poco X8 and duende for OS9^^. oh, and the big focusrite liquid. a kingdom for a firewire driver guru!

but more realistic is a nord G2 running on the new german emu end of the year.

What "german" emu?
Looking for: Steinberg Cubase MAC Standard/Score v1-5 & Cubase Audio v1, Cubase Audio v2 for, Cubase Audio v3 for DAE/TDM => complete or in parts

Offline rvense

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
  • Lombard & son
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
Re: Motorola 56K on Audio boards
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2023, 12:51:43 PM »

 


SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal