Author Topic: Installing MacOS 9.22 and then MacOS X on an old iMac G3?  (Read 2132 times)

Offline rallydarkstrike

• Newcomer
Installing MacOS 9.22 and then MacOS X on an old iMac G3?
« on: January 13, 2023, 08:46:03 AM »
Hi all - first-off, I'm a tech guy, but more PC (Windows and primarily Linux) than Mac - don't hold that against me, haha!

When I was in Jr. high ('96-'98 or so) all the computers we had at our school at the time were 'fruit' iMacs, so I'm somewhat fond of them from my childhood. I do computer repair and tech tutoring on the side as well, so I know my way around computers in general quite well, including modern Macs.

BUT...I don't know / remember much from back then about old Macs, so am a bit lost!

I was recently given an PPC iMac G3 in orange that I want to get the latest MacOS version I can get installed on it to run some software. EveryMac's lookup tool (according to my iMac's serial number) says I have one of these:
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/specs/imac_333.html

I've read it can handle MacOS 10.3.9 max, but I also seem to recall reading somewhere that I can't install that without some sort of firmware update that I can only get by installing MacOS 9.2.2?

Currently the Mac is running MacOS 8.6 and everything seems to work perfectly. At some point it was upgraded to 160MB of RAM or so (so the original 32mb plus 128mb more).

I've tried downloading your MacOS 9.2.2 'Universal Install' image and burning it to a CD-RW disk at the slowest write speed my burner tool can handle but the iMac doesn't seem to 'see' the disk. I know the tray (it's not a slot-load!) CD-ROM drive works as I was given an ancient copy of Star Wars Tie Fighter (the game) with it and the game runs fine and requires the CD to run.