Author Topic: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.  (Read 1124 times)

Offline tunedbytad

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
  • ProTools 5 addict
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 74
Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« on: September 06, 2022, 07:33:50 PM »
Trying new things, that may not pan out.
**Amazon return policy**

It has been mention here before.
But I cant find the post by "MacTron" I think

Attempting Raid 0 with 2x Samsung EVO870 SATA M.2

via

https://www.startech.com/en-us/hdd/25s22m2ngffr
https://media.startech.com/cms/pdfs/25s22m2ngffr_datasheet.pdf



How do I get the drive setup / formatted?


Hi, My name is Tad
I have a PMG4 problem
aka tunedbytad aka ProTools4 aka NotoriouSS

Offline refinery

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 5
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2022, 08:11:13 PM »
Looks like there's a series of three switches on the board for selecting raid mode... Probably just a matter of formatting like usual once the switches are set to the mode you want to use.
got my mind on my scsi and my scsi on my mind

Offline tunedbytad

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
  • ProTools 5 addict
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 74
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2022, 10:13:17 PM »
I set the dip switched to Raid 0
via .J4=On  J5=ON  J6=Off/1

then went to Drive Setup in OS9
showed only one drive
the TWO!! 256GB drives showed as ONE 500ish GB drive.....

it seems like it should be one 256ish drive after Raid Zero?

https://sgcdn.startech.com/005329/media/sets/25S22M2NGFFR_Manual/25S22M2NGFFR_RAID_adapter_quick_start_guide.pdf
Hi, My name is Tad
I have a PMG4 problem
aka tunedbytad aka ProTools4 aka NotoriouSS

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4014
  • just a number
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 223
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2022, 02:57:30 AM »
(i know that you are only trying things out but) what are those cases good for? isnt one SSD already much faster than SATA 600? and arenīt 2 smaller ones usually more expensive than one bigger one?
 
 
Quote
it seems like it should be one 256ish drive after Raid Zero?

no, 0 is striping. what you want is SPAN/NONRAID/LINEAR.

insert arbitrary signature here

Offline refinery

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 5
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2022, 09:22:13 AM »
You're going to hit the speed limit of sata-I basically instantly with a drive like this, BUT, what you will see is a massive increase in IOps. This will not be noticable in things like Finder copy operations, but where you will see a benefit is in simultaneous IO, like you could record 24 streams in a daw, toggle over to finder and copy an ISO, and it won't skip a beat.


Having the drive show up as 500gb is normal for RAID0. If your intention is maximum throughput, that's the one you want.
got my mind on my scsi and my scsi on my mind

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4014
  • just a number
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 223
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2022, 02:49:51 PM »
what you will see is a massive increase in IOps. This will not be noticable in things like Finder copy operations, but where you will see a benefit is in simultaneous IO, like you could record 24 streams in a daw, toggle over to finder and copy an ISO, and it won't skip a beat

hm, i am not sure if i understand. you can record 24 tracks with any IDE drive from the 90ies.

modern SSDs have like 1-2 million IOps and for 24 input operations, lets assume you write hilarious small chunks of only 2kb, you hardly need 1000. the PCI interface alone would limit those millions to thousands.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2022, 03:07:37 PM by IIO »
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline tunedbytad

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
  • ProTools 5 addict
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 74
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2022, 05:39:00 PM »
Agreed, 1000Hp Corvette is not needed to get groceries.
Better trade it in for a Minivan

The spirit of this thread and my involvement on this forum is pushing my OS9 system past 2022.

I attempt to not to fault others *esp here* for there attachment to nostalgia over performance and productivity.,
this site can be about both
Hi, My name is Tad
I have a PMG4 problem
aka tunedbytad aka ProTools4 aka NotoriouSS

Offline tunedbytad

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
  • ProTools 5 addict
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 74
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2022, 05:50:57 PM »
You're going to hit the speed limit of sata-I basically instantly with a drive like this,

very likely
Hi, My name is Tad
I have a PMG4 problem
aka tunedbytad aka ProTools4 aka NotoriouSS

Offline refinery

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 5
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2022, 10:38:24 PM »
You're going to hit the speed limit of sata-I basically instantly with a drive like this,

very likely

All the more reason to do it then :D
got my mind on my scsi and my scsi on my mind

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 4014
  • just a number
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 223
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2022, 11:55:06 PM »
when i thought a moment about this product i was wondering what happens when you run it in jbod mode and put 2x2TB inside.

would the sonnet / silicon image cards fully support port multiplier? or is that an AHCI-only thing?
 
 
edit: no, wait, it of course requires port multiplier support already for its raid modes to work. let me know if my question is still open.^^
« Last Edit: September 08, 2022, 12:12:14 AM by IIO »
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline tunedbytad

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
  • ProTools 5 addict
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 74
Re: Hardware based SATA Raid 0 . Help me try dumb stuff.
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2022, 08:21:43 PM »
turns out this device in RAID0 is slower than "the king" EVO 870 SSD format
Hi, My name is Tad
I have a PMG4 problem
aka tunedbytad aka ProTools4 aka NotoriouSS

 


SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal