Author Topic: Logic 4, 5, and 6  (Read 10249 times)

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Logic 4, 5, and 6
« on: February 10, 2014, 09:24:32 AM »
I don't know whether to use Logic V4, 5, or 6. 6 seems like my best bet because it has the Space Designer plugin where I can use convolution reverbs. The problem however is that I'll need to find a copy of it somewhere with the USB key.

V4 seems to use the older key, and V5, V6 as well as V7 use a USB key. I've read in two places now where they said the V7-licensed USB key allows you to use V6 and V5 since the V7 license is backward compatible. Is that true?

If so that makes things easier. Just buy a V7 key and use an older version.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 01:20:50 PM »
i have read something to that effect aswell.
and if it works - it would be great..
but i would urge you to wait untill we get someone here to confirm this..
i can tell u that the 6 key authorizes both 6 + 5 (for both mac + windows(v5.5))
so the fact that the 7 key may authorize 7,6 + 5 would seem consistant

we can provide the software installers if someone with a logic 7 xskey will step forward to test this theory!


Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 05:14:20 PM »
I may be the one to have to do that eventually. Hopefully we can get someone to confirm in the meantime.

How would you compare 4, 5 and 6 chris? They all look similar but 6 has the most features and is more graphically intense. I wonder if that makes it slower?

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1575
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 08:36:53 PM »
It would be great if someone could verify the Apple branded white Logic 7 Key theory... that it will work for Logic 5 & 6.

My Emagic branded Logic Platinum 6 black XS Key shows authorized for "Logic Platinum 6" and "Logic Platinum 5" and it will run all version updates thru 6.3.1. 

The Apple Logic Pro Update 6.4.3 for OS 9 shows that my key will only run it in "Demo Mode"... so I am assuming that is the first version to need a white XS key... for now 6.3.1 seem to be the last rev for an original black/blue XS Key.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2014, 08:46:45 PM by chrisNova777 »

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2014, 06:24:05 AM »
I have a blue xkey with 5,6 and 7. Bought for 6 and upgraded to 7
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2014, 06:42:15 AM »
I'm wondering if it's that you have to have a 5/6 license to start with, then upgrade to 7. The 5/6 license is still there.

However I read that Apple support mentioned buying a completely new retail copy of 7 and that it would work.

I'm going to have to snag one off Ebay. I hope I don't waste my $$$

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2014, 06:55:00 AM »
well lets find out from another member first... look before u leap;)

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2014, 07:09:25 AM »
I just realized, I'm going to need the installers! Are the installers/updates for 6 available?

Up until a certain point Logic was Platinum. It wasn't until version 6.4 that it was called Logic Pro. The Pro version 6.4 introduced their plugins for free (I think) so it's a hefty update.

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2014, 07:34:04 AM »
http://download.solodrivers.com/gestor_downloads/helpdrv/Tarjetas-de-sonido/Emagic/ (click on first few folders)

http://www.ftpdir.hu/ftp.apple.com/emagic/ - doesn't work but can be used as a reference.

Maybe grab some of these and store them for posterity!

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2014, 07:54:35 AM »
look at the file size - those are just updates not full installers i think?
i just uploaded logic 5 for osx (from original dvd install media)
didnt think there was a osx version of 5 but apparently there was!
http://www.macos9lives.com/downloads/public you can (temporarily) get it here
im looking for people with xskeys to test it

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2014, 09:14:13 AM »

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2014, 11:00:08 AM »
yes thats logic 6.3.1 for osx .. probably platinum..

but regardless.. u dont need to worry about finding them on strange sites..
we have the original discs.. + updates;)
we just need to figure out if the 7 keys with auth 5 + 6

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1575
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2014, 01:48:52 PM »
I have a blue xkey with 5,6 and 7. Bought for 6 and upgraded to 7

Protools5LEGuy... just to clarify (I could be wrong on this), but I am assuming your original Blue/black XS Key was purchased with Logic 6 (as you mentioned) and also under Emagic, and then when you upgraded to 7 (apple version) the XS Key servers were still online (now at apple) and added the 7 Authorization to your existing key...

So... to clarify... Now all the Key servers have been offline for a few years and there is no way to add anymore Keys to an existing XS Key; so the real question is...

Is there a an XS Key (such as Logic 7), that came out of the Box per-authorized for Logic 5,6, & 7 (or a combination); my key came per-authorized with Platinum 5 & 6...

all replies are welcome :)


also.. Syntho.. the Blue/Black Emagic keys go up to 6.3.1 for OS9 only (Unless a license was added later) and they will not do the 6.4 Update (the Logic Pro version for OS 9)... as I mentioned mine says "Demo Mode" and not authorized with 6.4.  You are right the "Pro" version has all the soft syths & samplers included... the emagic 6.3.1 version does not.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 01:59:47 PM by DieHard »

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2014, 02:42:26 PM »


Protools5LEGuy... just to clarify (I could be wrong on this), but I am assuming your original Blue/black XS Key was purchased with Logic 6 (as you mentioned) and also under Emagic, and then when you upgraded to 7 (apple version) the XS Key servers were still online (now at apple) and added the 7 Authorization to your existing key...

So... to clarify... Now all the Key servers have been offline for a few years and there is no way to add anymore Keys to an existing XS Key; so the real question is...

Is there a an XS Key (such as Logic 7), that came out of the Box per-authorized for Logic 5,6, & 7 (or a combination); my key came per-authorized with Platinum 5 & 6...

all replies are welcome :)


also.. Syntho.. the Blue/Black Emagic keys go up to 6.3.1 for OS9 only (Unless a license was added later) and they will not do the 6.4 Update (the Logic Pro version for OS 9)... as I mentioned mine says "Demo Mode" and not authorized with 6.4.  You are right the "Pro" version has all the soft syths & samplers included... the emagic 6.3.1 version does not.
I am not the original buyer. I received Logic with two boxes as a gift. One white emagic 6 upgrade and another Apple logic for 7. In the xskey there was lots of numbers in small papers (I suppose for selling/transfering). It can run 5, two 6.x (emagic and Apple) and 7.0.1but not 7.1 (universal)
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2014, 03:23:45 PM »
as I mentioned mine says "Demo Mode" and not authorized with 6.4.  You are right the "Pro" version has all the soft syths & samplers included... the emagic 6.3.1 version does not.

u would have had to pay an upgrade fee to get from 6.3 -> 6.4 i imagine most would have for what they got out of it!

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2014, 07:21:13 PM »
How long will it be before someone confirms this? I'm anxious to get my setup working  :)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2014, 07:26:17 PM »
I don't know whether to use Logic V4, 5, or 6. 6 seems like my best bet because it has the Space Designer plugin where I can use convolution reverbs. The problem however is that I'll need to find a copy of it somewhere with the USB key.

V4 seems to use the older key, and V5, V6 as well as V7 use a USB key. I've read in two places now where they said the V7-licensed USB key allows you to use V6 and V5 since the V7 license is backward compatible. Is that true?

If so that makes things easier. Just buy a V7 key and use an older version.
Space Designer come with logic 6 Pro or Apple Logic 6.x and 7.
Logic 5 had another reverb, Platinumverb
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2014, 07:33:48 PM »
It would be great if someone could verify the Apple branded white Logic 7 Key theory... that it will work for Logic 5 & 6.

My Emagic branded Logic Platinum 6 black XS Key shows authorized for "Logic Platinum 6" and "Logic Platinum 5" and it will run all version updates thru 6.3.1. 

The Apple Logic Pro Update 6.4.3 for OS 9 shows that my key will only run it in "Demo Mode"... so I am assuming that is the first version to need a white XS key... for now 6.3.1 seem to be the last rev for an original black/blue XS Key.
EPIC plugs had passed  the demo on my xskey. The rest, OS9 sees as fully functional, but on OSX, the TDM bridge sees itself as demo, while works ok on OS9(?). My xskey is for pro/platinum product  and has EXS24, ES1and2 and the rhodes and the hammond ones
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2014, 07:37:44 PM »
How long will it be before someone confirms this? I'm anxious to get my setup working  :)
Comfirm what?
Logic Platinum 6 was a paid upgrade for 5 users. Logic pro (>=6.3.x) was a paid upgrade for Logic 6 users. Logic 7 was a paid upgrade for 6.x users. Logic 7.1 (universal) was a paid upgrade for Logic 7.0.x users.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2014, 08:10:12 PM »
We know that a key with a 6 license will allow you to use 5, but we don't know that if a key with strictly a Pro 7 license will allow you to use either 5 or 6. DieHard and I were wondering this.

I've read in a couple different places where an Apple tech said that if your 5/6 key breaks, you can buy a brand new Logic pro 7 XS Key and it'll allow you to use versions 5 and 6.

That's what we're waiting on confirmation for. We've read it, but we haven't had someone test it directly (at least recently). There are a few copies on Ebay and I'm about to bite the bullet and test it myself unless someone else can confirm it for us,
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 08:12:00 PM by Syntho »

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2014, 04:43:34 AM »
So, the question is
Will a white xskey open logic 5?
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2014, 04:56:48 AM »
We need to be slightly more specific though. We know that a white one that has been upgraded with multiple licenses (5+6+7 or 6+7) will work, but will a 7-only work is the question.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2014, 06:04:25 AM »
surely we must have a member who has the white key.. and can download logic 5 or 6 to test...
who has a white xskey???????????????

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2014, 06:16:18 AM »
I'm trying to acquire one. It may or may not be strictly a v.7 licensed key. I'll report back though.

Offline Jone

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • new to the forums
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2014, 02:34:03 PM »
Hi
I have logic 7 xskey (white one)witch came in box and can test it next week when i get my G4 mdd

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2014, 03:07:07 PM »
You can actually test Logic version 5 on Windows XP through 7 (has to be a 32bit OS version though). If you've got an OSX machine you can also test 6. We've got the installers floating around.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 03:10:04 PM by Syntho »

Offline Jone

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • new to the forums
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #26 on: February 17, 2014, 12:13:57 PM »
I did test today logic 5 and 6.4.3 on OS 9 and those work with white xskey. Is there somewhere full image of logic 6.X ? Some of the plugin guis didn't work well  on 6 and i think it was because i installed only update version

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #27 on: February 17, 2014, 12:36:14 PM »
Contact Diehard. He has the original 6.x version. I believe he has the older Emagic Logic 6 version, but there's most likely an update floating around for 6.4.3.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #28 on: February 17, 2014, 12:41:32 PM »
i have a question regarding osx versions of logic while we are on this topic.. can u run the early osx logic pro versions (6.4 or 7.0) on 10.5.x Leopard operating system?
i would think it would work ... i had a copy of cubase LE 1.x for panther/tiger and it worked fine on leopard up untill update 10.5.4, if u went past 10.5.5 it gave an error on start up..
perhaps its similar with logic? if anyone has experience. please post;) thanks  -afro-

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #29 on: February 17, 2014, 02:23:25 PM »
so if im to understand here correctly to get logic 6.4 pro working with all plugins (as everyone here wants)

1. u need a white XS key for logic pro 7 (any version, academic or not)
2. u need the logic pro 6.4 installer dvd

and enabler has said he has #2? which would make this whole using 1) for 2) thing possible?

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #30 on: February 17, 2014, 02:55:33 PM »
As long as you've got a white XS Key, you're good. You just need the installers. That's as far as I'm aware.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #31 on: February 17, 2014, 03:01:30 PM »

heres whats on my volume 8 cd

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #32 on: February 17, 2014, 03:07:24 PM »
What is that? What did it come with? Get that on the FTP! I put some files there today myself.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #33 on: February 17, 2014, 03:22:08 PM »
its the logic audio platinum 6 cd installer

Offline Enabler

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #34 on: February 17, 2014, 04:04:32 PM »
Hi Guys
The complete Logic OS9 Anthology is uploaded to the ftp site
It's a Zip file that contains Disk Images of every major OS9 release Version 1 to 6 and all updaters including:
1) Logic Pro 6.4.1 Master CD
2) Logic Pro 6.4.2 OS9 Updater
3) Logic Pro 6.4.3 OS9 Updater
4) Logic Pro Documentation

It's called Logic Audio Anthology.zip
ChrisNova777 Did you get this?

Online Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #35 on: February 18, 2014, 07:48:16 AM »
I see it. I grabbed it a while ago actually.

Hey Chris, am I correct to assume that most of the stuff on that 6 Platinum installation can be run only in demo mode? You've got the TDM stuff on there and I thought that that wasn't included until 6.4 or so. I would also think that Space Designer, EXS24 an so on had demo versions available on there.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #36 on: February 18, 2014, 08:32:55 AM »
syntho:
give us a few.. Enabler,diehard & myself are dealing with some technical difficulties but we will have it all sorted shortly  -afro-

Offline coachla

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #37 on: June 25, 2014, 04:40:56 AM »
I have XSkeys for 7.1 (full version) which runs 7.0, 6 and 5 and also for 7.0 (Academic version) which runs 6 and 5. Just a note about 4.7: You can run it, as I have for 15 years now, with a 2.0 hardware serial dongle and and Imate USB adapter. A dongle emulator will also work for 4.7, however if you're using a KVM you have disengage it when switching (it still may randomly freeze the CPU on you).

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #38 on: June 25, 2014, 05:40:44 AM »
I have XSkeys for 7.1 (full version) which runs 7.0, 6 and 5 and also for 7.0 (Academic version) which runs 6 and 5. Just a note about 4.7: You can run it, as I have for 15 years now, with a 2.0 hardware serial dongle and and Imate USB adapter. A dongle emulator will also work for 4.7, however if you're using a KVM you have disengage it when switching (it still may randomly freeze the CPU on you).

pretty sure we had a post inquriing about that from "mat" a member here, he posted pics of hte ADB dongle...

yep heres the thread:
http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?topic=475.0

Offline coachla

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #39 on: June 25, 2014, 06:19:14 AM »
Sorry, I meant to say my version 2.0 ADB dongle will run Logic 4.7

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #40 on: April 22, 2017, 03:25:22 PM »
Is there a list with everything emagic used to sell somewhere?  Looking mainly for the soft synths,  my xskey seems to have all auth keys but my cds dont come with everything.

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #41 on: April 22, 2017, 03:32:04 PM »
Check http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/topic,556.0.html

It were discussed here. A post about USB blue XSkey and White (Apple) one.

About the software, check http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/topic,811.msg20047.html#msg20047 for enabler`s anthology
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #42 on: April 22, 2017, 03:36:33 PM »
Only need a list with every soft instrument that was made by EMAGIC.

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #43 on: April 22, 2017, 03:39:23 PM »
From memory:
EXS 24 (Sampler)

EVP 88 (Electric piano/rhodes)

ES-1 (Synth)

Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #44 on: April 22, 2017, 03:50:58 PM »
From my XsKey running Logic 6.4.3
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #45 on: April 22, 2017, 04:12:41 PM »
I only miss one TDM plug in my XsKey. And that one was the one Knezzen was asking for on the blue/white XsKey post.

It would be great if someone could verify the Apple branded white Logic 7 Key theory... that it will work for Logic 5 & 6.

My Emagic branded Logic Platinum 6 black XS Key shows authorized for "Logic Platinum 6" and "Logic Platinum 5" and it will run all version updates thru 6.3.1. 

The Apple Logic Pro Update 6.4.3 for OS 9 shows that my key will only run it in "Demo Mode"... so I am assuming that is the first version to need a white XS key... for now 6.3.1 seem to be the last rev for an original black/blue XS Key.
EPIC plugs had passed  the demo on my xskey. The rest, OS9 sees as fully functional, but on OSX, the TDM bridge sees itself as demo, while works ok on OS9(?). My xskey is for pro/platinum product  and has EXS24, ES1and2 and the rhodes and the hammond ones

Better to quote me years ago
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Metrophage

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #46 on: August 20, 2018, 02:53:45 AM »
I've got the white Apple dongle for Logic 7 EDU, and I can confirm that mine authorizes 5 and 6 for Mac - BUT NOT 5 on Windows. I used it mostly with 6 and love that it includes all of the instruments and effects that were still sold separately under Emagic. I also wound up with a blue dongle that's just got a Logic TDM key all by itself, and I use that one to run SoundDiver 3.1.

Offline macStuff

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 826
  • www.oldschooldaw.com
    • www.oldschooldaw.com
Re: Logic 4, 5, and 6
« Reply #47 on: August 20, 2018, 08:00:36 AM »
i haev both the blue emagic key + the white apple key
im pertty sure my blue emagic key works for windows for v5.x
aka chrisNova777 aka superNova777 aka geforceG4 | >>> http://www.oldschooldaw.com