Classic Mac OS Software (Discussions on Applications) > Hacking the System, Mac OS 9.3, and Beyond !

Alternative Idea: MacOS 9 Subsystem for Linux

(1/4) > >>

cybernetix:
I'm a professional developer and have been dabbling with C and reverse engineering (I'm still learning this skill). All versions of MacOS prior to MacOS X have always been nostalgic and interesting to me despite being a Windows developer most of my life. Reviewing the forum has been a sea of knowledge and the work that has been done thus far is excellent and I commend everyone who is contributing.

I had an idea that might have some merit and thought to share to get some feedback.

What if we wrote a sandbox app for Linux that provided an emulated environment (for PPC/86k code) to execute MacOS 9 apps but the sandbox app acted as an abstraction layer between Macintosh Toolbox (all APIs within) and Linux (mapping API calls to the respective system components such as graphics, audio, networking, input, etc). Linux supports HFS+ as a file system so data/resource forks can be supported natively. I imagine you could mount a HFS+ volume in Linux, have it run the sandbox at boot time and then you're immediately in Finder accessing apps just like MacOS 9.2.2. Finder would be making calls to paint the screen via Macintosh Toolbox and in turn they would be translated to paint calls to X server (for example). The sandbox emulator would handle translating PPC/86k code into the host instruction set and in theory as long as Macintosh Toolbox was abstracted correctly the apps would run like normal.

Linux already has a breadth of hardware support even on old Apple hardware. By creating an abstraction layer we negate having to build support around a set hardware and focus purely on getting apps to work. It also opens doors to running MacOS 9 apps on other hardware (given how portable C/C++ is and leveraging Linux kernel).