Author Topic: Control Strip a little too high.  (Read 382 times)

Offline lepidotos

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 73
Control Strip a little too high.
« on: November 14, 2021, 09:05:51 PM »
I guess this might have happened while I was using Virtual PC, but the Control Strip is resting a little too high up the screen, and moves to keep its spot even if I switch resolutions. It's really strange and kinda distracting.

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 3512
  • just a number
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 140
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2021, 10:05:23 PM »
that comes from booting into smaller resolutions and i have no idea how to fix this other than deleting its prefs.
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline DrNo7

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 36
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 30
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2021, 10:08:00 PM »
Instinctively, I would say: grab the control strip with a command+click to move it around.
I will play around on my Ti tonight to confirm the proper combo ;)
Ti 1 GHz / 1 GB / FW SSD / Airport Extreme PCMCIA (triple boot)
Alu 12 1.5GHz / 1.5 GB / 256 GB mSata SSD (dual boot for now)

Offline FBz

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 318
  • Fury-Fungus FdB/FBz
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 54
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2021, 12:29:35 AM »
Option, click, hold and drag. ;)

Offline lepidotos

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 73
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2021, 10:07:07 PM »
that comes from booting into smaller resolutions and i have no idea how to fix this other than deleting its prefs.
How? I tried option+drag, but that didn't work. Do I delete the control strip control panel?

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 3512
  • just a number
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 140
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2021, 02:39:04 AM »
control strip preferences in preferences folder. or monitor preferences, cant remember. then reboot.

it went away from me when i once switched from CRTs to flat panels. since then, the quicksilver boots right into 1920*1200
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline FBz

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 318
  • Fury-Fungus FdB/FBz
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 54
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2021, 03:50:41 AM »
Apple / Mac keyboard? (Or “other”?)

Holding down the Option key and moving the mouse pointer anywhere over the Control Strip, should change the pointer icon to a “hand” icon… signifying “grab - grasp” etc.



THEN click on the end tab and hold mouse down AND drag the control strip to where you want it. Keep your finger on the Option key when you click and don’t release until the Control Strip is in new position.

If for some strange reason you can’t get it to move / re-locate OR see the hand icon… then you can choose to “hide" the CS completely via its Control panel.

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 3512
  • just a number
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 140
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2021, 12:38:37 PM »
the day when i found out that i thought have tried everything in mac os using "alt" but obviously forgot one thing.
insert arbitrary signature here

Offline lepidotos

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 73
Re: Control Strip a little too high.
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2021, 09:09:32 PM »
Apple / Mac keyboard? (Or “other”?)

Holding down the Option key and moving the mouse pointer anywhere over the Control Strip, should change the pointer icon to a “hand” icon… signifying “grab - grasp” etc.



THEN click on the end tab and hold mouse down AND drag the control strip to where you want it. Keep your finger on the Option key when you click and don’t release until the Control Strip is in new position.

If for some strange reason you can’t get it to move / re-locate OR see the hand icon… then you can choose to “hide" the CS completely via its Control panel.
Ah, that explains it, I was clicking on the wrong tab. And yes, it was a stock Apple keyboard, though I can (try to, it's annoyingly finnicky) lift it out of the iBook to make sure.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal