Author Topic: A Problem with Pro Tools TDM with multiple Mix Cards  (Read 2657 times)

Online d97

• Enthusiast Member
A Problem with Pro Tools TDM with multiple Mix Cards
« on: July 16, 2020, 07:35:11 AM »
Hi everybody - I am really hoping that somebody can help me out here.  I am new to Pro Tools TDM (this year, in fact) so I really know nothing about troubleshooting, etc..  My previous experience was with DP & Logic in my OS9 days.

I have two Mix Cards and two DSP farm cards and one five-connection ribbon cable.  Both Mix cards work and both mix cards can talk to my two DSP farm cards.  When I hook all four cards up together, Pro Tools refuses to launch.  It asks me to make sure my hardware is connected and ... well, whenever I hit continue, the message comes back up.  Cancelling is my only option.

This happens under OS9 and OSX.  What makes it a little more weird is that at one time, both OS9 and OSX asked me to configure the cards and explain how they were hooked up, etc.  I am using one 882/20 interface and mark it as connected to the first of my mix cards.  After I do the configuration, I get the "Please attach your Pro Tools Hardware" message. 

I feel like I must be missing something very straightforward because the configuration tells me that Pro Tools can "see" the cards.  I do have another 882/20 Interface and could connect it to the second mix card but I don't think that should be necessary.

I have them configured in PCI slots as Mix,Mix, Farm, Farm.  I have tried them in a 1 ghz DP mirror door and a 466mhz Digital audio.

Any advice would be really appreciated.

D.

Offline Syntho

• Platinum Member
Re: A Problem with Pro Tools TDM with multiple Mix Cards
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2020, 09:02:27 PM »