Author Topic: Anyone know if we have any early OSX (Tiger) DAW software around? M-Audio  (Read 4422 times)

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 436
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Hi there, I was looking to do dual boot and I have a FW interface that unfortunately doesn't go far enough back to support OS9 but it will work under Tiger.  So I got to thinking about exploring early OSX DAW options and just wondered if anyone else out there might know of any resources for that.  Not trying to run the latest / greatest.. looking for the old and outdated.. but something that might work with the Interface I have. 

I'm afraid virtually all of the legit OSX software I have now that's modern is Intel only. 

Offline Philgood

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 390
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 19
Re: Anyone know if we have any early OSX (Tiger) DAW software around? M-Audio
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2020, 07:27:33 AM »
I use Cubase 4 for that but I think any big Player DAW has once worked under Tiger. What interface do you have ?
*G4 MDD 1.25GHz (Single 2003)* with 2x 80Gb harddrives, 1Gb RAM, Tascam US-428 and Edirol FA-101 USB/Firewire soundcards-*iMac G3 DV 400MHz* with installs from OS 8.6-OSX Tiger on different harddrives-*Powerbook G4 1.67Ghz* with new SSD ! Love it.

Offline dozuki

  • Member
  • Posts: 2
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Anyone know if we have any early OSX (Tiger) DAW software around? M-Audio
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2020, 07:44:48 PM »
Used to use this back in the day on my G4 iMac:

https://macintoshgarden.org/apps/cubase-le-108104-os-x-ppc

I'm sure there are a bunch of others, a little digginh should turn up whatever you want.

Offline d97

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Anyone know if we have any early OSX (Tiger) DAW software around? M-Audio
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2020, 07:54:39 AM »
One of the logics (7 express or 8 pro / express) should work.  I canít remember which one, though.  They are both serial-able.  All I know is that my pro 6.4.3 has the metronome crash but on tiger so I would think that 7 express should work.

Offline tdksa90

  • Member
  • Posts: 2
  • New Member
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Cockos REAPER v4.75 is the last version to work with Tiger. You can download it here:
http://reaper.fm/download-old.php?ver=4x

Offline Knezzen

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 815
  • Pro Tools addict!
    • Macintosh Garden
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Early versions of Logic 9 is Universal as well. I had it on my Quad G5 when I used it in the studio. Worked quite well. Pretty sure I used it under Tiger as well.
Otherwise Logic 8 is a safe bet. Used to use it on my MDD in Tiger all the time.

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 436
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Sorry I missed these replies!  I forgot the check the notify me of replies.  Thank you for these suggestions!   I recently got Digital Performer 5 to install on my G4 1.5ghz 12" Powerbook which is nice as I've been using DP3.11 on my OS9 system so it was nice to use something familiar..  however I also have been checking out other early software like Ableton and some version of early logic (one that needed a dongle emulator)

So yes things have evolved some.  I have an M-Audio Ozonic which I believe has leopard drivers and maybe Lion.  It must have been the device I was contemplating at the time..  I have a focusrite saffire as well which might have been under consideration as well, but having trouble finding legacy drivers for it on focusrites website..

but more recently since this original post, I got my hands on an M-Audio Profire 2626.  It definitely only goes as far back as Leopard.  So that's become my baseline for OSX..  It's been a bit of a struggle due to various factors from bad disks to bad memory to dvd drives not reading burned images etc..   but i'm getting there.

Thanks!
Caleb

Offline rvense

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
  • Lombard & son
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 3
I used Ableton Live up to version 6 or 7 under Tiger on my iBook G4 when that was my main machine, with a M-Audio Firewire Solo interface. That was a great setup.

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 436
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
nice yea i had a legit copy of Ableton 4 that i upgraded to 8.. i wonder if the old key still works for Ableton 4.. i'd assume not.  but maybe i should try. 

Offline rvense

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
  • Lombard & son
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 3
The keys are different for every version, but mine are all still in my Ableton profile on their site and I was able to re-register the old versions very recently.

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 436
  • new to the forums
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
nice yea i still have the s/n i just don't know if it pings a server or if the upgrade invalidated the old one.  will try soon, but first gotta get OSX Leopard installed..