Author Topic: anyone have experience with 3d print model design?  (Read 5475 times)

macStuff

anyone have experience with 3d print model design?
« on: May 12, 2019, 12:56:54 PM »
looking for someone who can help me achieve a hack for the Ikea Jerker desk to be able to add new shelves
using a 3d printed bracket to attach a new wood shelf cut to size; to attach to the side of the jerker desk/post
via an M6 bolt and then attach to the underside'/center of the shelf via wood screws

i have zero experience with 3d modelling (well since the 1990s)
im really surprised someoen else hasnt done this already theres lots of "ikea jerker" 3d models for other purposes to download
but noone has done the obvious shelf replacement bracket that im looking to get made

i have 4 of these ikea jerker desks, the can take 8mm metric casters on the bottom to make them rollable around the studio aswell
so its well worth the effort

if you arent familiar with the discontinued desk from ikea see here:
http://www.oldschooldaw.com/forums/index.php/topic,6285.msg8517.html#msg8517
they can still be bought second hand all over via craigslist/kijiji/etc

basic measurements :
6.1cm wide
1.7cm tall
7.5cm deep/length

jerker-attach hole locations:
#1 :edge of m6 bolt hole starts 6mm from left, 5mm from top, 8mm from btm
#2 :edge of m6 bolt hole starts 6mm from right, 5mm from top, 8mm from btm

shelf-attach hole locations:
#1: 5.3cm from jerker-attach side; 1.2cm from edge
#2: 5.3cm frm jerker-attach side; 1.2cm frm edge

heres some of the useful/usless other models that can be found for the desk:
https://www.yeggi.com/q/ikea+jerker/
(im still surprised noones made the obvious simple bracket to add shelves to the desk)
« Last Edit: May 12, 2019, 02:18:24 PM by macStuff »

macStuff

Re: anyone have experience with 3d print model design?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2019, 01:51:31 PM »
apparently there are resources to allow adding the proper metric threading to the hole