Author Topic: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts  (Read 1641 times)

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
So I reached out to the fine folks over at https://www.audioease.com/ as I had caught wind that they made a VST wrapper for Digital Performer 3.  I inquired about it and they gave me a copy of it with the promise of me sending some screenshots of it working :)

Now I have it installed and so far so good, but i'm trying to see about getting some vst plugins and so far it's been tough to find ".vst" files.  i see a lot of dmg / pkg files but these are setup for OSX..   when i view content within, i'm not finding any .vst files. 


Thanks,
Caleb

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2019, 09:36:26 AM »
i am not sure what you are trying to say, but in OS9 vstwrapper cant find the global VST plug-ins folder, because OS9 doesnt have one.

are you looking at the wrong manual, for v4? :)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2019, 09:56:09 AM »
i just have to tell the vst wrapper what folder to find the vst plugins in..   now i'm looking for actual whatever.vst plugins of that era to test and see if the wrapper works.  must plugins have installers these days.. installers for OSX..  installers that don't seem to have  *.vst files in them that would be recognized by the older stuff.

Offline rvense

  • Valued Member (10+ Posts)
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Lombard & son
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2019, 11:55:49 AM »
VST plugins are not cross-platform. The ones meant for OS X won't work on OS9.

There are many OS9 VSTs available on this site and the Macintosh Garden.

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2019, 12:15:59 PM »
ah ok good to know.. that's right..   cool i'll check garden.  been awhile since i've been there.  didn't know they host vst stuff, thought it was just apps.

Thanks!
Caleb

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
So good news for any DP3 users out there, I got the wrapper to work.  I found a small collection of TC vst plugins for OS9 that worked:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3k9mjdawb2xgy8t/IMG_1372.JPG?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t3dl0vpak9qiokr/IMG_1373.JPG?dl=0

now to figure out where the secret stash of vst audio plugins for OS9 is at..  I found some mac garden, but they all ended up being OSX..

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2019, 02:36:00 AM »
why would you think it might not work? it was a commercial product and every DP user had it. :)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2019, 04:47:57 AM »
Because the creator wasn't sure it would work. They were nice enough to give it to me asking me to take pics of it running.  Figured it would but sharing it more for folks who (like me) didn't know it even existed. 

Speaking of things I do remember, the pluggo stuff i found (that i do remember) is something i need to dig around for more.  The one I found was apparently unregistered which DP3 didn't like as it would crash it. 

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2019, 05:38:19 AM »
VST plug-ins under pluggo are a bit problematic in DP because of the parameter automation and the general instability of pluggo; vstwrapper works much better for that pupose.

only a few products like reaktor, kontakt, PPG and vanguard will be troublesome in both.

but it doesnt seems to make a difference for you atm. :P
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2019, 07:32:25 AM »
right i need the files in the first place.. the TC reverb alone is pretty awesome.  I remember using that one years back.  I know that DP3 doesn't support VST instruments or virtual instruments at all so that's a non issue. 

Also not sure if you realize it, but you're a bit of an ass.  I'm trying to contribute something to the community and share something and learn at the same time, but all i'm seeing from you are snarky side comments.  I'm not sure what I have done to deserve your negativity but I'd appreciate it if you'd take your $0.02 somewhere else. 

Just ignore my posts.  Go chat with apparently all the cool people who have all the answers and know everything there is to know about about 20 year old software and be cool with them. 

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
  • active member
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2019, 05:03:53 PM »
Here are the mda ones. All VST - no snark.

Offline dr bu

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • inconsistent soul
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2019, 06:09:37 PM »
mr double-one-o is the black sheep trickster in this community. unlike some prominent posters he is not known for taking himself too seriously.
i learned a lot of great trix from him - and i am not the only one.  :)
djupsinnig

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2019, 07:17:05 PM »
oh wow that's awesome!  I'm going to check these out ASAP!  :)

Those look really nice based on the titles! 

I was talking with FdB today also and I'm curious about the Diehard audio image.  As I understand it, it has a bunch of software already configured and I am wondering if that includes vst plugin

It would be great if this could become a thread that helps attract vst plugins in general.. not just for DP3 users but anyone looking for vst and mas plugins (i believe that's the format DP3 uses natively)


Thanks,
Caleb

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2019, 07:22:52 PM »
@Dr BU, I understand that and I get that he knows his stuff and I respect that and all that he's contributed.  Guys like him and many others helped make the forum the wealth of knowledge that it is today..  I just have been seeing a distinct trend not in just this post but several I've initiated where he's been condescending and look I'll be the first to admit what I don't know or when I could do something better next time, but yes I understand that's just how he is and I'll remember that moving forward. 

Thanks,
Caleb

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #14 on: April 24, 2019, 11:38:58 AM »
there is nothing wrong with beeing sensitive - or with not getting my humor.

but see, 1. hosting VST plug-ins for OS9 is one of the main purposes of this site, 2. you have been a member here for 3 years, and 3. someone above already told you that you can find here what you are looking for.

now you are still asking for a source. that is a bit irritating.

actually i wasnt even making fun of you. yesteraday i doublechecked if maybe the downlaod section is down or if you are eventually logged as guest...
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #15 on: April 24, 2019, 12:32:27 PM »
yea I understand..  Your points are valid.   Yea I was just noticing a trend of snarky responses to any post you were in on..  I get it though.  not everyone's sense of humor makes the right impression..  so it's ok.  I take back  the ass comment.. I was just venting.

I tried those sites and found many / virtually all of them were not OS9 plugins..  and some that were like pluggo.. at least the one i found so far.. was broken and messed up DP3..   I think I found another that will work.  has a s/n and what not, but i haven't tried it out yet. 

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #16 on: April 24, 2019, 12:53:18 PM »
i didnt mean to sound like they do in linux groups, but false politeness does not help either to save this planet. :)

which of these didnt work for you?

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/board,54.0.html

http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/board,53.0.html

"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #17 on: April 24, 2019, 01:09:06 PM »
well neither will save the planet unfortunately..  seems like it's beyond saving lately..

I didn't see those links in this thread above..  they must have been shared in another thread and I guess I missed that post completely..   looks good so far!  I'll dig in later tonight.  I have to sample an old one of these I got for $10 the other day..  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYUXB85gwJs   fun to make sampler patches for odd little quirky instruments like this. 

I'm also surprised to see that DP3 CAN do VST intruments.. I thought it was effects only.  So I'm going to have to try that out soon and see if it works.  I mean it makes sense, but seeing that a vst wrapper is needed and DP3 as far as I know didn't have any built in virtual instruments I just figured DP3 would have no way to handle instruments coming from a 3rd party wrapper. 

Thanks!
Caleb

Offline macStuff

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
    • oldschooldaw.com
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2019, 05:56:19 PM »
i plan on gettin back into some dp3 + logic 6 soon with my motu system
just waiting on finding another host card

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #19 on: April 25, 2019, 08:51:33 PM »
I've never used any other DAW beyond DP3 on OS9.  Logic could be interesting.  Only other DAW i've used is Ableton Live (currently running 8) and Garage Band..  oh and Cubase 3 for PC..  I liked Cubase 3..   I was turned off by Cubase VST because it seemed annoying that (at the time) I couldn't seem to figure out how to just record a track..  while Cubase 3 felt much more intuitive.  Still I've learned a lot since back then about music production so I'm definitely happy to give Cubase VST another go with an open mind to be more patient with it. 

I tried several older music production approaches like using my Amiga 1200 + MusicX + a Korg D-1600 via MTC, but that workflow was a bit too old school for me..  like reel to reel..  not for the analog warmth but if you've ever recorded with Reel to Reel like i have, you know it's kind of a clunky approach unless you're someone who plays your parts perfect first time..  I have to do a lot of re-takes so having a DAW that records digitally in the same environment as the midi and all together is much more preferable.. 

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #20 on: April 26, 2019, 08:46:06 AM »
recording, cueing, and the differentiation between tracks and channels - including three different audio tracks options (mono, stereo, any) - were often irritiating for people who came from a fostex 12 track or from protools.

it masters plug-in compatibility best and has nice nonrealtrime export. but it doesnt habe freeze like logic 6 and DP might have the better midi options.

choose one, it will always be wrong. :)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline part12studios

  • Gold Member (200+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • new to the forums
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #21 on: April 26, 2019, 08:58:34 AM »
yea i like DP.. but i really want to see if i can get unisyn to work in it.   seems like when i install it, it's looking for some kind of hardware usb clip or something proving the software is legit..  maybe there is a version that has a crack to work around it.   I would just love to have a library editor while I'm IN DP3.. to go into my JV1080 would be amazing.. it's not a fun synth to program on the hardware itself.. but it's an amazing sounding synth / rompler.   


Yea they are all tools.  Arguing which is best is like arguing which is better flat tip or philips..   DP3 is just like an old familiar friend that has been proven lately to be fairly easy to figure out..  one level of undo sucks ass.. but i have managed. 

DP3 has freeze?   I need to look into that.. I like freeze as it was something that Cubase SX had.  Layering plugins can eat cpu cycles..   with all of these plugins on OS9 to explore, I may need this more since all i've usually used is simple stuff like everb and compression..  everything else tends to be outboard stuff..

Offline macStuff

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
    • oldschooldaw.com
Re: VST wrapper for DP3 that I'm testing out, looking for audio vsts
« Reply #22 on: April 26, 2019, 04:29:15 PM »
a close friend of mine swears by the combination of DP + Nuendo
using Dp for a few of tis tricks up its sleeve that allow him to get his tracks together quicker into Nuendo