Author Topic: Guitar Tuner VST?  (Read 1943 times)

Offline neurocrash

  • Valued Member (10+ Posts)
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • New Member
Guitar Tuner VST?
« on: September 04, 2018, 01:15:06 AM »
Can anyone recommend a guitar tuner VST that is OS9 compatible?

I have a few analog synths that need to be tuned periodically, and it would be nice to do so without cabling.

Thanks!

Offline Astroman

  • Veteran Member (100+ Posts)
  • ****
  • Posts: 197
  • new to the forums
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2018, 12:57:53 PM »
any pitchcorrection plugin of the autune/melodyne type should do this ;)

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • new to the forums
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2018, 01:31:06 PM »
...as a workaround for the intense problem of having no tuner around :D

the 20 year old steinberg tuner should be available as "liberated" version, i´ll have a look tomorrow.

there are probably also some standalone utils, but i see how you prefer plugs.

p.s.
wasnt there a tuner app from matt ingalls?
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
  • active member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2018, 01:36:12 PM »
Can anyone recommend a guitar tuner VST that is OS9 compatible?

I have a few analog synths that need to be tuned periodically, and it would be nice to do so without cabling.
There are/were no specific 'guitar tuner" VSTs for OS9 that I'm aware of.
The only pitch correction VST that will give you a decent visible reading to tune by is Autotune. v 3.0 is in the VST EFX downloads.

Meanwhile, how on Earth are you going to tune an analog synth without cabling? I mean, you gotta plug it in to something, right?

Offline neurocrash

  • Valued Member (10+ Posts)
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • New Member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2018, 02:00:13 PM »
Hi,

I meant re-cabling.  I have one tuner but three unstable analog instruments. The other analogs have not been problematic.  All of my instruments are cabled to three MOTU 24 I/O audio interfaces, so there are only digital audio connections to the computer, and I'm not sure a stand alone tuner application will be able to communicate with these external interfaces. I want to be able to check tuning before every recording, preferably without pulling cables from the back of the racks.

Autotune sort of works, but if the oscillator is too out of tune it corrects to the next nearest step rather than showing I'm out of tune. This has strange results.

I've been meaning to try and install Cubase.  Wonder if the Tuner VST can be copied for use in Logic.

Thanks!

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • new to the forums
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2018, 05:17:40 PM »
i think its copy protected to work only with cubase. but we have a slightly modified version of it which is not. :)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • new to the forums
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2018, 05:49:05 PM »
hm, it is so old that it does not have that copy protection i am talking of. :)

but watch out, it requires the silly file in that folder.

and in host programs where this isnt required normally, you _must
place it (or at least that folder) inside /VstPlugIns .

otherwise it should work fine in logic (it does in max and melodyne)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • new to the forums
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2018, 05:53:04 PM »
There are/were no specific 'guitar tuner" VSTs for OS9 that I'm aware of.
The only pitch correction VST that will give you a decent visible reading to tune by is Autotune.

first guitar player who doesnt know what a guitar tuner is?

and no, you dont need to plug any cables in when you tune a guitar or piano.

or a synth for that matter :)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline WhiteWarlock

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • SynthWizards/N01ZE
    • SynthWizards
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2018, 07:42:29 PM »

not to be "Snarky" yet save your brain and use a "Snark"
they are so inexpensive anymore
buy multiple
(eye don't get any kickbacks from the company)
they rule for tuning
seriously
way better than VST tuner
my only gripe is wish they worked better with drum heads :P
(hmm ummm never even tried that... thanks on it now... will report back with results)

Offline WhiteWarlock

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • SynthWizards/N01ZE
    • SynthWizards
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2018, 08:10:40 PM »
no go on drums
must have tried it before thus the statement
see previous post

Offline neurocrash

  • Valued Member (10+ Posts)
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • New Member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2018, 08:28:56 PM »
hm, it is so old that it does not have that copy protection i am talking of. :)

but watch out, it requires the silly file in that folder.

and in host programs where this isnt required normally, you _must
place it (or at least that folder) inside /VstPlugIns .

otherwise it should work fine in logic (it does in max and melodyne)

It works fine in Logic 6 Pro which is what I am using.  My very out of tune Behringer Model D thanks you.

Cheers

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
  • active member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2018, 09:47:14 PM »
There are/were no specific 'guitar tuner" VSTs for OS9 that I'm aware of.
The only pitch correction VST that will give you a decent visible reading to tune by is Autotune.

first guitar player who doesnt know what a guitar tuner is?

and no, you dont need to plug any cables in when you tune a guitar or piano.

or a synth for that matter :)
As is SO often the case, one second you say something understandable and the next you just babble.

The man asked for a "guitar tuner" VST…NOT an app, NOT a clamp-on guitar tuner - a bloody VST
So what the f are YOU talking about?

And perhaps you would also be so kind as to explain how you do ANYthing with an analog synth without a cable.

Offline neurocrash

  • Valued Member (10+ Posts)
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • New Member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2018, 10:09:11 PM »
The synths are cabled, the problem is that there are about 150 cables in total and I don't want to be yanking on them every time the temperature changes in order to tune a few instruments. They all go into the computer for recording so why not also for tuning.

Offline WhiteWarlock

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • SynthWizards/N01ZE
    • SynthWizards
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2018, 12:32:22 AM »
So the Behringer D is completely unstable on tune & temperature?
Did Uli cheap out on quality stable "Thermistors" in the VCOs???
all of my old moogs are relatively stable with tune
you can listen by ear anyways before recording for tweaking pitch...

Offline WhiteWarlock

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • SynthWizards/N01ZE
    • SynthWizards
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2018, 12:51:04 AM »
https://www.macintoshrepository.org/14242-guitar-tuner
whatever works for you
remembered seeing this at mac repository
may you never touch a VCO pitch/scale/key range trimpot in your life
or tune acoustic drum heads with a synth/bass
or tune a zither/harp/piano
obviously not a vst
yet you can make it work with routing interface inputs or...
use speaker monitor outputs with room microphone input for tuning your synths with this program
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 01:42:10 AM by WhiteWarlock »

Offline neurocrash

  • Valued Member (10+ Posts)
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • New Member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2018, 02:20:33 AM »
So the Behringer D is completely unstable on tune & temperature?
Did Uli cheap out on quality stable "Thermistors" in the VCOs???
all of my old moogs are relatively stable with tune
you can listen by ear anyways before recording for tweaking pitch...

I just got the Model D a few days ago.  I found that the initially suggested 15 minute warmup time is optimistic, as it takes about 30 minutes to stabilize according to the tech support tuning video.

I'm also in a hotter than normal climate where it's 80f/26.6c at night this time of year, which is likely different from conditions at the factory.

For me, the main oscillator is a bit flat so the knob is turned to the right a bit, then the other oscillators have to be adjusted accordingly.  The bigger issue is probably that the tuning knobs are extremely touchy, so it is challenging to get the tune exactly at 0 cents. 

I'll see what happens when things cool down again, and if the center is still off, there is a tuning procedure that involves taking the board out and individually tuning each oscillator on the board itself. I had to do the same with my 1984/85 Crumar Bit One keyboards, as the oscillators have tuning pots on the PCB and they are oldddd. Either it is too hot here or the Model D wasn't tuned precisely enough for my tastes at the factory, but it's manageable to get a Moogy sound for $300

The tuning VST is going to make my life a lot easier.

Cheers

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1665
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2018, 08:13:36 AM »
Quote
The tuning VST is going to make my life a lot easier.

Cheers

Diehard eats one of his wife's Gluten-free muffins (that tastes like total crap wrapped in cardboard) with his coffee, and gets entertained as the topic meanders around... but in the end, the goal is accomplished, good job guys :)

Offline WhiteWarlock

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • SynthWizards/N01ZE
    • SynthWizards
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2018, 08:33:26 AM »
just had cup of coffee filled with gluten free Fruity Pebbles...
reflecting on his dilemma
when it popped in my head that maybe someone made basic tuner in MAX/MSP using PLUGGO
or he could beg someone around here for slapping such a utility together
~shrug~
it's super hot here at night
don't be afraid to tweak a main pitch knob on analog synths before recording
Eye am freak anymore about making sure tracks are in tune when composing
rather than "decomposing"
BTW have pitch corrected by ear more than enough recorded tracks
post realizing they were fucked up and out of overall pitch
that's just the nature of the game especially when using "real instruments"

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • new to the forums
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2018, 04:52:56 PM »
Quote
The man asked for a "guitar tuner" VST…NOT an app, NOT a clamp-on guitar tuner - a bloody VST
So what the f are YOU talking about?

right, the man asked for a guitar tuner. and as far as i remember i am the only one in this thread who was talking about a guitar tuner VST, too.

right after i mentioned it, you claimed it wouldnt exist.

i know that it is out of fashion to stay on topic in these days, but when you now cant any longer follow the thread, this is not my fault.

it is not my problem either. :D

Quote
And perhaps you would also be so kind as to explain how you do ANYthing with an analog synth without a cable.

if you want to tune an instrument you run a tuner and then you play the instrument. there does not need to be any kind of cable connection at all between the two. you could even use different mixers and different speakers for the synth and the DAW where the tuner runs.

if a "connection" would be required between a tuner and an instrument, it would be impossible to tune acoustic guitars and pianos, dont you think. want me to make a drawing?

and i dont think you need to explain an owner of a modularsynth that you also need cables to operate it. he has probably already unboxed it and connected it using cables. but tuning can be done without. :)

soooo... this was the beginners lesson for today. tomorrow we can talk about "strings" on a guitar and how to use them without autotune, just ask.

hth
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline neurocrash

  • Valued Member (10+ Posts)
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • New Member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #19 on: September 05, 2018, 05:45:57 PM »
When I said "without cabling", what I should have said was "without re-cabling".

Thanks

Offline WhiteWarlock

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • SynthWizards/N01ZE
    • SynthWizards
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2018, 07:11:01 PM »
beware
using tuner with modular may result in notes and scales and actual compositions
that can get your wigglin' license suspended/revoked
you are just supposed to turn it on stand back then wiggle some knobs
and your elite modules pretty much do everything
phuk a Sduck :P
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 11:44:46 PM by WhiteWarlock »

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
  • active member
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #21 on: September 05, 2018, 09:49:22 PM »
Quote
The man asked for a "guitar tuner" VST…NOT an app, NOT a clamp-on guitar tuner - a bloody VST
So what the f are YOU talking about?

right, the man asked for a guitar tuner. and as far as i remember i am the only one in this thread who was talking about a guitar tuner VST, too.

right after i mentioned it, you claimed it wouldnt exist.

i know that it is out of fashion to stay on topic in these days, but when you now cant any longer follow the thread, this is not my fault.

it is not my problem either. :D

Quote
And perhaps you would also be so kind as to explain how you do ANYthing with an analog synth without a cable.

if you want to tune an instrument you run a tuner and then you play the instrument. there does not need to be any kind of cable connection at all between the two. you could even use different mixers and different speakers for the synth and the DAW where the tuner runs.

if a "connection" would be required between a tuner and an instrument, it would be impossible to tune acoustic guitars and pianos, dont you think. want me to make a drawing?

and i dont think you need to explain an owner of a modularsynth that you also need cables to operate it. he has probably already unboxed it and connected it using cables. but tuning can be done without. :)

soooo... this was the beginners lesson for today. tomorrow we can talk about "strings" on a guitar and how to use them without autotune, just ask.

hth
I'm going to deal with this once, and once only. You, Mr. IIO are a fucking asshole…period. I've suspected it for a long time but I've always given you the benefit of the doubt, especially when you were going around and around with Mr. Nova. But no more.

1) Neurocrash asked it there was a VST guitar tuner.

2) Within 5 minutes of each other, I said no, I don't know of one, I mentioned Autotune and HE had no trouble understanding me.
     You said "the 20 year old steinberg tuner should be available as "liberated" version, I´ll have a look tomorrow. there are probably also some standalone utils, but i see how you prefer plugs.

3) You then decided to begin throwing shade all over the place about "guitar players who don't know what a tuner is" etc.

4) I also said "How are you going to tune a synth without cabling? HE answered "I meant RE-cabling" Again…no misunderstanding there.
  You said: "if a "connection" would be required between a tuner and an instrument, it would be impossible to tune acoustic guitars and pianos, dont you think. want me to make a drawing?"……More uncalled for bullshit insult

Nobody was talking about acoustic guitars, piano, or anything other than electronic analog synths. Except of course, you.
The only drawing I can think of to put here would be you with your head up your ass.


So, having noted all of that:   Fuck your "beginners lessons" and especially, fuck you.

Offline WhiteWarlock

  • Enthusiast Member (25+ Posts)
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • SynthWizards/N01ZE
    • SynthWizards
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #22 on: September 06, 2018, 01:16:45 AM »
MAX/MSP hint:
if you wanted to build your own tuner I recommend looking for the [fiddle~] and [pitch~] objects.
They are not included in the standard max distribution but if you search maxobjects.com for them you will be able to find them
then make some VST thingy with PLUGGO
https://drumbot.com/projects/guitar_tuner/
http://besttuneronline.com/en/
http://www.tunerr.com/
bottom line is really whatever you can make work as your solution
otherwise...
create your own Mac Classic OS VST chromatic tuner utility
searched... can't find any
or you can just use some Mac Classic OS VSTi
or a digital synth
then match tuning pitch "zero crossing" by ear
~shrug~


Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2083
  • keep it simple
Re: Guitar Tuner VST?
« Reply #23 on: September 06, 2018, 10:16:37 AM »
mda TestTone VST can generate a tone of any audible frequency, I use it for many things, it's sounds can be used a reference frequency for tuning anything.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.