Author Topic: Drive capacity for G3 B/W  (Read 67 times)

Offline nd2003grad

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • New Member
Drive capacity for G3 B/W
« on: January 10, 2018, 08:26:23 AM »
Can anyone tell me if the max capacity refers to total hard drive space or just PER drive?  I'm going to install a second drive and I'd like to get a 120 plus the 80 I already have...

Offline Fury deBongo

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • "It's ALIVE!"
Re: Drive capacity for G3 B/W
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2018, 08:48:41 AM »
This Must Be The Place - Talking Heads

Offline nd2003grad

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • New Member
Re: Drive capacity for G3 B/W
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2018, 08:53:24 AM »
Yeah Bongo, I've seen that article...but aside from the PCI card recommendation (I can't find any of these for a reasonable price), it doesn't make it clear if it can handle 128 gb per drive or 128 total.  I'm PRESUMING (big risk there!) that it's per drive.  I sure hope so.

Offline Knezzen

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Pro Tools addict!
    • Macintosh Garden
Re: Drive capacity for G3 B/W
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2018, 08:58:47 AM »
As an ex B&W G3 owner, I can with confidence say it's per drive :)

Offline nd2003grad

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • New Member
Re: Drive capacity for G3 B/W
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2018, 09:07:00 AM »
That is FANTASTIC news...THANKS!

Offline macStuff

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • New Member
Re: Drive capacity for G3 B/W
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2018, 10:07:48 AM »
the limitation applies only to the built in IDE interface of the B+W g3..
as a current B+W g3 450mhz owner, i can say that is the reason why i have an Acard 6880M installed in mine

installing any type of pci storage controller will sidestep the issue completely, 100%
but the g3 b+w can definately be more buggy then the g4's that followed it..
even when using a pci storage controller, sometimes u need to do a pram reset
i think it is to do with the openfirmware implementation? im not sure.. but it usualy
takes more tinkering then the AGP g4's.