Author Topic: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?  (Read 257 times)

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« on: October 11, 2017, 11:36:52 PM »
I can just use OSX to do this, but is it normal for Drive Setup to recognize a volume as only 131072GB instead of the actual size? I thought I read that 190GB was the limit.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 12:21:26 AM by Syntho »

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 08:11:23 AM »
TI should be OK, needs to be a 800, 867 or 1 Ghz. Model... and you have an 867
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 11:18:39 AM by DieHard »

Offline madalynmcworm

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
  • new to the forums
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2017, 09:40:01 AM »
TI should be OK, needs to be a 800, 867 or 1 Ghz. Model... and you have an 867
*** Updated info ***

I haven't seen any problems that I can discern on my 667 mhz Ti Gigabit laptop. It has a 256GB in it. The install disks here did not natively support the drive size. I had to open up the image on the CD and use the drive setup on that, then it gave the right size and allowed the partitioning to go forward.

I will say, I haven't even come close to maxing that partition out, so I don't know with any certainty that it is 100% working.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 11:25:21 AM by DieHard »

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2017, 11:17:50 AM »
That is very interesting, I has tested many TI Books and have NEVER seen anything below an 800 that has an IDE controller that is 48-bit LBA compliant.   Many 800, 867, and 1 Ghz. TI Books work with large drives, but also there are 2 models of the 667, So you may have the "DVI" version that probably has the same MB as the 800 DVI.  I may have never tested the DVI model, only the Gigabit Version.

Do you know which 667 TI Model you have ?

Offline madalynmcworm

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
  • new to the forums
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 12:06:17 PM »
It is definitely not the DVI model. It has a VGA port. Attached are photos of the screens. I'm curious what will happen if I start to put a ton of stuff on "DATA".

Maybe I should resize the drive back down?

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2017, 02:42:55 PM »
OK... so we have some interesting things going on here...

1) Your serial number indicates it is a late 2001
Powerbook G4 Titanium 15.2" - Late 2001
Serial:   QT1470K4KVB

But then indicates:
Production:   Oct 16, 2001 - Dec 17, 2001
Production Year:   2001
Production Week:   48 (November)
Production Number:   0K4
Processors:   667MHz G4 (PowerPC 7451)

So according to everymac the 7451 was used in the 667 DVI and the 7450 was used in the (non-DVI model), so this is very contradictory, also, the drive shows it is 128GB, but the separate partitions add to the actual physical size...

What version of Drive Setup did you use ?

Offline madalynmcworm

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
  • new to the forums
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2017, 03:49:03 PM »
I purchased the laptop off ebay. Is there a spot on the motherboard or something that might be more precise?

How this all went down is as follows:
Purchased way bigger drive, they were in stock.
Installed MacOS 9.2.2 from one of the universal installers from here.
During install, I just initialized the drive and went on my way. I noticed after the install and I was testing that it was the wrong size (meaning less than full size).
I re-booted from the install disc and tried to get correct drive size. This would not work with the included version.
I then mounted the image on the disc that contains the installer data.
I navigated to that version of the drive setup, and it worked fine.

I have a 120GB mSata sitting here, I could swap it out if it is going to be a problem. I am also willing to chuck a bunch of data on an external drive and copy it over to see what happens :D

Science ;p

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2017, 05:44:51 PM »
Actually, my Ti is the 1ghz model. The 867 I have was an old clunker QS Powermac that never really worked right. For a G4 desktop, I'm using the 800mhz you hooked me up with. Haven't tried a volume larger than 128gb on that, but my 1ghz Ti laptop definitely didn't read the drive's entire size for some weird reason. I got it working fine though, just had to partition it in OSX first. I used the Drive Setup from the Universal OS9 Installer, posted here.

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2017, 08:21:47 AM »
I have a 120GB mSata sitting here, I could swap it out if it is going to be a problem. I am also willing to chuck a bunch of data on an external drive and copy it over to see what happens :D
Science ;p

I am not saying it will be a problem, but your unit clearly thinks it is a 128GB as far as its physical characteristics;  the only true test is to fill it out at least 90% on both partitions (multiple copies of some huge test file) and run some disk utilities or drive first aid and see if you get any errors reported. then you will know you are safe for real production data... or just go with it and make sure you have backups, please let us know down the road what transpires.

Offline madalynmcworm

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
  • new to the forums
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2017, 10:06:31 AM »
What software would you suggest for backups?
I've tried both Norton Backup and Retrospect. They both seem ok?

After a good backup, I'll copy a huge file over and see what happens. I agree, it is really weird and I'm a bit worried....

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2017, 01:07:35 PM »
If my Ti 1ghz supports large drives, the Drive Setup included on the Universal Install must not. It told me it was 128GB or so. Had to use OSX to partition it. Maybe that was an older version of Drive Setup included on the disc?

Offline madalynmcworm

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
  • new to the forums
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2017, 06:26:51 AM »
Made a ~50GB file and a ~10GB file. Put two 50 and one 10 on the drive and checked with firat aid and diskwarrior, no problems. Norton disk doctor complains about the partition table.

Anything youd like me to do?

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1236
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2017, 08:25:37 AM »
Norton disk doctor complains about the partition table.
Anything youd like me to do?

Norton DD has documented issues under 9.2.2; I would say that is as good a test as you can do.  The only additional thing I would do is make sure the files can be copied "off" the partition.  This may be unnecessary, but it will prove that retrieving data when the drive is past the 120GB mark has no problems :)

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2017, 12:57:03 PM »
DH, is there any explanation for what Drive Setup is telling me?

Offline madalynmcworm

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
  • new to the forums
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2017, 01:22:15 PM »
DH, is there any explanation for what Drive Setup is telling me?

Did you attempt what I suggested? Using the install disk from here, mounting the installer image on the disk, going to the utilities directory, and running that drive setup?

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
Re: mSATA SSD in Ti Powerbook - not recognizing HD size?
« Reply #15 on: October 17, 2017, 09:27:08 PM »
Ohhh, I missed that. I guess it tells me that since Drive Setup is 'locked' or something, since it's on a CDROM.