Author Topic: Opcode Studio 5LX  (Read 374 times)

Offline mmtuk

• new to the forums
Opcode Studio 5LX
« on: September 04, 2017, 01:32:37 AM »
Any help or links appreciated..........

I've been dabbling with a Studio 5LX for a couple of months now and until last week was unaware that it was the latest version produced and therefore contained the latest circuit boards/firmware. I've just acquired another one that's mid production and contains an earlier version of the firmware. As OMS Studio is not happy with a serial connection (i.e. the second device (with different firmware) being connected to the first as opposed to its own modem or printer port), I want to upgrade the firmware in the earlier Studio 5LX.

I have an eprom programmer, so what I need to know is - can I just update the EPROMs or are there other (PAL?) chips that formed part of the factory upgrade? Okay, so I could just insert the newer set into the older device and see what happens, but that doesn't give me confidence regarding other issues that may not be immediately apparent.

I have successfully got both devices simultaneously working okay with each to its own modem or printer port but my final setup will require/involve patches that connect MIDI controllers attached to one Studio 5LX and synths/expanders etc. attached to the other. I want them to function independent of a computer so it's vital that they are linked together to enable this.

I'm actually using a USB Keyspan USA28X device to provide the Modem/Printer ports and while this seems to function without problems (even with OMS Studio set to maximum communication speeds), does anybody have any experience that would suggest I'm going to have timing issues further down the line?
« Last Edit: September 04, 2017, 02:27:27 PM by mmtuk »
"What the mind of man can conceive, and truly believe, he will achieve" - Norman Vincent Peale

Offline mmtuk

• new to the forums
Re: Opcode Studio 5LX
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2017, 11:25:33 AM »