Author Topic: How to use a scanner with OS 9  (Read 1150 times)

Offline Ralphieboy

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 32
How to use a scanner with OS 9
« on: June 03, 2017, 02:46:10 AM »
Hi. I have a Canon Lide 120 scanner that I use usually with OS X's "Image Capture" app.
I would like to be able to use it with my TiBook with OS 9.
According to Canon's website, no OS 9 driver is available.
Can I use it with a certain version of PS?
Is there an OS 9 app that will fit my scanner?
Thanks for your help guys.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2017, 05:52:46 AM by Ralphieboy »

Offline Ralphieboy

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: How to use a scanner with OS 9
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2017, 03:11:59 AM »
Ok, I have found that Vuescan could work...
« Last Edit: June 03, 2017, 05:53:09 AM by Ralphieboy »

Offline Knezzen

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 754
  • Pro Tools addict!
    • Macintosh Garden
Re: How to use a scanner on OS 9
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2017, 03:53:22 AM »
From the VueScan readme:

Quote

USB Flatbed scanners supported:
All Epson models
Canon FB620U, FB630U, FB636U, FB1210U, N650U, N656U, D660U, N670U, N676U, N1220U, N1240U, LIDE 20, LIDE 30
HP 2100C, 2200C, 4100C, 5200C, 5300C, 6200C, 6300C, 7400C
Microtek X6USB, X12USL, 4700, 5600, 5700, 6700, 6800 (without ICE) and 8700
UMAX 3400 (some versions), 5400
Most Acer/BenQ, AGFA models

SCSI Flatbed scanners supported:
All Epson, Canon, HP, Microtek, UMAX, Linotype-Hell (except Circon), Acer/BenQ, AGFA SnapScan models
KYE ColorPage HR5
Apple Color OneScanner 600, 1200/30

FireWire Scanners supported:
All Epson, Microtek, UMAX, Linotype-Hell models
Nikon LS-4000, LS-8000
Polaroid SprintScan 120, 4000+
Minolta Scan Elite II, Scan Elite 5400, Scan Multi Pro

USB Film Scanners supported:
Nikon CoolScan IV (LS-40)
Canon FS4000
Minolta Scan Dual II, Scan Dual III, Scan Elite II, Scan Elite 5400
HP PhotoSmart S20 (Windows only)

SCSI Film Scanners supported:
Nikon LS-10, LS-20, LS-1000, LS-30, LS-2000
Minolta QuickScan 35, Scan Dual, Scan Multi, Scan Multi Pro, Scan Speed, Scan Elite
Canon FS2700, FS2710, FS4000
HP PhotoSmart
Acer/BenQ ScanWit 2720S, 2740S
Polaroid SprintScan 120, 4000, 35, 35/LE, 35+, 45
Epson FilmScan 200
Konica Qscan
Kodak RFS 2035, RFS 2035 Plus, RFS 3570

PIE Film Scanners supported:
Need to first install CyberViewX from www.scanace.com
Pacific Image Electronics:
PrimeFilm 1800U
PrimeFilm 3600SU
PrimeFilm 1800AFL
PrimeFilm 3600PRO
PrimeFilm 2700
PrimeFilm 1800LC
PowerSlide 3600
PrimeFilm 3600PRO3
Microtek
FilmScan 35
FilmScan 1800
FilmScan 3600
Kodak RFS-3600
UMAX PowerLook 180
Other OEM distributors:
SmartDisk
Reflecta
Monarch
MediaX

Unsupported scanners:
All parallel-port models
All multifunction units (printer+scanner)
Canon FS2720, D1230, D1250, D2400, 5000F, 8000F, 9900F, LIDE 50
Epson Perfection 3170 (GT-9400)
All UMAX USB models except 3400 (some versions), 5400 and PowerLook 180
All Microtek USB models except X6USB, X12USL, 4700, 5600, 5700, 6700, 6800, 8700, FilmScan
HP 3300, 3400, 3500, 4200, 4300, 4400, 4500, 5400 and 5500
AGFA SnapScan Touch
All Lexmark, Artec, Mustek, Primax, Brother, Visioneer models

Please note that these scanners are unsupported for several reasons:
Parallel port scanners are unsupported because the commands they use are undocumented by the vendors, are extremely complex and are difficult to reverse engineer.
Most other unsupported scanners are parallel-port scanners internally, with an internal USB-parallel converter.
The Canon FS2720 is unsupported because it uses a complex USB-SCSI converter internally and requires complex firmware downloads.
The other Canon scanners aren't supported because Canon won't document the commands they use, and these commands are too complex to reverse-engineer.

Hope this helps a bit. VueScan can be found here: http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/vuescan-7664

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • keep it simple
Re: How to use a scanner on OS 9
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2017, 04:28:09 AM »
Ok, I have found that Vuescan could work...
I'm afraid that without the scanner drivers VueScan can do nothing...
Correct me if I'm Wrong...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline Ralphieboy

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: How to use a scanner with OS 9
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2017, 05:52:26 AM »
Ok, I have found that Vuescan could work...
I'm afraid that without the scanner drivers VueScan can do nothing...
Correct me if I'm Wrong...

I thought that Vuescan had the drivers included...
Unfortunately I don't have the driver for my model and Canon does not provide any OS 9 driver anymore...

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1688
  • new to the forums
Re: How to use a scanner on OS 9
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2017, 06:24:00 AM »
I'm afraid that without the scanner drivers VueScan can do nothing...
Correct me if I'm Wrong...

the key term here is TWAIN.
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: How to use a scanner with OS 9
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2017, 07:41:40 AM »
i think you picked the wrong scanner, looks like this one was not for os9 at all otherwise there would be a way to find drivers for it.

Offline Ralphieboy

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: How to use a scanner with OS 9
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2017, 08:31:16 AM »
i think you picked the wrong scanner, looks like this one was not for os9 at all otherwise there would be a way to find drivers for it.

I don't think so. Canon has simply cancelled all OS 9 drivers from their website. I will try Vuescan tonite and will keep you posted.

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: How to use a scanner with OS 9
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2017, 08:37:51 AM »
Check the full specs for that model. No indication of os9 support.

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2136
Re: How to use a scanner on OS 9
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2017, 12:42:13 PM »
I'm afraid that without the scanner drivers VueScan can do nothing...
Correct me if I'm Wrong...

the key term here is TWAIN.
Technology Without An Interesting Name
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2136
Re: How to use a scanner with OS 9
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2017, 12:55:10 PM »
https://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.canon.com

https://web.archive.org/web/20060409162428/http://consumer.usa.canon.com:80/ir/controller?act=DownloadIndexAct&fcategoryid=350

On 2006 there were no Lide 120. A lot of Lide, but not the 120. Maybe it is compatible with an old Lide...I would try every Lide driver if you cant find the 120 one.

I have memories of my Star printer (9 pin)been Epson XXX compatible and you only had to choose Epson on the printer config window.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Ralphieboy

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: How to use a scanner with OS 9
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2017, 05:06:00 AM »
Indeed, does not work. :'(