Author Topic: Installing Reason 2.5  (Read 685 times)

Offline Dronecatcher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • new to the forums
Installing Reason 2.5
« on: April 27, 2017, 11:40:11 AM »
I'm having no luck installing Reason 2.5 in OSX Tiger...has to be OSX as there are no drivers in OS9 for my Novation X-Station.
Doing the standard install when it asks for the Orkester disk it stalls after I load the CD. So, I copied the Orkester and Sound Bank files to the Reason folder manually but upon launch, Reason still asks for the CD.
After deleting the install I then made disk images of the 3 CDs and mounted them all and tried installing that way and got exactly the same results.
Maybe the CDs are corrupted?
I've used Reason 3 and 4 for years on all my Macs but I've just grabbed a Powerbook G3 and want to install 2.5 so it's not straining with version 3.

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2017, 02:12:26 PM »
have to be physical media. burn the discs

Offline Dronecatcher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • new to the forums
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2017, 02:17:37 PM »
That's where I started from - 3 physical disks.

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2017, 03:12:36 PM »
The images are damaged? Where you got them from?

Offline Dronecatcher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • new to the forums
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2017, 03:33:36 PM »
I'm pretty sure they were from here when I had a different user name. I'm downloading them again and will try once more...

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2017, 04:22:21 PM »
It is normal for the install to ask to switch the same CDs around a few times... make sure you insert the correctly labeled CD when asked

Offline Dronecatcher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • new to the forums
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2017, 04:54:37 PM »
Before burning fresh CDs I thought I'd try my originals in OS9 to see if that worked - I found it did apart from one sound bank CD was first not recognised so I popped it in again and it worked.
Maybe the old DVD drive is playing up?
With that in mind, I tried OSX install again - sure enough, I got past the hanging by popping the CDs in and out until it worked. However, when first run of Reason asked for the sound bank, although the disk was recognised (mounted on desktop) it was just hanging again.
Oh well...guess v3 it is then. Thanks for your time and help.

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2068
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2017, 05:00:45 PM »
I'm having no luck installing Reason 2.5

Welcome Dronecatcher to our humble forum.

Please add this to your signature, as in Macrumors

https://www.youtube.com/user/retrotechnical

https://8088.bandcamp.com/

https://soundcloud.com/waynesadler

https://www.flickr.com/photos/dronecatcher/


He is also helping the community to play Youtube videos on G3 in Tiger.  :o


https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/new-youtube-player-downloader-even-for-g3.2031523/


Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Dronecatcher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • new to the forums
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2017, 12:40:02 AM »
Thanks Protools5LEGuy...yes, I'm quite pleased that I can now watch Youtube, even on a 300Mhz iBook!  I love getting some milage out of these fantastic machines  :D

Offline Dronecatcher

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • new to the forums
Re: Installing Reason 2.5
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2017, 10:42:11 AM »
As expected, Reason v3 on a 400Mhz Powerbook G3 is quite testing on everything but the most basic tracks - I'll probably stick to v2.5 in OS9 but without a MIDI keyboard it'll be more of a sketchpad/sound browser.