Author Topic: Third-party app launchers?  (Read 5748 times)

Offline InspectorG

• Valued Member
  • Total Mac Addict
Third-party app launchers?
« on: March 07, 2017, 10:16:47 AM »
I'm curious if any third-party app launchers ever existed for OS 9 - something similar to LaunchBar, Quicksilver, Alfred, etc. for OS X. Even Spotlight in OS X does a pretty good job at this task nowadays.

I realize that something as smart as these modern apps is unlikely, as they use modern filesystem events and indexing to find apps in any arbitrary location on your machine. A hypothetical OS 9 launcher app might require you to point it to a folder where you keep your other apps to restrict the search domain, or even add apps manually to a list that it maintains (which would be totally fine for the limitations one expects on an older system).

I would just really love to be able to very quickly launch my apps and games from the keyboard!

If not, I've been using Macs since 1996, but never wrote any code for OS 7-9 (only OS X since the early-2000s). I've been trying to think of a good pet project to sort of retroactively go back and apply my engineering skills as a hobby...

Offline Protools5LEGuy

• Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
Re: Third-party app launchers?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2017, 10:49:09 AM »

I realize that something as smart as these modern apps is unlikely, as they use modern filesystem events and indexing to find apps in any arbitrary location on your machine. A hypothetical OS 9 launcher app might require you to point it to a folder where you keep your other apps to restrict the search domain, or even add apps manually to a list that it maintains (which would be totally fine for the limitations one expects on an older system).