Author Topic: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!  (Read 6080 times)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« on: January 22, 2017, 11:00:35 AM »
I were installing Instant DAW, a Panther PT6LE set up and a Leopard PT 7 setup on my DA GHz dual machine.

I booted to 9 and double click a PT6 demo file, and it started to load Protools 6 LE app!!

Then came with an error about DAE not found.

I tought, that maybe changing DAE from 9 with DAE for X it could run.

I tried and get the same error. Then I took that OSX DAE and put in Extensions on OS9 system folder and then get another error
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2017, 11:06:23 AM »
Now it ask for DUI.shlb, so maybe those missing library can be take from X and dropped on the System folder.

The conclusion is that Protools 6 is a Carbon OS9&OSX  software, and Digidesign forced it (under Apple pressure) to be OSX only. But maybe we can find all the resources to turn it into a OS9 app.

Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2304
  • new to the forums
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2017, 11:14:04 AM »
DUI is a whole framework...
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2017, 11:26:13 AM »
And that framework cant be rebuild with powerplant?

Also, the DAE from OSX felt like built for OS9 too, because the error loading the DAE is skipped!

I feel that we can drop on extensions that DUI.shlb and see what happens...

Do you guess is a framework from Mac OS X?

From http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=221420 it says PEF bynary

0x1222000 - 0x127fffb DUI.shlb PEF binary: DUI.shlb
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2017, 12:01:39 PM »
On the Panther install I could get the DAE that worked from 6.4 LE
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2017, 12:05:59 PM »
But anything called DUI is on Leopard instead.

Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2304
  • new to the forums
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2017, 12:34:19 PM »
to be honest i am not sure if it is digidedign thing or if the d standst for "distributed", as in distributed user interface, which usually means that there is some java or .net stuff behind it.
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline Knezzen

  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
  • Pro Tools addict!
    • Macintosh Garden
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2017, 12:38:12 PM »
It's probably Digidesign specific. .shlb indicates that it was buit with CodeWarrior, since .shlb is what shared libs built with CodeWarrior usually ends with. Not much help though.


Offline nanopico

  • Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2017, 06:38:39 AM »
Looking at some uninstall instructions for ProTools, the DUI.shlib is Digidesign specific.

0x1222000 - 0x127fffb DUI.shlb PEF binary: DUI.shlb

It's not uncommon to use shlib as a file extension.  GCC (part of the developer tools in OS X) uses it as well.
Although the binary in the file is a PEF, it may only be compiled like that and used by carbon to load it as you noted the rest of the app is carbon.
The thing is PEF or not, it may use OS X specific libraries that are not available in OS 9. This wasn't uncommon in carbon apps.  They maybe carbon but use external libraries.

0x1222000 - 0x127fffb DUI.shlb PEF binary: DUI.shlb
The last part (: DUI.shlib) is an export name for the library for the linker to use.
The output is a list of libraries loaded by the Carbon Code Fragment loader.

So really it comes down to what libraries DUI.shlib imports and if they are available on OS 9.

If you want to send me a copy of that file, I can look and tell you what all libraries it imports.

In theory it may be possible, but I wouldn't count on it, though stranger things have happened.

If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2017, 07:43:32 AM »
Panther framework from Library/Frameworks
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline nanopico

  • Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2017, 02:00:40 PM »
Panther framework from Library/Frameworks

The resources get stripped out on zip files.  Code Fragments (PEF) are commonly stored in the resource fork.
And the DUI isn't included.
Can you get the file from this path
Mac HD>Library>Frameworks>DUI.framework
And package it with stuff-it as a sit

Thanks.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2017, 09:09:36 PM »
Protools 6.4 LE
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2017, 09:10:50 PM »
Some shlb at the same level than the app
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2017, 09:13:25 PM »
From Library, it contains the DAE that accepts go in Mac OS 9 System Folder
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2017, 09:15:13 PM »
All the Panther /Library/Frameworks/

But nothing DUI related...
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2017, 09:17:16 PM »
This ones from Leo/Protools 7.4
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2017, 09:21:22 PM »
Frameworks From Leo/Protools 7.4 LE

This contains DUI stuff
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2017, 09:25:49 PM »
These ones from Leo/PT8.01 LE
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2017, 09:51:59 PM »
Leo/PT 8 DUI
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 2255
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2017, 10:02:27 PM »
Nano, if we can make Protools 6.4 LE's DAE rely on Protools 5.2.1cs DAE we could make a lot of LE users HAPPY.

Normally a PT app is matched with a only DAE file...

http://www.oakbog.com/PT3NuBus.html

Maybe I am just focusing on Protools 6.4 LE and earlier versions (6.1 and 6.2 from Jaguar) could be easier to fool.

Protools 6 LE is far more advanced and faster in edition than 5 LE (Keyboard focus Mode, the little a-z button ) that only TDM users (5 or 6) could enjoy.

I guess the easiest solution could be to hack the Classic/Mac OS X DAE from 6 to drink from the 5.2.1 Mac OS 9 only DAE.

In my mind is just a wiring problem. Probably I am delusional.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2017, 10:21:04 PM by Protools5LEGuy »
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline nanopico

  • Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2017, 05:48:02 AM »
I guess the easiest solution could be to hack the Classic/Mac OS X DAE from 6 to drink from the 5.2.1 Mac OS 9 only DAE.

I tried looking into this with other versions.  I didn't get very far as I was a little swamped with life at that moment.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!

Offline nanopico

  • Moderator
  • Platinum Member (500+ Posts)
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Protools 6 LE on Mac OS 9!
« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2017, 10:59:41 AM »
No joy here. Literaly. The signature of a PEF file is Joy!peff

OS 9 know how to load PEF files.
The loader looks to the resource fork for a cfrg resource type to identify where code is.  It will be either in the data fork or a CODE resource.
Now an application can load code from any resource/data fork it wants and run it, but that is application specific.
This may be how the DAE is loaded, but as that is a system extension I'm confused how it would work at all.
The ProTools LE 5 you provided has all the correct things for loading in OS 9.
Not one of all the other files contains a PEF container whatsoever.
I'm going to say at this point, it's not possible.
That's just my take on it.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!