Author Topic: Post some pictures of you studio!  (Read 11191 times)

Knez

  • Guest
Post some pictures of you studio!
« on: November 25, 2013, 03:25:13 PM »
I think it's really fun seeing how other people have built their studios.
This is mine before I started messing with it again.

The Atari 1040STe running C-Lab Notator in this image is gone and put on the shelf.
It was really not that fun using it if im honest. I also have an Atari Falcon, but im using it mostly for coding stuff at home.

The G5 (Quad 2.5ghz with 4gb RAM) has been replaced by my Dual 1.5ghz MDD with 2gb RAM running OS 9.2.2, Pro Tools TDM 5.1.3 and a Pro Toools 24 MIX system connected to a digidesign 882/20 interface.

Going to post some new pictures of the studio when I have finished redoing everything :)
« Last Edit: December 01, 2013, 10:21:56 AM by Knez »

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2013, 12:33:40 AM »
the pic only works if u are logged into the atari forum;)

Knez

  • Guest
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2013, 10:22:36 AM »
the pic only works if u are logged into the atari forum;)

Took care of that ;). Now, post some pictures of your studio or work area! :)

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2013, 08:44:34 PM »
I love the Panasonic DAT... I have a SV3800 and I can't scrap it, even though I have not used it in 10 years...

Nice Studio

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2013, 03:33:32 AM »
nice job on the home made racks.. and cool ass atari ST!
i have been planning to use the RAST ikea table hack to keep em in 8x1u slot blocks
ill try to get some pics of what i got rockin but im still building... :S

heres a link to the rack hack:
http://www.instructables.com/id/8U-Rack-Case-From-IKEA-RAST-Table/
« Last Edit: December 02, 2013, 03:35:49 AM by chris9Lives »

Knez

  • Guest
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2013, 11:51:04 PM »
Im thinking of doing the same thing myself actually. Small and nice looking rack case for little money :)

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2013, 08:44:51 PM »
Im thinking of doing the same thing myself actually. Small and nice looking rack case for little money :)

yeah cheap, and dont forget versatile in how u can stack the 8u blocks in many diff configurations vertical horiztonal etc etc
i still havent bought the metal rack part to put in it tho :D lazy:D

Knez

  • Guest
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2013, 07:24:46 AM »
Time for an update!

We are moving the studio to a new place, a 120m2 old bank vault in the basement of an old bank building from 1899.

Here's a pic of the MDD doing some stuff in Pro Tools TDM 5.1.3cs11 using just one MIX Core card and an old 888 interface. Was able to use 96 TDM plugins at the same time over 32 tracks on this one card.
0% CPU-use on the host CPU.  8)

The 888 in the picture is for sale, btw. We need 24bit interfaces (like the 888/24) so the old 16bit 888 has to go.

Will be adding 9 more MIX Farm cards into my Magma Chassis as well as a Digidesign Pro Control DAW controller with 3 extra fader packs and an edit pack. Will be using 4 888/24 for mics and acoustic intrument recording, and 4 882/20 for outboards and synthesizers. Total of 64 ins and 64 outs.

It will be a great system when everything is up and running :)


Offline vectrex

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2014, 07:44:38 PM »
bumping this old thread,

new to the forums, so Hi to everyone.

Just installed the 'marathon' rackmount brackets on my MDD.

Really excited about this setup. Replaced all the system cooling with Noctua fans. Doesn't move as much air, no auto speed adjustments, but they seem to be working fine.

Running an Intel SSD off of a sonnet tempo card. works well:



will post other gear pics if there is interest

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2014, 07:31:47 PM »
Awesome marathon Brackets... I have a bunch of extra G4 mounting brackets that I can Sell for $35 if anyone needs them... they originally went for $200 I think

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2014, 07:26:23 AM »
ive got a dusty s950 here beside me aswell.. but no rack such as that to put it in!

Offline custos

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2014, 06:24:16 PM »
Awesome marathon Brackets... I have a bunch of extra G4 mounting brackets that I can Sell for $35 if anyone needs them... they originally went for $200 I think

Do you still have any brackets for sale?
"Things don't have to change the world to be important." -Steve Jobs

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2014, 11:13:25 PM »
Yes, still have a few sets left, PM Me :)

Offline Coldacre

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2015, 02:23:38 AM »

Really excited about this setup. Replaced all the system cooling with Noctua fans. Doesn't move as much air, no auto speed adjustments, but they seem to be working fine.

a Roland Space Echo! that's mad. genius piece of gear   ;D

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2015, 06:37:59 AM »
My Collection after years.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 836
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2015, 07:46:30 AM »
Well THAT was fun devils_advisor!! ;D It's great to see what others are up to! Looks like you're way into video! The whole server/raid things are somewhat mysterious to me and need to get into that stuff!!! ;D ;D

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2015, 08:02:14 AM »
Most of it is in boxes. I found a buyer.

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2015, 08:50:06 AM »
Well THAT was fun devils_advisor!! ;D It's great to see what others are up to! Looks like you're way into video! The whole server/raid things are somewhat mysterious to me and need to get into that stuff!!! ;D ;D

bottom to top: xraid,avid fibre raid, avid unity fibre server, xserve, fibre switch, terminal to control the unity.

Offline Sanek

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2015, 03:01:23 PM »
Here is mine...

Online Knezzen

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
  • Pro Tools addict!
    • Macintosh Garden
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2015, 04:40:45 AM »
Looks good Sanek :). I see a white Avid interface in the rack to the right. Software/hardware setup are you using?

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2015, 05:04:20 AM »
Could be protools with film option and digi translator.

Offline Sanek

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2015, 06:51:27 AM »
Thanks, Knezzen!
I've reconsidered my workspace a little recently, will post a new photo.
Yeah, i was thinking of the hybrid approach when designing this studio. Have finished it not long ago.
The white interface is Avid Digidesign - it's an absolute clone of the black version 888, without fancy meters.
I had it's ADC's and DAC's custom upgraded by my local audio engineers, they sound very good now, very similar to Apogee AD1000 as they say (I haven't heard the AD1000 myself). The DAC's were ok from factory, the guys just removed some clutter from there. Anyway, I love the sound of them!

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
  • active member
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2015, 05:02:46 PM »
Mine from about early 2014. A few updates since: sound box for the MDD, 23" Cinema, additional speakers.

New pic soon when I clean up the eternal mess.

Still have the same engineer in the pic…

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2015, 08:19:52 AM »
Wow... you guys rock... great pics ! (and that is a one sweet pussy Garry)

I figured I would post the small Project Studio (the one in my small office at work) that I use for Mac OS 9 lives and Mixing. Sorry Guys, no rack stuff, all virtual at work :(



Pics in Order:
1) Work Mixing Project Studio with Logic Pro 10.2 and Komplete Ultimate 8 and OS X Mavericks 10.9.4
Also Production G4s with all OS 9 DAW apps
2) Spare Mac Pros with Snow Leopard thru Yosemite, Many versions of Cubase / PT / and Logic
Special Thanks to Enabler who got my Logic 8 up and running again :)
3) Spare G4s for Testing thing non-DAW related
4) Mixing Project Studio G4 with VST 5/32 and Old versions of Logic
« Last Edit: October 05, 2015, 08:43:40 AM by DieHard »

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1918
  • keep it simple
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #24 on: June 19, 2016, 01:41:56 PM »
After the death of My Cinema Display, I have installed a couple of HP 22cw Full HD displays.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2016, 03:55:11 PM »
Lol, Mactron, I also have 2 HP monitors side by side.

We are most of the time on the same page.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 836
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #26 on: June 19, 2016, 09:54:15 PM »
Looking good MacTron! I like your stereo mic technique too! ;D

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1918
  • keep it simple
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #27 on: June 20, 2016, 10:27:29 AM »
We are most of the time on the same page.

yes we are ...  ;D

Looking good MacTron! I like your stereo mic technique too! ;D
I'm a amateur composer . So my works rely in MIDI and virtual instruments - mainly -. I barely use audio recording but for some short vocal phrases ...
... and to Play karaoke! :)
I'll start a thread about how to use Cubase to record and play Karaoke ! :) It's really funny :)
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline will9

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #28 on: June 20, 2016, 01:03:50 PM »
wow they are all looking great...
I picked up two poco cards and a UAD for my rig, and using a companion PC that I VNC in to so I can still access Omnisphere, Halion Sonic and other noise makers... Still haven't put it all to the test yet though!

I must be mad... I really like the acrylic (ADC) cinema displays... It just feels like it completes the mac experience of the era... I am on the lookout for a second one. I feel like I have mentally regressed or something!

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #29 on: July 12, 2016, 06:00:43 PM »
Just arrived from LA, California via courier...

It seems our very own member Syntho bought a bunch of ProTools Hardware stuff and had it delivered here...

Now we just have to get it across the country so he can use it :)

I can't tell you what he paid for it, I am so jealous, he stole it !

ORIGINAL LIST
========================
Digidesign 1622 I/O = $1595 retail
Digidesign  888 I/O =
Digidesign  882 I/O =
Digidesign  SSD Sync =
Expansion Chasis
5 Mix Cards
External SCSI drives & Enclosures







« Last Edit: August 07, 2016, 07:53:25 PM by DieHard »

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 849
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #30 on: July 12, 2016, 06:26:18 PM »
Not bad for $200  -afro-

Offline Philgood

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #31 on: July 13, 2016, 06:33:45 AM »
What a lucky guy...they asked 250€ for a adat bridge I wanted to buy...
*G4 MDD 1.25GHz (Single 2003)* with 2x 80Gb harddrives, 1Gb RAM, Tascam US-428 and Edirol FA-101 USB/Firewire soundcards-*iMac G3 DV 400MHz* with installs from OS 8.6-OSX Tiger on different harddrives-*Powerbook G4 1.67Ghz* with new SSD ! Love it.

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #32 on: July 23, 2016, 10:48:33 AM »
Mine from about early 2014. A few updates since: sound box for the MDD, 23" Cinema, additional speakers.

New pic soon when I clean up the eternal mess.

Still have the same engineer in the pic…

is that a midiverb + a d4? in the rack?

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
  • active member
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #33 on: July 23, 2016, 04:35:31 PM »
That's a D4 and a DM5 you're seeing. However, I do have MidiVerbs 1,2,3,4 and MidiFex in another rack you can't see to the right.

Offline Lordgiffnock

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #34 on: August 05, 2016, 09:39:04 PM »
Atari with notator,Roland s770 my favourite gear.

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #35 on: August 10, 2016, 10:20:16 AM »

cool setup looks very hands on! + ergonomic
the flat screen monitor looks like its floating? whats holding it up!
what is that groovebox thing?

http://www.instructables.com/id/8U-Rack-Case-From-IKEA-RAST-Table/


also a nice little rack
roland mt-32, roland d-110, e-mu audity, e-mu proteus, korg 03R/W, DR-3?

Offline Philgood

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 260
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #36 on: August 11, 2016, 02:16:17 PM »
what is that groovebox thing?

That´s a ROLAND SP808!
*G4 MDD 1.25GHz (Single 2003)* with 2x 80Gb harddrives, 1Gb RAM, Tascam US-428 and Edirol FA-101 USB/Firewire soundcards-*iMac G3 DV 400MHz* with installs from OS 8.6-OSX Tiger on different harddrives-*Powerbook G4 1.67Ghz* with new SSD ! Love it.

Offline mikkmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #37 on: October 10, 2016, 03:39:49 PM »
This is my studio

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #38 on: October 11, 2016, 11:13:16 AM »
Can I buy your clock ?

Offline mikkmuzik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #39 on: October 11, 2016, 02:35:17 PM »
Can I buy your clock ?

Its about 14 years old i got it from argos for 10 quid  :)

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #40 on: October 30, 2016, 12:25:16 AM »
im kind of interested in how gary has these rack mount (studio 4 etc) installed in a rack that sits into  a keyboard rack somehow????


Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
  • active member
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #41 on: October 30, 2016, 04:11:41 PM »
It's a box with rack rails sitting on the upper tier.

I had to build it from scratch.

Offline nanopico

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #42 on: November 14, 2016, 08:33:53 PM »
Just finished my desk. So this is my control room. Live room sort of under construction still, so not sharing that one.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!

Online Knezzen

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
  • Pro Tools addict!
    • Macintosh Garden
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #43 on: November 14, 2016, 11:09:29 PM »
Looking good nanopico! I'll take it that you like M-Audio gear? :)

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 836
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #44 on: November 15, 2016, 06:30:38 AM »
Nice Nano...  ;D

Offline nanopico

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #45 on: November 15, 2016, 07:01:14 AM »
Looking good nanopico! I'll take it that you like M-Audio gear? :)
I do like m-audio a bit  :)
I worked for an m-audio dealer for 8 years.  I got a lot of stuff really cheap.
I have two more Delta 1010's and an identical QS setup so minus the pre-amps, I have two identical rigs.

Nice Nano...  ;D

Thank you.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 836
  • new to the forums
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #46 on: November 15, 2016, 05:54:51 PM »
looks very 'purposeful'! In the middle of a re-do with my junk right now. Have to make a few racks and whatnot. Too much stuff and not enough space! ;D

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #47 on: November 18, 2016, 07:50:07 AM »
Hey Nano, I can't see what's on the bottom on left rack, looks like a guitar synth ?


Offline Miro Le Ravi

  • Vault Members
  • Enthusiast
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • is there anybody out there
    • Miro funky show
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #48 on: November 18, 2016, 08:54:42 AM »
here is dp 2.72 back again  in functioning 
 :) :) :) :) :)
la vie est belle c'est le monde qui est triste ...

Offline Miro Le Ravi

  • Vault Members
  • Enthusiast
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • is there anybody out there
    • Miro funky show
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #49 on: November 18, 2016, 08:56:49 AM »
and here some pic from the studio  today  in the mountains  .. 
with the g4 and DP2.72
la vie est belle c'est le monde qui est triste ...

Offline Miro Le Ravi

  • Vault Members
  • Enthusiast
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • is there anybody out there
    • Miro funky show
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #50 on: November 18, 2016, 08:58:27 AM »
the miro funky desk  :)
la vie est belle c'est le monde qui est triste ...

Offline Miro Le Ravi

  • Vault Members
  • Enthusiast
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • is there anybody out there
    • Miro funky show
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #51 on: November 18, 2016, 10:32:28 AM »
the rack  of the miro funky desk
( my show name is miro funky show)
la vie est belle c'est le monde qui est triste ...

Offline Miro Le Ravi

  • Vault Members
  • Enthusiast
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • is there anybody out there
    • Miro funky show
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #52 on: November 18, 2016, 10:37:03 AM »
the racks  today the same  pack since 16 years  and it is all  days and  night on…

la vie est belle c'est le monde qui est triste ...

Offline nanopico

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #53 on: November 18, 2016, 10:43:01 AM »
Hey Nano, I can't see what's on the bottom on left rack, looks like a guitar synth ?

Power strip.  The empty space is above is for two adat, which are currently being cleaned.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!

Offline nanopico

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #54 on: November 18, 2016, 10:43:28 AM »
Is this limited to just audio studios?
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #55 on: November 18, 2016, 11:18:05 AM »
miro le ravi,

Great Job !   Glad you are up and running again :)

Offline Miro Le Ravi

  • Vault Members
  • Enthusiast
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • is there anybody out there
    • Miro funky show
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #56 on: November 18, 2016, 11:23:55 AM »
thanks you  guys  you re just all amazing   NEW  Mac os 9 and new dp2.72
  it just miss me the plugs( waves and  vst wrapper  ) and everything is gone for staying alive almost 20 years  :)

la vie est belle c'est le monde qui est triste ...

Offline Pimpadeus

  • Vault Members
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2
  • Pimpin' Thru the Galaxy
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #57 on: November 24, 2016, 01:09:22 AM »
This is my 20' X 20' suburban garage conversion studio.

I run an old-school Pro Tools Mix+ system on a G4 to record and produce
original compositions and I play all of the instruments usually...

Cheers!

PimpadeusX

Offline Miro Le Ravi

  • Vault Members
  • Enthusiast
  • ***
  • Posts: 49
  • is there anybody out there
    • Miro funky show
Re: Post some pictures of you studio!
« Reply #58 on: November 25, 2016, 09:44:21 AM »
excellent psychedlic configuration  i love the style :)   
la vie est belle c'est le monde qui est triste ...