Author Topic: Does the FW800 1.25GHz x2 module really only have 1MB L3 cache?  (Read 688 times)

Offline s0s

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • I love my 4.0GHz wife
    • Tech Stuff Only
Does the FW800 1.25GHz x2 module really only have 1MB L3 cache?
« on: January 01, 2017, 10:51:59 PM »
I was going through and comparing specs when I noticed something peculiar. The dual 1.25GHz FW800 model only has 1MB of L3 cache, according to this page http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/specs/powermac_g4_1.25_dp_mdd_fw800.html

However, these dual 1.25GHz non-FW800 models have 2MB of L3 cache:
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_server_g4/specs/macserver_g4_1.25_dp_mdd.html
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/specs/powermac_g4_1.25_dp_mdd.html

So I'm confused. I always thought (except for old Macs) that the cache was usually on the CPU itself. Is there something different about the dual 1.25GHz module for the FW800? Or is that a typo?

It looks like they all have 256KB of L2 cache on the CPUs themselves, and the L3 cache on the module board, but I don't know why the modules would be different. Why Apple would go out of their way to make a 1MB module for their more "advanced" FW800 is weird.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2017, 11:04:59 PM by s0s »

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: Does the FW800 1.25GHz x2 module really only have 1MB L3 cache?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2017, 11:10:35 PM »
i think the server is from the same date and the only other difference besides the cache is the missing fw-800 port - does it make that "less advanced?" ;)

from what i know it is a very rare model, but it could be fun to actually test reverb plug-ins with 1 mb versus with 2mb.

otoh, i couldnt care less, because the "OS9" dual 1,25 also has 2mb cache.
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1918
  • keep it simple
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline s0s

  • Enthusiast
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • I love my 4.0GHz wife
    • Tech Stuff Only
Re: Does the FW800 1.25GHz x2 module really only have 1MB L3 cache?
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2017, 09:23:41 AM »
Charts make everything easier lol ;D thanks!

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 836
  • new to the forums
Re: Does the FW800 1.25GHz x2 module really only have 1MB L3 cache?
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2017, 06:41:34 PM »
Charts make everything easier lol ;D thanks!

Yes indeed... and MacTron makes there BEST charts!! ;D

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: Does the FW800 1.25GHz x2 module really only have 1MB L3 cache?
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2017, 10:20:36 PM »
okay, so it is one year later than the OS 9 one but from the same year than the fw-800 "client" they sold. this still doenst explain anything.
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com