Author Topic: Hard Drive Recommendations  (Read 5407 times)

Offline EddieC

• Valued Member
  • new to the forums
Hard Drive Recommendations
« on: November 09, 2016, 04:06:19 PM »
Hello there,

I'm not very technically savvy and have only recently gotten into an OS9 System which is working quite well so far. My question is about adding more hard drives to a G4 Gigabit computer.

1) Is there a current model hard drive that works on this machine or is the only choice to find an old used one somewhere? In either case, what should I be looking for specifically?

2) Same question regarding RAM upgrades.

Thanks very much for the help!
Eduardo Citrinblum
Los Angeles

Offline iRolleder

• Valued Member
  • new from Germany
Re: Hard Drive Recommendations
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2016, 09:32:25 AM »
Hi, I am unable to make an offer which HDD you should use. But my question is quiet similar. I tend to buy this two things for my PB G4 Titanium 15".

https://www.amazon.de/DELOCK-Konverter-mSATA-2-5Z-Bauhöhe/dp/B00ELC8GFO
https://www.amazon.de/Kingston-HDSSD-mSATA-120GB-mS200/dp/B00CG8GTPO/ref=sr_1_2?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1479058298&sr=1-2&keywords=msata+ssd

Do you have experience with such IDE/PATA - mSATA converters (or similar)

What do you think about SSD's in an old Powerbook? Do I have to know something about protocols/configurations/installation / tool for erasing and formatting the SSD. Is it right that the TRIM command doesn't work? Do I need to erase it manually from time to time? Does only some SSD's allow the standby mode?

Offline EddieC

• Valued Member
  • new to the forums
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 06:30:09 PM »
Sorry but I can't help you iRolleder. You're way ahead of me on this. I was trying to get help myself but got nothing. Good luck!

Online DieHard

• Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2016, 07:16:56 PM »
Please search the forum these questions and recommendations have been discussed in detail :)

Offline EddieC