Author Topic: HDMI TV  (Read 2122 times)

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
HDMI TV
« on: August 21, 2016, 01:31:18 PM »
Finally my monitor gave up and i tried to use a hdmi tv until i get a replacement. have a dvi to hdmi cable but i get nothing but a black screen and im out of ideas by now. graphics card is a ati 8500 mac edition. manual mentions that the dvi is a dvi-i output. any ideas why it doesnt work ? thanks for the help.

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 07:07:54 AM »
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2016, 01:38:45 PM »
no adc involved. the 8500 got a vga a svhs and a dvi out. i can use other machines with the same cable but not this one. i need that g4 asap and have no idea why it wont work.

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2016, 07:46:44 PM »
  Maybe an VGA to HDMI adapter is prefered on your setup.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2016, 06:18:45 AM »
  Maybe an VGA to HDMI adapter is prefered on your setup.

There isn't any "VGA to HDMI adapter".
VGA to HDMI implies a digitizer, and believe me, it's really a expensive and bad quality solution.

BTW. I'm using a Radeon 8500 with a DVI to HDMI cable without issues since 2010.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2016, 09:14:08 AM by MacTron »
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline coachla

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2016, 07:12:44 AM »
I'm wondering if the HDTV needs a setting selection for a PC. My LG has that, under "input label", but it's more than a label, an essential to justify and sharpen the display. Though not using the setting doesn't lock you out. Is there a specific setting possibly? If not sure, it's worth checking.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2016, 07:42:02 AM by coachla »

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2016, 10:45:29 AM »
so mactron has stated hes using a radeon 8500 in combination with dvi to hdmi cable with success for some time

but what does this hdmi cable look like?




see the difference in the pins?



im guessing its dvi-i single link?

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2016, 03:16:05 PM »
thanks for the tips. im checking it out and get into the cable type this weekend. still need it running asap.

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2016, 08:28:15 AM »
its the dvi-d dual link. for some reason it doesnt work for me.

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2016, 05:08:24 PM »
Mactron can you take a picture of you dvi end of that cable i need to know what im looking for. Thank you

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
  • active member
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2016, 12:00:37 AM »
I notice you said the 8500 is DVI-I out and your cable is DVI-D - that's one possibility.
The other is that the TV just won't lock to the scan freq coming out of the 8500. Not all monitors and especially not all digital TV's are created equal…

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: HDMI TV
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2016, 05:34:56 AM »
i guess another cable is due, thank you