Author Topic: Website redesign?  (Read 5712 times)

Offline Chefsessel

Website redesign?
« on: February 24, 2013, 10:19:43 AM »
Hey there,

I've been mailing with Jerry a few month ago (yes, I excuse ... I've been really busy lately as I married, changed job and moved to a new home) about redesigning the website. I do code a lot of web stuff at my day job and while I'm not too keen on spending more time in front of an editor, I do believe that it would be fun to create a Mac OS 9 lives website with Classilla as lead browser on my good old TiBook!

According to the Classilla FAQ, we're talking about HTML 4.01 and CSS2 (ah, no css box shadows alas! :D ) in terms of compatiblity and I think it would be fun to code away just like we did it a few years ago. Might add in some leightweight Javascript if necessary (though I prefer it clean & quick).

As for the design, I am no designer (maybe someone would help me out on that?) but I'd really love to recreate sort of a platinum style theme. One that makes visitors think "oh my god! I remember the look, it was sooo uber cool!".

Now, I don't want to force something upon anyone, so I'd be interested to hear what y'all think about it first?

Offline Mat

• Platinum Member
Re: Website redesign?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 12:51:03 PM »
From my point of vie a "Paltinum Design" for a website is not that good. Have a look at http://www.ppcmla.com/ It is nice for the first 2-3 visits, but than it is very nasty. I see my desktop every day so I don

Offline Chefsessel

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2013, 09:54:16 AM »
nah, I don't take it as an offense, don't worry :)

I can see someone already recreated the platinum style ... nicely done! I like it.

After reading up in the Classilla FAQs I think it would be best to use HTML4.01 / CSS2 for the styling and avoid javascript until it gets further improved.

Any more opinions on that?

Offline DieHard

• Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member