Author Topic: Need help setting up HP Printer for LPD printing in Mac OS 9  (Read 7709 times)

Offline InsectorX

• Valued Member
  • new to the forums
Hi, I'm a Tattoo Artist and I want to use Mac OS 9 at work for fonts and art.  My printer at work is the HP LaserJet Pro MFP m127fw.   I'm looking for a way to print with LPD over Tcp/ip.  Don't let my lingo fool you, I don't know the first thing about getting this started.  I found a tutorial that said I needed a PPD file, and I don't believe that this printer supports postscript.  So, I guess, there is no PPD file?

I've been scouring the internet looking for an answer, and many answers are confusing, and for linux.  I haven't found a Mac OS 9 manual for this yet.  So, I'm just asking.

Here is a section from my work printers manual:

Supported network protocols Via built-in networking solution: TCP/IP, IPv4, IPv6; Print: LPD (raw queue support only); Discovery: SLP, Bonjour, Web
Services Discovery; IP Config: IPv4 (BootP, DHCP, AutoIP, Manual), IPv6 (Stateless Link-Local and via Router, Statefull via
DHCPv6); Management: SNMPv1, HTTP; HP ePrint

I don't even know where to start on this one.   Any help would be appreciated.
Power Macintosh 8600/300
w/ PowerLogix 350Mhz G3 upgrade
Running Mac OS 9.2.2  &  8.6

Offline Mat

• Platinum Member
Re: Need help setting up HP Printer for LPD printing in Mac OS 9
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2016, 12:00:19 AM »
If your printer has Network LPD Functionality included it should work directly - means from the Mac OS 9 ethernet to the printer - like described here:.
http://www.rit.edu/its/services/desktop_support/mac/clprprintersetup.html

You can always use the "general" PPD (with reduced functionality).

It may be that you need (or can improve print options) to setup an LPD-Server at the other computer. I can´t help you here as I don´t use this system at all. But I will dig into the LPD server I got for Mac OS 9 next week, and will see if it is of help.