Author Topic: Korg Oasys Thread  (Read 9105 times)


supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2014, 12:55:13 AM »
Just saw one of these for sale in my area...

Offline Jakl

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2014, 01:44:42 AM »
Get it if it's cheap - you won't be disppointed. I'm still trying to find another
miss the Korg sounds - brilliant.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2014, 03:23:42 AM »
Get it if it's cheap - you won't be disppointed. I'm still trying to find another
miss the Korg sounds - brilliant.

he was sellign a g4 with it installed for 120$ i think

Offline Jakl

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2014, 05:16:55 AM »
Good price - the sounds and synths are still top notch - will still stand it's ground
even with all the new technology today.

Offline lokki

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2014, 02:31:41 PM »
i want one of those!!! is it still up chris?

MDD Dual @1.42Ghz, Powerbook TI @1Ghz

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2014, 05:45:18 PM »
ill have to check

Offline lokki

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2014, 11:50:55 PM »
i guess that's a no...thanks.
MDD Dual @1.42Ghz, Powerbook TI @1Ghz

supernova777

  • Guest

Offline lokki

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2014, 08:43:26 AM »
hey thanks, i will!
MDD Dual @1.42Ghz, Powerbook TI @1Ghz

Offline robegian

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2014, 07:15:55 AM »
Since this is a generic Korg OASYS thread, I presume I have to ask the following question here.

Presently I'm using two Korg OASYS PCI cards: one in a Power Mac 9600 and one in a Power Mac G4.

The problem is, I'd like to use the OASYS hosted in the G4 as an external hardware linked via MIDI to my main DAW (a MacBook Pro running Logic Pro X), like I'm already doing with the OASYS hosted in the Power Mac 9600: is it possible?

I'm asking because I can't figure out a way to configure OMS to do it with the Power Mac G4 — in the 9600 was easy since I was able to choose the serial port where the MIDI interface is plugged in:
http://www.giannotta.eu/photolink/OASYSMIDI.jpg

The G4 though has USB ports though, not serial, so I was hoping to find a method through OMS, but I'm still struggling. Perhaps someone here has already faced and solved the problem?

For reference, this the OMS setup I'm tampering with:
http://www.giannotta.eu/photolink/OASYSOMS.jpg

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1919
  • keep it simple
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2014, 08:30:24 AM »
You must add a serial port to the G4 or use MIDI over USB, more info here:
http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?board=42.0
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline robegian

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2014, 08:40:22 AM »
Thanks for the reply, MacTron.

You mean a Stealth Serial Port for G4? Hard to find — actually it's a couple of years I'm looking for it.

Also, what do you mean exactly with "use MIDI over USB"?

By the way, the link you gave lead to the "Mac OS 9 Audio Interfaces & Midi Gear" page, not to a specific topic :-)

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1919
  • keep it simple
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2014, 09:15:33 AM »
By the way, the link you gave lead to the "Mac OS 9 Audio Interfaces & Midi Gear" page, not to a specific topic :-)

Here you have some solutions:
http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php?topic=280.0

But as you already know this thread... may be I'm having some misunderstand...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline robegian

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2014, 12:54:17 PM »
may be I'm having some misunderstand...
Well, actually yes :-)

The Power Mac G4 is already hooked to an USB MIDI interface — an Emagic MT4. I linked a picture showing its OMS setup (visibile in the upper left corner of this screenshot):


The problem is that the Korg software seems to consider only the serial ports, ignoring the USB ones:


I was hoping I could circumvent this through OMS.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1919
  • keep it simple
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #15 on: May 01, 2014, 02:01:37 PM »
may be I'm having some misunderstand...
Well, actually yes :-)
Sorry, I always try to help, but my bad english sometimes don't let me do it .
Quote
The Power Mac G4 is already hooked to an USB MIDI interface — an Emagic MT4. I linked a picture showing its OMS setup (visibile in the upper left corner of this screenshot):
The problem is that the Korg software seems to consider only the serial ports, ignoring the USB ones:
I was hoping I could circumvent this through OMS.


Well, I don't have an Oasys, but in the pages 18 to 22 of the Oasys PCI Installation Guide says this:


Configuring OMS (MacOS)
      OMS allows the OASYS PCI’s MIDI functions to be accessed directly from OMS-
      compatible MacOS software, including Cakewalk Metro, Cubase VST, Logic
      Audio, Vision DSP, and Studio Vision Pro.
      The instructions below assume that you have already installed OMS on your
      computer.
Installing the OASYS PCI OMS Driver
                OMS needs the OASYS PCI OMS Driver to communicate with the OASYS PCI.
                The installer will place a copy of the OASYS PCI OMS Driver in the OMS folder,
                within the System folder.
                If this driver is removed from the OMS folder, OMS programs will not be able to
                see the OASYS PCI. In this case, use the OASYS PCI installer program to re-install
                the OASYS PCI OMS Driver.
Selecting OMS as the OASYS PCI MIDI system
                To use the OASYS PCI with OMS software, you need to set the OASYS PCI to use
                OMS as its MIDI system. To do this:
                1.    Open the OASYS PCI Editor program.
                2.    In the Edit menu, select “Preferences.”
                The Preferences window will appear.
                3.    Click on the MIDI/Global tab.
                The MIDI/Global preferences page will appear.
                4.    Set the MIDI System parameter to OMS.
                The OASYS PCI will now use OMS as its MIDI system.
Adding the OASYS PCI to the OMS Studio Setup
                Once the OASYS PCI OMS Driver is installed, OMS needs to be configured to add
                the OASYS PCI to the Studio Setup. To do this:
                1.    Open the OMS Setup application.
                The current OMS Studio Setup document will be opened.
                2.    In the Studio menu, select MIDI Cards & Interfaces.
                A dialog box will appear.
                3.    Click the Update Setup button.
                The OMS Driver Search window will appear.
                4.    De-select all of the serial ports.

      It isn’t necessary to search the serial ports in this case, and de-selecting them will
                make the search faster.
      5.    Click the Search button.
      OMS will automatically detect the OASYS PCI, and add two devices to the Studio
      Setup, named OASYS PCI A and OASYS PCI B. The OASYS PCI devices are not
      connected to any serial ports or MIDI interfaces, since they connect directly to
      OMS.
      6.    In the Edit menu, select OMS MIDI Setup.
      The OMS MIDI Setup dialog will appear.
      7.    Enable the “Run MIDI in Background” checkbox.
      This allows OMS MIDI programs to continue to play while you work in the OASYS
      PCI Editor. If Run MIDI in Background is not enabled, switching from an OMS
      MIDI sequencer to the OASYS PCI Editor will cause the sequencer to stop playing.
      This will also prevent the MIDI Program from sending any MIDI data (including
      MIDI from your controller keyboard) to the OASYS PCI.
      8.    Save the edited OMS setup.
      The OASYS PCI will now appear in your OMS programs as two devices, OASYS
      PCIA and OASYS PCIB, for a total of 32 MIDI channels.

Using the OASYS PCI with an OMS sequencer
                                                                                                           
      When using the OASYS PCI with an OMS sequencer, we recommend enabling
      MIDI patch-through in the sequencer, and disabling direct MIDI input to the
      OASYS PCI. To do this:
      1.    Open the OASYS PCI Editor program.
      2.    In the Edit menu, select “Preferences.”
      The Preferences window will appear.
      3.    Click on the MIDI/Global tab.
      The MIDI/Global preferences page will appear.
      4.    Turn off the “Editor Responds to OMS/FreeMIDI Controllers” checkbox.
      This is similar to the Local On/Off parameter found on some synthesizers. Turning
      it off means that the OASYS PCI will not directly receive MIDI from MIDI
      controllers. Instead, it will only respond to MIDI patched through from other OMS
      programs, such as an OMS sequencer.
      This setting prevents various strange things from happening, including phasing,
      hung notes, and notes cutting off prematurely.
      5.    In the OMS sequencer, enable MIDI patch through.
      This will patch the MIDI output of your controller through to the OASYS PCI. The
      name of the parameter may vary depending on the particular OMS program being
      used. Depending on the program, you also may need to select a track assigned to
      the OASYS PCI, and/or record enable the track. Please consult the program’s
      manual for details.
      6.Read the OASYS PCI FAQ for more information on specific OMS programs.
      The HTML-format OASYS PCI FAQ has detailed, step-by-step instructions for
      setting up OASYS PCI with specific OMS programs, such as Vision, Cubase, and
      Logic.
Using the OASYS PCI Editor as a stand-alone OMS program
      When using the OASYS PCI Editor as a stand-alone synthesizer or effects
      processor, without any other OMS program, you will need to enable direct MIDI
      input to the OASYS PCI. To do this:
      1.    Open the OASYS PCI Editor program.
      2.    In the Edit menu, select “Preferences.”
      The Preferences window will appear.
      3.    Click on the MIDI/Global tab.
      The MIDI/Global preferences page will appear.
      4.    Turn on the “Editor Responds to OMS/FreeMIDI Controllers” checkbox.
      This is similar to the Local On/Off parameter found on some synthesizers.
      Turning it on means that the OASYS PCI will directly receive MIDI from MIDI
      controllers.

Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline robegian

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #16 on: May 01, 2014, 03:57:07 PM »
Thanks for the reminder. This unfortunately doesn't help, though, because what I'm trying to do is using the OASYS in the G4 as an external hardware linked via MIDI to a separated DAW running a sequencer (that is, as if the OASYS and the G4 hosting the card were one sound module). These instructions instead explain how to link the OASYS to software residing in the same machine (more or less like the OASYS were a virtual instrument for a sequencer residing in the same computer), or to use it with a MIDI interface connected to the serial port (which the G4 doesn't feature).

I'd need to have the OASYS responding to MIDI input from the MIDI interface (connected to the G4's USB port) — like I'm already doing with the OASYS residing in the Power Mac 9600.

Presently the only way I found is by catching the MIDI input in Cubase VST/32 (installed in the G4) which passes on the MIDI to the OASYS: it works, but with the toll of a high latency. I'd like to get rid of Cubase and control the OASYS directly through OMS.

By the way, I tried to post the same question in the old OASYS PCI Owner Yahoo Group, but looks like it's dead (my messages are not even published):
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/oasys-pci/info

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1919
  • keep it simple
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2014, 06:46:18 AM »
May be "OMS Preferred Device" or  "Direct OMS" (attached) can do what you need.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 07:08:45 AM by MacTron »
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline robegian

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2014, 09:36:50 AM »
May be "OMS Preferred Device"
You nailed it :-)

A big thank you, I forgot about OMS Preferred Device (actually I never used it before, because I never needed it), limiting my attempts only within OMS Setup and the OASYS Editor.

Leaving "OMS" as MIDI System in the OASYS Editor, and choosing "Port 1" in the OMS Preferred Device panel, forced the OASYS to use Port 1 of the Emagic MT4 USB MIDI interface (http://www.giannotta.eu/photolink/OMSPreferred.jpg).

P.S. Direct OMS freezed Mac OS 9! :-D

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1919
  • keep it simple
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2014, 09:59:56 AM »
P.S. Direct OMS freezed Mac OS 9! :-D
weird... in my 9.2 works well...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline lokki

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2014, 03:33:19 AM »
hmm, and i was hoping you would sell your second oasys card because it does not work :-)
MDD Dual @1.42Ghz, Powerbook TI @1Ghz

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #21 on: July 16, 2014, 07:00:59 AM »
awesome.... ;)
lokki.. LOL! :)

Offline Jakl

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2014, 02:31:17 PM »
May be "OMS Preferred Device"
You nailed it :-)

A big thank you, I forgot about OMS Preferred Device (actually I never used it before, because I never needed it), limiting my attempts only within OMS Setup and the OASYS Editor.

Leaving "OMS" as MIDI System in the OASYS Editor, and choosing "Port 1" in the OMS Preferred Device panel, forced the OASYS to use Port 1 of the Emagic MT4 USB MIDI interface (http://www.giannotta.eu/photolink/OMSPreferred.jpg).

P.S. Direct OMS freezed Mac OS 9! :-D

Robgian I have done this in the past - what you will need is keyboard that has usb drivers for Macosx and also has midi ports - I used a Korg Kontrol49 which also had midi-in, midi-out and midi-thru(I used this). Not sure if it has drivers for the current OSX Mavericks though?

The drivers of the Korg Kontrol49 in OSX opened up the midi ports as well - this allowed many different types of midi routing. Check to see if your USB keyboard has midi ports as well and whether they are opened up in your app you use.

Anyway once set up in OSX in your app then you can use a midi interface from your G4 and use the midi ports of your midi interface to connect to the OSX computer via midi ports of your keyboard.

So what happens is this -
Midi from keyboard USB into OSX then gets sent through midi-thru/midi-out port of your USB keyboard to G4 midi interface into G4 Oasys then audio comes back into your audio interface in OSX.
You will just have to do some trial and error with the midi interfaces you use and see whether they do show up.

Is that easy to understand? Let me know.

Offline jonah

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #23 on: July 28, 2014, 04:12:12 PM »
is anyone using the macs sound out and the oasys pci card at the same time? i remember logic kept crashing, whole system froze on me if i tried to use the audio out. i can't remember, but i don't think any system audio would work, i was also trying to use turbo synth and some other programs if i remember right.

Offline Jakl

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2014, 08:12:02 PM »
Wasn't there an Oasys sound manager that you could choose in the system sound control panel to use,
instead of the apple sound manager.

Those were solid cards for me - the oasys Pci. The drivers were also very well written.
You may want to try installing the version 2 drivers again and see if the same thing occurs
after a desktop rebuild.

is anyone using the macs sound out and the oasys pci card at the same time? i remember logic kept crashing, whole system froze on me if i tried to use the audio out. i can't remember, but i don't think any system audio would work, i was also trying to use turbo synth and some other programs if i remember right.

Audio out of what - the Oasys or the system?
When using Oasys it's a good idea to make Oasys the ASIO card and keep apple sound manager for the system audio.

I had similar problems with the RME digipad. If you chose Digi for System sound then opened an app ike Cubase sometimes
this conflict caused many problems. As soon as you became aware of what ahppened and released the card from System
audio it became available for the app you were using - sometimes after a restart and rebuild - since the system would become flaky.

Also;
Audio output may have been assigned to the Oasys in the Oasys System Sound manager or Apple Sound manager panel so
there must have been conflicts.

Offline coachla

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #25 on: July 28, 2014, 11:47:06 PM »
Robegian.... Did you get that remote working?

I have this set up using Studio Vision to bus the G4's in port to the Oasys hosted therein. Logic 4 also is good.

Also if  needing midi over LAN in OSX, get IPMIDI which is free.

supernova777

  • Guest

Offline refinery

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • new to the forums
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #27 on: July 02, 2015, 08:03:16 PM »
does anyone know if its still possible to obtain SynthKit for the Oasys? I havent been able to find it anywhere. I found the site of the Korg guy who has a bunch of patches on his site, but he very clearly states he doesnt want to be contacted about Oasys anymore. Wondering if anybody might be able to help me out there.

Offline acelera

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 56
  • Drowning in cables
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #28 on: July 03, 2015, 02:42:43 AM »
According to some, Korg will still send it to you.

How can I get SynthKit?

SynthKit is the MacOS program used to create all of the synthesizer and effects plug-ins for OASYS PCI. It is a fairly complex program, developed for internal use by Korg's DSP engineers. SynthKit is not publicly released, and is not part of the OASYS PCI product, but it is available to OASYS PCI users and plug-in developers as beta software.

To apply for the SynthKit beta-test, please send mail to synthkit-request@korgrd.com

Please note that SynthKit is available for MacOS only; no Windows version is planned.

Offline coachla

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Korg Oasys Thread
« Reply #29 on: July 04, 2016, 09:43:47 PM »
This is an awesome card in my MDD Dual 1.25. In my continous effort to obtain this kit, I just last month received this reply from Korg:


Thanks for contacting Korg USA Product Support.

We no longer have this kit available but I was able to locate a few links online to the different plugins.

http://www.hvsynthdesign.com/korg.php

http://www.danphillips.com/oasys.htm

http://www.orwelldigital.com/MusicProducts/GenerationTwoCollection/OASYSGenTwo.html

http://www.zargmusic.com/legacy.html


Best Regards,

Product Support

Korg USA, Inc.