Author Topic: Make OS X behave like OS 9  (Read 1953 times)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
Make OS X behave like OS 9
« on: December 17, 2015, 10:24:55 AM »
I reached Adam Albrec (artphotodude), author of Quicktime teatre for OS9, about his opinion on this.

Quote
    I have done a few things for OS9, but really I mostly develop for OSX like these:
    http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/ppc-media-center-watch-modern-internet-video-ppc-macs-running-104105

    http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/working-powerpc104-twitter-client

    http://macintoshgarden.org/games/doom-legacy-wad-launcher-0

    http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/burn-barrell-force-delete-app

    The biggest problems with OS9 is that its small 1.5GB of maximum ram allocation (including virtual memory), greatly hampers what can now be done on it, and as you have probably heard, the libraries for it are hopelessly behind.  Some libraries could be ported, but without even a good Python interpreter, the usefulness is very difficult to improve on.

    Besides every G3 will already run it, and most G4s will boot natively.  Never have cared for classic in OSX.    You BEST bet for doing what you suggest, would be to mod OSX to behave more like OS9.  It is far closer to current standards for design purposes.


I searched a little about making OS X behave like OS9

On the Get familiar PDF you get some tips to make Finder in OS X behave like OS9

Some more links

http://ask.metafilter.com/40425/A-way-to-make-OS-X-like-OS-9

http://macosx.com/threads/is-it-possible-to-make-osx-work-look-like-os9.270883/

https://web.archive.org/web/20090105162208/http://www.hybit.com/jriskin/osx_tips/osx_tips.html

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/511418?start=0&tstart=0

http://www.macmaps.com/macosxnative.html#LOOKALIKE

http://etutorials.org/Mac+OS/mac+os+x+power+tools/Appendix+A+A+Tale+of+Two+Systems/For+the+Stubborn+Making+OS+X+Work+Like+OS+9/

Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Mat

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 10:54:00 AM »
I belive that you can make LinuxMiNT PPC with Gnome 2 looking and bahaving more than 9 than it will ever be possible with X. So this is a quite worthless approach in my opinion.
And it is again heavily connected with the marketing for totaly crazy User interaction and huge faults like the senseless Dock. The Dock for example is a real Disaster regarding usability. And the fact people accepted it in the meantime and got used to it, doesnīt mean 9 users need to do so as well. ;)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2015, 12:45:27 PM »
I am a fan on A-Dock as launcher/dock in OS 9. Better than DragThing for my way to interact with the machine. Never liked action go launcher too. But the launcher is just an option. I love the MacTron's approach to change MacOS 9 Finder app for your favorite DAW, app or Game! as a boot option that you cant have on OS X.

You can hide the dock in a OS X environment and use Opt + Tab to change between apps as in OS9.
I belive that you can make LinuxMiNT PPC with Gnome 2 looking and bahaving more than 9 than it will ever be possible with X.
I am open to all DAW options for my 3 PowerPC machines. But Protools and Logic are my favourites. Those apps can run in 9&X with my hardware with different results.

My Main DAW is Intel Quad with an Focusrite LiquidSaphire52. But on the left is a MDD 867 Dual with AM-3 and on the right a DA with a Digi 001 and a M-Audio 24/96. I own a XsKey that allow me Logic Platinum 4, 5, 6 and 7.

Since Tiger (And Panther with 3rd party drivers) all networked Macs are Midi connected and that is an advantage for some musicians with multiple macs.

I own only OS9 sound card (STUDI/O) , some Panther compatible hardware (001 and AM-3), only one card that support also Tiger and Leopard (AP24/96) and a Tiger and Leopard OSX only seritek 2se4. I plan to build a Leopard Logic 7 setup taking advantage of the 2se4, but for now I am just happy with all the Loops OS9 compatible that those Logic 6-7 has gave me.

Logic 7 can use CPU resources from my Intel and PowerPC networked Macs if I make a >10.4.8 install on any machine.

My ProTools hardware is locked to OS9-Panther with up to Protools 6.2.3 or 6.4, but 002 and M-Box users can go up to 8.0.1 on their PowerPC Macs/Tiger/Leopard that has a serious plugin support. I have a guitarrist friend that worked on a ALU 17 PowerBook G4@1.25 with M-Box 2 working with PT 7 on Tiger and 8 on Leo/Tiger with Pacifist for years. We could exchange project with my PT 7.4 MPowered on a XP Pentium D setup.

But Protools is the only DAW that allows you to
Quote
save copy in
and have even a Protools 4.x session if you want to exchange projects to old machines AFAIK.

I need to boot OSX Protools to make serious editing because PT 5 LE in OS9 has half the keycomands than PT5TDM or PT6LE that also my main DAW with PT10HD has. But editing is just a part of the DAW use.

I love the OS9 Virtual Instruments, but Stylus RMX is a awesome tool and many more OSX only synths. And AudioUnit plugs ... It is just another generation!

You can run up to Logic 9 on a Leo G4 boot.

 
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Mat

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2015, 03:32:38 PM »
OK, I admit, when I had to use Win 98 at the job in 2001 I made it as well behaing as far as possible as Mac OS ;) So for people who really need to use another Operating System this might be useful.

And of course it is a pity that several audio applications/devices donīt work at Linux. I had at least the hope that X would lead to several more professional Linux programs as the Unix-Stuff is already done by the companies, but sadly it didnīt really happen.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 836
  • new to the forums
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2015, 06:20:04 AM »
PT... you're very 'multicultural' with your DAW useage!! ;D ;D

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2015, 06:57:58 AM »
My Name Is Jorge and I am from Spain. I work as a P.A. sound tech since '97 and bought my first DAW in '98. I have been a Win user since Win 3.1.1 and OS9 user since '02. I had the honor to see working some of the best engineers/editors in Spain (one Grammy awarded) on macs since 98, and had worked on studios with ADAT and Reel 16 tracks analog recorders and 4 tracks since '97. I am trying lo learn to play the guitar since '92  ;D  I bought my Yamaha 4track cassette on '95.
My beige G3 age was covered with Pentium 2 233 hardware and a Guillemot Isis soundcard that came with Logic 3.6ProIsis with Direct X plugings and 16 tracks (could record 8 at a time with 4 outputs and a GM soundset from roland sound canvas as a onboard synth).
I then bought a new PC, a Athlom 1400 and a Terratec DMX6fire 24/96 to record on Logic 5.5.1. Then I bought a G3B&W and an Audiomedia3 and 2 Rage128 GL pci cards (one with the decoder). That thing take me to Protools.
 I bought a second AM3 just when PT-Mpowered was enunciated in the market to use with a Pentium 4. Then a Pentium D, an AP 24/96 to use elastic audio from protools 7.4 MP . At that time a G4 DA 466 was donated to me and I tried PT6 with the audiomedia, but the rage 128 AGPx4 did not helped much, and that setup was way more powerful and stable on OS9 as the G3. Then a 001 was donated with a Logic Xskey and I thought it could come in handy to upgrade the 466 G4 and I bought a QS'02 dual GHz CPU for it. When the forum started, I received donated a 866 MDD from an offer of that MDD with an HD2 setup for 50 Euros! I got the MDD free and my Madrid friend a HD2 for 50 Euros. I work now in PT HD 9.0.4 on a Intel Q6600 core2Quad overclocked at 3.15 with an focusrite Liquid Saphire 56 and a UAD-1 PCI on 10.6.8. And that is my story in last 15 years related to DAWs and machines.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2015, 07:10:21 AM »
PT... you're very 'multicultural' with your DAW useage!! ;D ;D
Not really. I can't do things fast on Cubase. I can't do anything on Digital Performer. Live and MAX neither.

I would love to see an UbuntuStudio for PowerPC, but Debian isn't easy on my last try with Rage 128 cards. Maybe with Nvidia Geforce could be easier... Anyway. I love installing all DAWs that I could use or share. Last Christmas I was called to make a flamenco recording on an attic. I took my G4 GHz dual with 001 to record up to 29 tracks on 7 songs and PT 5.2.1 LE worked flawless for tracking.

In my house I like to use all my DAWs, sometimes 1 , 2 or 3 of them.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2015, 07:14:03 AM »

I belive that you can make LinuxMiNT PPC with Gnome 2 looking and bahaving more than 9 than it will ever be possible with X.

true

Quote
totaly crazy User interaction and huge faults like the senseless Dock. The Dock for example is a real Disaster regarding usability.

wtf. the dock is way better than the OS9 program menu ever was (except that you can not move it into a seperate window.)

worst of the OS9 program menu is that it is an extension, so it can not be restarted when it crashes.

if you want to see something really shitty, try windows 8. there you can not even open documents by dragging them on a program icon in the task bar. :D
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2015, 07:16:35 AM »
...
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline nanopico

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 621
Re: Make OS X behave like OS 9
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2015, 07:17:37 AM »
if you want to see seomthign really shitty, try windows 8, where you can not even open documents by dragging them on a program icon in the task bar. :D

This drives me nuts (and sadly I have to deal with it daily).  I don't want to create short cuts I just want to open the damn file in an easy way.

Not really. I can't do things fast on Cubase. I can't do anything on Digital Performer. Live and MAX neither.

This sounds like me.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it, or break it so you can fix it!