Author Topic: Greetings folks.......graphics card help Intel.....(non-classic)  (Read 3372 times)

Offline JHT7791

• Mac user since 1989......
Greetings folks.......graphics card help Intel.....(non-classic)
« on: November 18, 2015, 12:13:44 AM »
Hello to everyone here,I’m JT. I’m writing to get some help about a machine I just bought.I recently just bought an old used Mac Pro(4,1) off Ebay and is the first Mac Pro I’ve ever owned.The machine is ready to use except for Ram and a video card.I’ve been looking around to find the best card for the machine.My issue is that I want to find the most powerful card currently available for Gaming,I figure there is nothing more graphics intense than Gaming above all other uses.I see that a lot of powerful cards currently available for gaming but I am looking for a card that will support what OS my machine originally shipped with which is OS 10.5.6(10.5.8).Since I’ve never used a Mac Pro before i’d like to run what it shipped with first before upgrading to more recent OS’s.I know there are plenty of powerful cards for Yosemite and El Capitan,but I will think about those later.Those cards are great but they don’t reach back as far as 10.5.8  I’m thinking of having two video cards(I am only using one monitor) one of the powerful most recent cards for my primary slot to run 10.10-11 and a second card to run 10.5.8 in a second slot.To this end I am also curious if anyone knows of any powerful single slot graphics cards that don’t need extra power that will use only one external case slot.My only reason for this is if I might not want to take up an extra external slot with a card that I might could use the slot for something else.My ultimate goal is I would like to find a powerful card that could run 10.5.8 and 10.10,10.11 with equal power in my primary bottom slot and leave all the other slots open for other things.As I stated above,the new graphics cards available that can run the latest OS are great,but they just don’t go back as