Author Topic: Mirror Display for QS/MDD  (Read 4243 times)

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« on: September 25, 2015, 05:49:42 AM »
When running a monitor off the ADC port can you mirror this display by simply plugging another monitor into the DVI port??

I saw this in the MDD manual...

"To connect a second ADC display, use a DVI to ADC adapter (not included) to connect the display to the DVI port."

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 06:10:05 AM »
My AGPx4 ATI RAGE 128 PRO with ADC and VGA from a Digital Audio 466  only mirrors.
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 07:32:58 AM »
When running a monitor off the ADC port can you mirror this display by simply plugging another monitor into the DVI port??

I saw this in the MDD manual...

"To connect a second ADC display, use a DVI to ADC adapter (not included) to connect the display to the DVI port."

im guessing you mean, is mac os 9 capable of switching between "extending desktop" mode and "mirror mode"?

if u connect an LCD to the DVI port, obviously it would work..
and the functionality you describe is available in mac os x for sure

im pretty sure i had 2 monitors working on my Radeon 8500 but that card is dual dvi

I dont think i ever had a ADC-DVI adapter to be able to connect
my LCD/DVI monitor to the ADC port on a graphics card that has 2 ports, 1 DVI + 1 aDC such
as the Geforce4MX or the radeon 9000 (i think)

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 07:49:44 AM »
My AGPx4 ATI RAGE 128 PRO with ADC and VGA from a Digital Audio 466  only mirrors.

I'd just be looking for 'mirroring' at this point.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 07:52:08 AM »

im guessing you mean, is mac os 9 capable of switching between "extending desktop" mode and "mirror mode"?


Yes... I'm guessing that's what I mean too!! ;D

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2015, 07:52:54 AM »
This is a screenshot of my actual Dual Screen setup:



The main Display is an ADC Apple Cinema 20" and the second is a 1204x768 "generic" DVI display, both connected to a Ti4600.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2015, 07:56:15 AM »
By default, your computer starts up in extended desktop mode. To work in video mirroring mode, choose Video Mirroring from the Displays status menu in the menu bar in Mac OS X.



Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2015, 07:57:58 AM »
So MacTron... that's 'extended desktop' correct?

Can you switch that to 'mirror' in OS 9 that same way you would in OS X??

Cool looking setup btw MacTron!! ;D
« Last Edit: September 25, 2015, 08:09:53 AM by mrhappy »

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2015, 08:12:59 AM »

if u connect an LCD to the DVI port, obviously it would work..


That's what I was thinking about doing... so You're talking OS 9 here?

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2015, 08:29:13 AM »
What I'm looking to do control my DAW with a 'remote station' with a keyboard/ monitor so I can do vocals/ instrument overdubs... I'll still be in the same room but just a bit further from my main desk area. I want to leave it all set up so it won't be a big mess constantly in the way of everything... also a bit further from the computer noise,etc.!

SOO... If I can mirror my main monitor with the DVI out, then I'd just need a longer video cable/ usb cable or extensions cables. ;D

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2015, 08:37:45 AM »
So MacTron... that's 'extended desktop' correct?
Yes it is.

Quote
Can you switch that to 'mirror' in OS 9 that same way you would in OS X??

I don't know for sure, I haven't even tried it ...
In extended desktop mode, the GPU power is splitted in two, So a Ti 4600 with two displays works "as slow" as a Radeon 9000 with just one display. As I usually have a two displays setup I need a powerful Ti 4600.
The mirror mode is mainly for slow video cards.

Quote
Cool looking setup btw MacTron!! ;D

Thanx.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2015, 09:01:38 AM »
My AGPx4 ATI RAGE 128 PRO with ADC and VGA from a Digital Audio 466  only mirrors.

So your rig just shows up as 'mirrored' with no option for 'extended' then... That would be just what I'm looking for.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2015, 09:04:51 AM »

In extended desktop mode, the GPU power is splitted in two, So a Ti 4600 with two displays works "as slow" as a Radeon 9000 with just one display.

The mirror mode is mainly for slow video cards.


I see... good to know! ;D

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2015, 09:23:50 AM »
You know mirror mode is both displays show the same right?

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2015, 09:47:33 AM »
nice screen shot mactron  ;D

fm7 is nice.. but might as well get a real yamaha dx7 ;) if u love FM so much!
or at least an FB-01

Offline P.O.

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 90
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2015, 10:30:58 AM »
I have worked plenty on the DX7, and FM7 is soooo much more fun. And the arpegiator is a BIG bonus!

  P.O.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2015, 11:28:30 AM »
nice screen shot mactron  ;D

Thanks. It is the layout of one of my songs, "Moonrise", It is posted as MP3 somewhere in the forum ...

Quote
fm7 is nice.. but might as well get a real yamaha dx7 ;) if u love FM so much!
or at least an FB-01

The sound quality is practically the same and NI FM7 have some extra filters and noise generators, it is easiest to program, it is cheaper and you can have as many (instances) as you want , and the output sound is digital so no need to digitize and it perfectly integrate into VST projects ...

@superNova777: I left the use of external equipment around 1999, I have no motives for turning back. There is a lot  of goods and bads VST Plugins and Synths, IF you choose the best ones, nothing is left on the real stuff ...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2015, 01:07:36 PM »
You know mirror mode is both displays show the same right?

Yes advisor... THAT is what I'm looking for! ;D

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
  • active member
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2015, 02:07:43 PM »
This is as easy as it gets.
When you have two monitors plugged in, the monitors control panel will show both of them.
You mirror them by simply dragging one on top of the other. The one you drag will then mirror the one you dragged onto.

NOTE: When / if you "unmirror" them, your desktop might be a mess. This absolutely happens if you extend the displays into one big desktop.
You can deal with this with the app "Desktop Resetter"  It will remember where everything was and put it all back.- VERY handy if you change configurations often.

Mr. Happy gets a pass here for not knowing this stuff because you only can see the dual monitor possibilities in the monitors control panel if you actually have two monitors connected and detected.

The rest of you though…

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 683
  • active member
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2015, 02:11:51 PM »
nice screen shot mactron  ;D

fm7 is nice.. but might as well get a real yamaha dx7 ;) if u love FM so much!
or at least an FB-01

It's obvious you've never owned either. The FB-01 sounds like a kiddie toy compared to a real DX.

Offline devils_advisor

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2015, 02:18:35 PM »
nice screen shot mactron  ;D

fm7 is nice.. but might as well get a real yamaha dx7 ;) if u love FM so much!
or at least an FB-01

It's obvious you've never owned either. The FB-01 sounds like a kiddie toy compared to a real DX.

hehe thank you for being straight up. :)

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2015, 02:26:05 PM »
It's obvious you've never owned either. The FB-01 sounds like a kiddie toy compared to a real DX.

yes i have owned an FB-01... but i got rid of it because the buttons to interact with it were damaged.
fb-01 can do some wickid basslines.. you would be surprised what some people can get out of that crappy 4 op module

but, i dont think that FM-7 is a real replacement for a DX7 or DX100...
theres many other FM synths now aswell with the newer version of reason you can get an FM synth "Rack extension"
none of them sound exactly like A DX7.

my  comment was because mactron had like 5-6 instances of FM-7..
i was thinking why spend all your cpu on live instances of fm-7.. when u could render this to wave.. or use external gear to be able to "do more"
u only have so much cpu power.. and can only run so many instances of "virtual synths" - remember they are "Virtual" as in "not the real thing" :)

i just received in the mail 6 new voice chips to restore my juno 106.. im taking it to a tech (who used to work for roland canada) to install them for me.. cant wait to hear the juno106 after
its been restored + calibrated!

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2015, 03:51:40 PM »

my  comment was because mactron had like 5-6 instances of FM-7..
i was thinking why spend all your cpu on live instances of fm-7.. when u could render this to wave.. or use external gear to be able to "do more"
u only have so much cpu power.. and can only run so many instances of "virtual synths" - remember they are "Virtual" as in "not the real thing" :)


... and why not? "my CPU" power is for use at my convenience, I have used over 8 instances of NI FM7 ( and 4 instances of Kompak with 8 instruments each, but this is another history ) and I have measured over 128 notes of polyphony in my MDD... and that's really far over my needs. This can be increased If I use a DSP card. I'm a composer (good or bad is another discussion LOL) and If I had to render to wave is a pain in the ass for me and un useful after all.  Unless, rendering to wave a final work, of course.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1582
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2015, 03:52:36 PM »
mirroring will, however, work when you use 2 video cards. since system 6 i think.
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
  • new to the forums
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #24 on: September 26, 2015, 12:33:53 AM »
This is as easy as it gets.
When you have two monitors plugged in, the monitors control panel will show both of them.
You mirror them by simply dragging one on top of the other. The one you drag will then mirror the one you dragged onto.


Thanks for the tutorial GaryN!... and the 'Desktop Resetter' tip as well! ;D

BTW... I have a TX-7 and FB-01... although I haven't seen either since '08!  :o

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Mirror Display for QS/MDD
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2015, 06:58:11 AM »
mactron:
im not saying u should stop doing what you are doing,
im saying, why not complement it with some real hardware FM synth modules..
19inch rack mount + some midi interface + u can use these without spending any cpu power.. leaving more resources for audio recording + mixing
imo outboard gear is superior.. because there is no cpu cost..