Author Topic: Digital scan back/Keyspan Twin serial modem adaptor/help??  (Read 29331 times)

Offline nickmt

• Valued Member
Digital scan back/Keyspan Twin serial modem adaptor/help??
« on: November 16, 2013, 10:49:24 AM »
Dear OS9 users.  I posted this once before, but have been super busy w/work while trying to get the G4 working, and didn't respond quickly enough to a generous response I received from one of you, and now the response has disappeared from my posts. I'm really sorry... So here it is again:

I'm trying to run an older digital scan back that is cabled to a proprietary mini computer that is then tethered via SCSI cable to my G4 running OS9.2. This is the proper set up and OS for this (DicoLite) camera and its software. The G4's hard drive is where the camera software is kept.  I've never used this used camera system before, but I've been on the phone, many times, with it's manufacturer (the man himself). And we've done extensive trouble shooting.  We found upon turning on the mini computer that it's internal hard drive was shot.  I replaced the internal hard drive, and now the mini computer starts up and makes all the appropriate sounds, including sounds coming from the scan back itself, readying itself in the scan position.  What I've not done yet is initialize this new hard drive.  To do so Diagnostic software needs to be sent from the G4 to the mini computer via serial modem adapter, not the SCSI.  As per instructions from the camera manufacturer, and because the G4 has no serial ports, a USB serial adaptor must be used to communicate with the mini computer, and the USB to serial modem adaptor to use is called a Keyspan Twin serial adaptor, which has a USB male end that goes into the G4, and then two female serial ports.  Port #2 is the proper port to use for emulating a modem adaptor, and that setting is accessed in the Keyspan Twin control panel on the G4.  The Keyspan is then attached to the mini computer via serial cable (a male serial plug on