Author Topic: g4 mdd freeze with mouse control  (Read 7102 times)

Offline ettore

• Enthusiast Member
  • new to the forums
g4 mdd freeze with mouse control
« on: August 19, 2015, 11:19:40 AM »
Hello...i am a newbie os9 user.I Have a g4 mdd dual 1.25 with a new 160gb hd,ati 64mb,os rom 9.6.1 and a fresh install of 0s9.2.2.
The maschine is fast and i have installed a lot of apps but rarely and suddenly the os freeze with the pointer controlled by the mouse,
and the only chance is to turn off and reboot.At reboot the g4 go with no problems.Maybe an heat problems?The g4 run very well before
and after the freeze,i dont know what cause this issue.
I have 2gb of ram installed and os9 recognize 2gb pc133 1gb/512mb/256mb/256mb perfectly.

Offline GaryN

• Platinum Member
Re: g4 mdd freeze with mouse control
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2015, 05:59:43 PM »
QUESTIONS
It just freezes? No error message or anything else?
Wired mouse or wireless?
Any pattern at all to the freezes? Running a particular app, combination of apps? Or during a particular operation?
When you reboot, does the drive utility check the drive or does it just start up?

There are lots of possible reasons for this - most (though not all) of which are NOT specific to an MDD but are usually a software conflict of some kind.
The trick here will be to narrow this down step by step.

ALSO - I cannot testify to this personally since I have 4 x 512Mb in my MDD - BUT there are some on this forum who swear that having mixed varieties of RAM as you do instead of matched pairs (both size and speed) can cause random weirdness to happen.

supernova777

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2015, 06:44:38 PM »
i also had a similar memory config in my dual 867MHZ mdd..
(1x1gb chip + a mix of others) i was experiencing the same type of lockups with that configuration now that u mention it.

os lockups are most likely due to ram errors its true
whether its the combination of the ram or whether its one or more chips that