Author Topic: Lost all F Key functionality  (Read 2507 times)

Offline RTIInstaller

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
  • Digidesign since 1994
Lost all F Key functionality
« on: June 24, 2015, 12:44:50 AM »
Trying to use the F keys, you know for the hand, scrubber waveform, usual stuff, but after I cloned my drive they no longer work, what the heck. If I press an F key OS 9.2.2 pops up that assign key to something dialog box, but I do not see a way to assign digi short cuts using this dialog box. I also have found nothing in the manual about this either.

:-/

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 838
  • active member
Re: Lost all F Key functionality
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2015, 03:38:17 PM »
Two step solution:

1. Remember what you did to assign them to those functions originally.

2. Do it again.

Somewhere in the cloning you probably lost a prefs file.

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 927
  • new to the forums
Re: Lost all F Key functionality
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2015, 04:21:59 PM »
'Remembering' is always the hardest part! ;D

Offline RTIInstaller

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
  • Digidesign since 1994
Re: Lost all F Key functionality
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2015, 11:37:09 AM »
'Remembering' is always the hardest part! ;D
I inherited the G4 with core and mix cards installed 3 years ago and went forward from there, so I have no idea how those functions were setup. I have not been able to find any reference in the manual either.

Offline GaryN

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 838
  • active member
Re: Lost all F Key functionality
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2015, 04:34:21 PM »
Maybe this calls for a PT expert. Hello, anybody there?

Just a thought: If the Fkeys weren't created in PT, did you have QuicKeys installed on the old drive? If your missing functions were being supplied by QuicKeys, then you need to look for those files. There should be a QuicKeys file in System Folder > Preferences inside of which should me more files labeled "Keysets" and "Macros" & stuff.

I've had this exact issue when migrating to a new drive and the QuicKeys files somehow end up in the wrong place…

Offline mrhappy

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 927
  • new to the forums
Re: Lost all F Key functionality
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2015, 10:08:53 PM »
Try holding the option key while pressing the function keys and see if they work?

F keys may be set up as 'Hot Keys"?

try going to 'preferences'.. select 'keyboard'... in the menu that pops up there's a 'Function Key' button. Press this and you have the option to set F keys to 'Hot Keys' and also DISABLE 'Hot Keys'. I THINK you may want to disable and use as regular function keys. If not you can assign F key in the dialog box... something like that. ;D

Offline RTIInstaller

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
  • Digidesign since 1994
Re: Lost all F Key functionality
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2015, 12:09:59 PM »
Maybe this calls for a PT expert. Hello, anybody there?

Just a thought: If the Fkeys weren't created in PT, did you have QuicKeys installed on the old drive? If your missing functions were being supplied by QuicKeys, then you need to look for those files. There should be a QuicKeys file in System Folder > Preferences inside of which should me more files labeled "Keysets" and "Macros" & stuff.

I've had this exact issue when migrating to a new drive and the QuicKeys files somehow end up in the wrong place…
I will check this makes the most sense, thanks

Offline RTIInstaller

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
  • Digidesign since 1994
Re: Lost all F Key functionality
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2015, 12:11:01 PM »
Try holding the option key while pressing the function keys and see if they work?

F keys may be set up as 'Hot Keys"?

try going to 'preferences'.. select 'keyboard'... in the menu that pops up there's a 'Function Key' button. Press this and you have the option to set F keys to 'Hot Keys' and also DISABLE 'Hot Keys'. I THINK you may want to disable and use as regular function keys. If not you can assign F key in the dialog box... something like that. ;D
Thanks