Author Topic: Pro tools USD setup  (Read 8159 times)

Offline Custos

• Veteran Member
Pro tools USD setup
« on: February 17, 2015, 05:09:42 PM »
This is my first time using a sync device. How exactly would I go about setting up the digidesign "Universal Slave Driver" as a word clock source? I've got two 888/24 interfaces currently hooked to it. The MDD doesn't have a serial port so I have it hooked to the Mix core card serial port. I've read through the Manuel but it doesn't seem to help.
"A mistake is only an error. It only becomes a mistake when you fail to correct it."  -John Lennon

Offline mrhappy

• Platinum Member
  • new to the forums
Re: Pro tools USD setup
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 11:03:56 PM »
I think you set the clock source on the USD to 'internal' ... then run BNC cable from the 'super clock' out of the USD to the 'super clock' IN on the the first 888... then connect another BNC cable from the 'super clock' out of the first 888 to the 'super clock' IN of the 2nd 888. When the 888's receive a external clock signal they should automatically switch to 'slave' mode and the red 'slave' lights come on.

I think you can set the USD clock source from within Protools using 'session setup'?? if not you can probably use the front panel of the USD.

Offline Ed Redfern

• Enthusiast Member
  • Blind music producer
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2015, 12:27:18 AM »
Hi custos, well done, got your message on the other thread.

right, USD (Sync-I/O) is set up as follows:

to clarify the above from mrhappy, using the master clock bnc out from USD, connect to word clock in on unit 1, connect bnc from wordclock out of unit 1 to input of unit 2.

USD is a clock source generator and can be set up with different timecode sources.

so, with this, you now have a timecode synced pt system which will give a better time throughput.

ed