Author Topic: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/  (Read 3687 times)

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« on: December 30, 2014, 09:46:20 PM »
Folks, I have been tented to test Cubase 32 but I have 0 skills on Cubase. A shame having 16 years with DAWs...

Some quicks questions:

How to create a new audio track? In "Arrrange" only appears a limited number of tracks, and I need more than 14...

How to import an audio file to a track?

How to make work the Digi 001? In Logic I can choose Direct I/O instead of the ASIO. Are special drivers from Steinberg to achieve that?
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 09:56:44 PM »

How to make work the Digi 001? In Logic I can choose Direct I/O instead of the ASIO. Are special drivers from Steinberg to achieve that?

http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=901&L=1 only shows updates, but no DAE driver or anything related...

Update files existed! http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=137956

Quote
Steinberg made an ASIO driver for the Audiomedia III and Digi 001 for Cubase, which can be used with other ASIO programs (like PEAK and some versions of Performer) in Mac OS 9. They moved the download location, breaking the previous links on our site, but I tracked it down today and updated the link on our Utilities and Links to Third Party Software page:
http://www.digidesign.com/download/utility/

ASIO Digidesign Direct I/O for MacOS:
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/MAC...ectIO5.sit.hqx

Unfortunately, I don't remember exactly where to create the ASIO drivers folder, since this is just the driver, no installer or documentation that I could find on the Steinberg site.

This Answerbase item may help:
http://answerbase.digidesign.com/detail.cfm?DID=6545
Quote:
ASIO compatibility information for Digi 001 and Audiomedia III hardware (Mac OS only)

The following items must be installed:

-DigiSystem INIT (DSI) v5.1-----System Folder>Extensions Folder
-Direct I/O v5.1 -----System Folder>Extensions Folder
-Digidesign ASIO Direct I/O driver -----ASIO drivers folder
You should already have the Direct I/O file in your extensions folder if you installed Pro Tools 5.1 or 5.1.1. If not, you can get the Direct I/O v5.1 or 5.1.1 from here:
http://www.digidesign.com/download/dio/

You should already have the DSI file in your extensions folder if you installed Pro Tools 5.1 or 5.1.1. If not, you can get the DSI v5.1 or 5.1.1 from here:
http://www.digidesign.com/download/daedsi/

But all links are broken...
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline Protools5LEGuy

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2014, 10:09:21 PM »
Looking for MacOS 9.2.4

Offline miracman

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • new to the forums
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2014, 11:56:03 PM »


Unfortunately, I don't remember exactly where to create the ASIO drivers folder, since this is just the driver, no installer or documentation that I could find on the Steinberg site.


Sorry, just basic troubleshooting. Have you tried putting it in the "Asio Drivers" folder in the Cubase folder?

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2014, 01:17:39 AM »
The most important manual is:
http://www.macos9lives.com/downloads/manuals/cubase/CubaseGettingStarted.pdf

Steinberg never included this Manual on the Cubase CDs since it was in printed form in the actual box, they purposely left it out in PDF form to ensure only licensed Cubase users had this manual; I discovered this manual on a demo CD and posted it back in the day on the Cubase forum; it will help you greatly with the initial setup.  Especially Chapter 5 which explains the Audio setup options….

1) Install your audio Card/interface software and reboot

2) Then copy the ASIO 2 driver to Cubase\Asio Drivers

3) Then select the ASIO driver in "Options, system, Audio Setup" Menu




Offline Metrophage

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2014, 04:05:14 AM »
Thanks for the tip! I always found Cubase a bit puzzling myself, but never lost my interest in checking it out more someday.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1918
  • keep it simple
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2014, 04:32:52 AM »
A very good way to learn Cubase is to start with Cubasis VST at first and read Cubasis VST manual. IMHO.

The full Cubase (as Logic, Performer, etc) ... have a huge amount of options that can unfocus the novice from the main points ...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2014, 10:05:26 AM »
Quote
Speaking of Steinberg, they now have ASIO drivers that work with the new Digi 001 system. These drivers allow the Digidesign hardware interface to be used as a front end for your ASIO compatible software such as Cubase VST. These particular ASIO drivers are for the Macintosh platform only. They have yet to announce any plans for a PC version. Mar 7, 2000, 12:00 AM http://www.sweetwater.com/insync/steinberg-asio-drivers-for-digi-001/

http://web.archive.org/web/20000621165349/http://service.steinberg-na.com/knowledge.nsf/show/mac_audiocards_digi001
(download links on this page do not function, posting for the information only)
Quote
This package contains an updated Macintosh Direct IO ASIO to support the Digidesign 001 interface.

ASIO DirectIO Drivers
info: http://archive.digidesign.com/download/sndrvr/
download : ftp://ftp.steinberg.de/Archives/Hardware/ASIO_Digidesign_DirectIO/Mac/OS_9/

"Digi System Init" components
info : http://archive.digidesign.com/download/daedsi/
download :  http://akdownload.digidesign.com/support/digi/mac/dae-dsi/dsi50.hqx
Quote
10/26/99
DSI 5.0 457 k
DigiSystem INIT (DSI) only. Not an installer. (goes in the System Folder/Extensions) Required to use SampleCell II, MasterList CD, and third-party applications using Direct I/O on an Apple G4. Included on the Pro Tools 5.0 CD.

the info from the web.archive link above stated:
Quote
You will need the newest DigiSystemInit, at least the 5.0 or the Digi-001 hardware will not be recognized. This new ASIO driver works with most other Digidesign hardware that supports DirectIO, for example the AudioMedia III and the various ProTools Hardware. The new DigiInit is therefore also suitable for older computers.
Digidesign recommend this new DigiSystemInit for use with Mac OS9.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 10:25:18 AM by chrisNova777 »

Offline miracman

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • new to the forums
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2014, 10:39:32 AM »

Quote
ASIO Digidesign Direct I/O for MacOS:
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/MAC...ectIO5.sit.hqx



But all links are broken...

Yeah I'm wandering throught their archives ftp... tons of stuff in there.  I'm using a ftp client instead of a browser.. it's just more convenient for me and, yeah instead of
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/MAC/hardware.. etc

it's at:
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/Hardware/ASIO_Digidesign_DirectIO/Mac/OS_9/

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2014, 11:31:25 AM »
i will volunteer to do a fresh install with the digi 001 and do a tutorial on how to get the digi 001 to work with cubase

firing up my quicksilver 933mhz with Digi 001!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 12:01:42 PM by chrisNova777 »

Offline Ed Redfern

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Blind music producer
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2014, 11:49:28 AM »
As I recall, this principle also works with the mix core and farm setup using a number of 888 / 882, etc interfaces. it's been a while though lol
Blind Music Producer / Studio Engineer / Sound Designer using legacy technologies that most of today's users don't understand well enough. Rebuilding a recording studio after falling victim to a pro audio company who cleaned out an analogue studio for modern equipment upgrades that went wrong. With help from amazing people, manufacturers, etc, things are looking up. Now trying to rebuild the G3 / G4 side of the studio.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2014, 12:07:00 PM »
extracting dsi50.hqx reveals a 644k system extension
"DigiSystem INIT"
dated Oct 26 1999
simple drag this to your system folder and it will put it in the right place for you, and reboot to activate

when downloading the ASIO .sit.hqx u must rename it as the filename is too long and it will truncate the .hqx extension so i did a file-save as
and saved it as 'asiodio.sit.hqx' to my desktop extracted to reveal
'ASIO DigiDesign DirectIO" document
dated Feb 28 2000 436k (blank document icon)
this is normal.. they dont bother to create an icon for the asio drivers file

worked just fine for me but ive just realized as i went to test it (i put the asio driver into the asio folder of ableton live. ableton saw the device + appears to be playing audio fine) but i seem to have broken my headphone adapter off inside the headphone port of the digi 001.. trying to pull it out with tweezers.. doesnt look like its gonna come out anytime soon ;(

apart from my problem with my headphone port, i plugged my headphones into the monitor output on the rear + im haering the ableton live demo track
so its working 100% fine.

this should work for any and all asio apps with the digi001
if its working for me for ableton live rest assured it will work the same way for cubase or logic or any other app

« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 12:29:52 PM by chrisNova777 »

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2015, 04:55:30 PM »

about tracks and stuff:

make use of doubleclick and modifiers (alt-click, command-click, alt-command-click) in cubase, thats how you do most things and/or most things quicker than using menus.

about DAE:

why do you want to use DAE at all if i may ask? there is an ASIO driver for AMIII or 001. only protools uses a custom driver to do hardware summing, most other apps use ASIO anyway.






"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2015, 05:03:20 PM »
and note that a track in cubase/logic/dp is something else than in protools.

in protools a track is a channel.

a track in a cubase arrangment window can contain material for 1 or 13 or 45 audio channels – or you can have a dozen of tracks which all contain fragments of audio channel 1.

if you are coming from protools i would suggest you that you

1. decide if you want to use mono, stereo, or "any" (multichannel) tracks

2. create a (or many) custom "autoload" songs

3. make sure that in your autoload songs(s) are no pointers to audio files. because if there once was a pointer, even if it is removed, you will not be able to change the track from mono to stereo or enable record for it.
hint: open the "pool" window for an overview of audiofiles which the song is ponting to.


"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Totally hopeless in Cubase :/
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2016, 10:55:32 PM »
A very good way to learn Cubase is to start with Cubasis VST at first and read Cubasis VST manual. IMHO.

The full Cubase (as Logic, Performer, etc) ... have a huge amount of options that can unfocus the novice from the main points ...

this is true..  in order to learn just the basics.. this version has alot less distractions + "Extras" and then going from cubasis to cubase u realize the confusing things are all extra options thrown in.. advanced options..