Author Topic: Unisyn 1.5  (Read 5573 times)

supernova777

  • Guest
Unisyn 1.5
« on: July 25, 2014, 09:52:37 PM »
lemme know if anyone is able to get this running  8)

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2014, 09:33:52 PM »
It works. The installer says [no k] on it but it works anyway. When I patch the program using the patcher, it crashes every time I open the patched file. Hmm...

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2014, 09:50:04 PM »
these files are from the garden, they were posted by tatamisia in his dp3stuff.sit

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2014, 10:21:44 PM »
Maybe the program is already patched somehow? It's an installer though so I don't see how... unless for some reason it's working because I already have 2.0 installed!

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2014, 03:18:54 PM »
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/1995_articles/dec95/motuunisyn.html
article december 1995

Quote
SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

Version Reviewed:1.2 for Windows.

System Requirements: Any PC running Windows 3.1 or later.

Also available for the Apple Mac at 279.

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2014, 04:53:33 AM »
I'm not sure how I got this working on my OS9 system but I'd like to get it working again. The patcher doesn't seem to work and the instructions are vague. I thought that by having 2.0 installed it made it work, but I did the same thing again and it keeps telling me I need an authorization diskette.

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2014, 05:43:36 AM »
The patcher program included in that download link supposedly patches the program and makes a copy of it. The info on the patcher seems to indicate that after you run the patched program, it will authorize your HD and then you can run the unpatched version. Even though I patch the program and run the patched version, it still says that I need to authorize it with a diskette.

I have no idea how I got it working but I suspect that my copy of Unisyn 2.0 authorized my HD and allowed 1.5 to work.

Can someone test this out?

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2014, 10:53:12 AM »
The chrisNova777 uploaded Unisyn 1.5 worked for me after two tries. I had to type something in the Challenge/Response dialog and then press Ok to authorize the app.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2014, 11:32:19 AM »
It won't load on my SATA drives since I have a PCI SATA card. It tells me that the destination disk doesn't exist. As soon as I load up my SCSI drive and try to authorize that one, it works 100%. I can actually currently run Unisyn from my SATA drive as long as I've got at least one HD in my system previously-authorized. However I leave my SCSI drive disconnected since it's LOUD, so turning off my SCSI drive won't allow me run it from my SATA drive.

I've got to figure out a workaround for copying over that authorization to one of my SATA partitions.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2014, 11:47:01 AM »
However I leave my SCSI drive disconnected since it's LOUD, so turning off my SCSI drive won't allow me run it from my SATA drive.

If you don't want the SCSI drive, pull out from inside the computer.  Turning on and off a drive is bad idea.

Any way, sorry Syntho but I can't help you. I really don't understand you setup...



Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2014, 02:05:31 PM »
I have no idea what I did last time but I got the thing working without even using that patcher or anything. I wish I could remember.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2014, 07:18:14 PM »
It won't load on my SATA drives since I have a PCI SATA card. It tells me that the destination disk doesn't exist. As soon as I load up my SCSI drive and try to authorize that one, it works 100%. I can actually currently run Unisyn from my SATA drive as long as I've got at least one HD in my system previously-authorized. However I leave my SCSI drive disconnected since it's LOUD, so turning off my SCSI drive won't allow me run it from my SATA drive.

I've got to figure out a workaround for copying over that authorization to one of my SATA partitions.

i dont think the pci card would cause such issues.
if u look in system profiler it shows up as a scsi drive aswell
so that doesnt make any sense at all.

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2014, 02:29:28 AM »
Regardless of what it is, Unisyn isn't liking the SATA PCI card + SATA drive combo. It's fine on an internal SCSI drive, and I think it did better using IDE as well as long as it was internal. The exact error it gives me is, "Error while specifying your authorization. Specified volume doesn't exist. Result Code -35".

I wonder if I could bypass this with a SATA to SCSI adapter, if they even make one of those. I also have a USB/SATA adapter but I'm thinking that won't work at all seeing as USB was new at the time.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2014, 05:30:36 AM »
it definately says it supports the 9600 on the box i have it in my hands as im writing this
but one thing i will note is that it says "mac os 9.0 through 9.2" and "mac os x version 10.3 or later"
it doesnt say it supports 8.6 on the box
this is the reason why i told u to go for the acard adapter
because the acard explicitly had support for 8.6

so that would be the cause of your problem right there
u cant use that tempo serial ata with os8.x
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 05:42:02 AM by chrisNova777 »

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2014, 05:45:53 AM »
People are using this to run System 7 but there aren't any guarantees or support. The OS8/OS9 support thing doesn't matter anyway, I booted into OS9 and I get the exact same thing. Everything is working 100%, it's just that Unisyn itself doesn't like this PCI card regardless if it's OS9 or not.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #15 on: August 31, 2014, 06:38:22 AM »
People are using this to run System 7 but there aren't any guarantees or support. The OS8/OS9 support thing doesn't matter anyway, I booted into OS9 and I get the exact same thing. Everything is working 100%, it's just that Unisyn itself doesn't like this PCI card regardless if it's OS9 or not.

it does matter, why do u think they say we only support it on os 9 because they dotn want to do technical support for all the problems and strangeness that can occur... u should have listened to me and got the ATA133 raid card by acard for that older system dude.
it was only 20$.. *sigh*

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2014, 06:40:27 AM »
Did you not read that I booted into OS9 and it does the same thing?

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2014, 07:04:49 AM »
did u not read that im saying u should have got the AEC-6880M
lol

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2014, 07:12:43 AM »
I wanted a SATA card in the end.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2014, 07:16:19 AM »
I wanted a SATA card in the end.

and so u should have one, just, not for that old machine;)

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2014, 07:44:25 AM »
I've just installed a SATA card in to a 8600AV (upgrade to a G3@500), and now the computer no longer start up, even after the SATA card was removed ...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2014, 07:48:11 AM »
Maybe it's not recognizing the proper boot disk? Try booting off of a CD. I've read quite a few people putting those Sonnet Tempo SATA cards into their 9600 machines and they work fine. mine does too with the exception of that one authorization thing with Unisyn.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2014, 08:36:18 AM »
The 8600 is working fine now and booting from a SSD connected to a SATA card.

And Unisyn 1.5 is authorized and working Ok. Now I'm going to unplug the full SCSI chain. Let's see what happens ...
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • keep it simple
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2014, 09:12:07 AM »
Now I'm going to unplug the full SCSI chain. Let's see what happens ...
Without SCSI, Unisyn 1.5 does not work.

I'd made another test, Authorize it -on the same boot disk- in another computer and work fine, until I've installed them on the 8600...
So it may be an incompatibility between Unisyn 1.5 and OldWorld PowerMacs without SCSI.
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2014, 09:53:10 AM »
hah we are addicted to troubleshooting  ;D

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2014, 10:36:13 AM »
I just ran a buttload of tests myself and the problem appears to be the lack of SCSI. I authorized a couple partitions on my G4 on the SATA drive and all was working. I hoped that that would authorize the partition that I installed OS8.6 on, but it doesn't.

I've been looking for a copy of the diskettes but one doesn't seem available.

Now that I think of it, I'm not sure having the diskettes to authorize it would even help. I guess it means I've got to buy a SCSI drive. A QUIET one.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 10:46:29 AM by Syntho »

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2014, 12:38:02 AM »
We really, really need that manual...

Offline Syntho

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #27 on: October 01, 2014, 01:29:54 AM »
Unisyn 1.5 seems to need a restart after every use. If I'm freshly-booted, Unisyn boots fine. But when I close it, then try to reopen it later, it gives me that type 2 or type 3 error. I have to restart every single time I want to boot it so my workaround is to do just that - restart every time I need to use it. This is the most ghetto software ever!  -afro-

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #28 on: December 25, 2014, 04:06:18 PM »
 8)

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #29 on: August 22, 2016, 08:26:34 PM »
was there ever a manual for unisyn found on pdf format?

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #30 on: August 25, 2016, 11:46:48 PM »

Offline geforceg4

  • Vault Members
  • Platinum Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • i did my time on mac os 9
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #31 on: September 24, 2016, 11:07:35 PM »
im going to assume there is no PDF version of the manual at all.. and if we are ever to get acopy ofthe manual it would have to be scanned from a hardcopy


Offline macStuff

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • New Member
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #32 on: November 20, 2017, 04:34:39 PM »
checking the requirements for unisyn v1.5 i see the followng:
http://www.motu.com/techsupport/technotes/unisyn-1.5-system-requirements
Quote
System Requirements for Unisyn 1.5

Unisyn version 1.5 has the following system requirements:

For Mac:
2 MB RAM or more
Mac OS version 7.1 to 9.2.2; Mac OS X is not supported (Unisyn version 2.1 is required)

For Windows:
IBM PC or compatible
MIDI driver installed for MIDI interface which will be used with Unisyn
Windows 3.1, 95, 98, ME, or 2000; Windows XP and later are not supported

the requirements for unisyn v2.0 also say its compatible with mac os7-9
http://www.motu.com/techsupport/technotes/unisyn-2-system-requirements/
so, it seems that BOTH v1.5 + v2.0 are for macos7-9
so im assuming that one could use EITHER VERSION..

do any experienced users know any reason NOT to use Unisyn 1.5?
is there any compatibility issues?
does anyone know when unisyn v1.5 was updated to v1.52?
was this a modern update? (in the era of 9.22) or a not so modern update? (prior to mac os 9 release)

from checking facts, i can see that Unisyn v2.02 was released in (March 2003)
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 06:08:11 PM by macStuff »

Offline macStuff

  • Consistant Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • New Member
Re: Unisyn 1.5
« Reply #33 on: November 20, 2017, 06:10:09 PM »
http://lists.cloudfactory.org/pipermail/motu-mac/2000-September/010565.html
according to this page, 1.52 was already out as of (Sep 2000) so the v1.52 update date must be before that time
maybe in early 2000? or late 1999?


checking this image carefully does show a copyright date of 1999!

http://www.cloudfactory.org/pipermail/motu-mac/2000-November/016799.html
this page claims :

Quote
Because of PACE, you have to get installer CD from MOTU.
Because of PACE, Uni 1.52 is not a patch release.
Read on...
so i guess thats why i cant find an update patcher file for unisyn v1.5 to unisyn v1.52

you need the entire unisyn 1.52 cd! does anyone here have a copy?