Author Topic: mp3 encoder plug  (Read 3486 times)

Offline arjen_1

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 284
  • Mac Midi & Audio Aficionado
mp3 encoder plug
« on: June 01, 2014, 07:59:43 AM »
Hi,
I am curious; Cubase 5 vst has an optional mp3 encoder plug. Anyone tried it? Or knows where i can find it?
Powermac g4 933mhz quicksilver

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 07:28:27 AM »
thats just a library/system extension, it should come with any VST 5.x. and i recommend against it because there are better codes (such as the one in spark)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline arjen_1

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 284
  • Mac Midi & Audio Aficionado
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2014, 12:43:35 AM »
thats just a library/system extension, it should come with any VST 5.x.

Nope, it had to be purchased seperately. Funny thing is that Cubasis 2.0 did have the MP3 encoder included.
I just would like to be able to do a quick MP3 encoding within Cubase just for listening on other devices. If you have the library/extension, please upload!

Powermac g4 933mhz quicksilver

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2014, 11:51:35 AM »
will do. (it is to be placed beside the app, not in extensions!)
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2014, 12:03:23 PM »
oh je, i have half a dozen of such files in the system, do you know that exact name?
"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

Offline arjen_1

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 284
  • Mac Midi & Audio Aficionado
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2014, 01:36:01 AM »
The Cubase VST 5/32 leaflet states:"With the optional MP3 encoder plug component, Cubase
VST can also export directly to MP3". In windows this is the "mp3audiohandler.dll - MPEG 1 Layer 3 (Fraunhofer) (Audio-Codec Plug-In". Maybe this helps?  ::)
Powermac g4 933mhz quicksilver

Offline MacTron

  • Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1918
  • keep it simple
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2014, 12:04:42 PM »
Here it is.
It must be placed on the Cubase folder. The next time you Export Audio Tracks, You'll see a new extra format: MP3!
... and don't forget to choose a high quality settings!
Please don't PM about things that are not private.

Offline arjen_1

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 284
  • Mac Midi & Audio Aficionado
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2014, 12:33:43 PM »
Here it is.

Words that say so little but mean so much! LOL. Even Steinberg distributors couldn't help me with this one. Though it was published in every manual, leaflet etc nobody knew where to find it. Untill the 18th june 2014! Respect.  8)
Powermac g4 933mhz quicksilver

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2014, 02:45:15 PM »
nice one mactron

arjen: of course steinberg isnt able to help you. they are no longer even specialists of their own products.. time has moved on and they have forgotten the past and retained no experts on the old technology..... none of these companies will help us. we are out in the wild on our own;) anyone involved with this site now is the expert.... period. noone else.

this file should really be added to our own files of cubase package for download. imho
with proper text file explaining its use + installation... or added to the downloads section..
simply leaving it here as a file attachment ... isnt so solid.

Offline DieHard

  • Administrator
  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2014, 06:36:38 PM »
Wow… I never knew that one even existed… again we bow to the Mactron :)

Arjen, Sorry for all the "wrong" info

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2014, 06:48:24 PM »
Wow… I never knew that one even existed… again we bow to the Mactron :)

Arjen, Sorry for all the "wrong" info

probably because it was a bullshit 'paid' option that noone paid for because of the fraunhofer licensing or whatever

Offline arjen_1

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 284
  • Mac Midi & Audio Aficionado
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2014, 12:42:11 AM »
arjen: of course steinberg isnt able to help you.

Well not entirely true. I was talking about the days Cubase 5 VST was launched. Back then they helped me out numerous times after I wrote a letter with an extensive bug list. One of the things I mentioned was the MP3 encoder option; it was marketed but not sold ?!?!? Literally nobody knew where to get it. And now the search has ended...
Totally agree that this file should be added to the Cubase download section. Installation is quite simple; just put the file in the Cubase directory and all works fine.

@Diehard, no need to say sorry. Just enjoy the suprise as much as I do!  :D
Powermac g4 933mhz quicksilver

Offline IIO

  • Platinum Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1548
  • new to the forums
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2014, 11:00:37 PM »

so it is really this what is in the cubase folder.

now i wonder where i have that from? i swear i have never installed it in there. it must have been coming with 5/32. :P

that steinberg doesnt know what is going on with their products and with their programmers is what almost killed them.


"It is true that the "pre-emptive multitasking" advantage present in OS X can be illustrated by downloading CD-ROM ISOs and rendering chaos theory formulas while simultaneously instant messaging and posting on FaceBook what you ate... but in reality, what did you create?"
- DieHard, random forum troll at macos9lives.com

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2014, 05:39:49 AM »
that steinberg doesnt know what is going on with their products and with their programmers is what almost killed them.

these companies change over time, structural changes, ownership changes, staff changes..
people leaving the company etc etc
they have totally thrown out and disregarded all the info practically by now except for a small reference stash of info
on this stuff im sure

Offline Jakl

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 301
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2014, 06:17:54 AM »

so it is really this what is in the cubase folder.

now i wonder where i have that from? i swear i have never installed it in there. it must have been coming with 5/32. :P

that steinberg doesnt know what is going on with their products and with their programmers is what almost killed them.

So do you have the image of the installer of this Cubase VST5 CD?

supernova777

  • Guest
Re: mp3 encoder plug
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2014, 12:05:14 AM »
it may be a good idea to post this file linked to the cubase download boards